We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely weekend”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Burleigh Mead Hotel
Ranked #122 of 196 Keswick B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed as a couple two nights and could not fault anything.
Very comfortable bed and a great shower!
The rooms were clean and fresh and you open the window.
The fruit for breakfast was freshly cut up season fruit and the cereals had COLD milk not room temperature.
Location was terrific.
Parked the car and walked to everything, town, lake, pubs and restaurants close by.
Jill was very welcoming and helpful.
Would stay again.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank BLP17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 83 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2012

Right on the little golf course, near the lake valley. Walk to everything. Decent choices for breakfast. Wifi not very strong, and owner not very knowledgeable re what to see. But, certainly welcoming and congenial. Room comfortable, clean; bathroom, new and well appointed.

Room Tip: Ask for golf course view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed in the Burleigh Suite and the view was everything promised. The bed was very comfortable with an updated en suite-although only a shower. A long, hot bath would have been welcomed after a day's hiking! Breakfast was nothing special-a choice of cold cereals, yogurt and eggs, potatoes, toast etc. from the kitchen. My biggest issue was that the owner (only saw her husband once-and briefly-during a 3 night stay) seemed worn out. At times she was somewhat friendly and helpful but more often terse and did not seem to want to be a B&B host. Reading other reviews I see that they found the owners to be welcoming. Perhaps they don't like Americans-whatever the reason, I felt like an intruder rather than a guest. Still, if you want a lovely edifice in a gorgeous part of the world and don't choose B&B's to get to know a bit more about the people who live there, this is certainly a clean and comfortable place to stay.

Room Tip: Choose the Burleigh Suite if you can-worth the extra money if you can do it-simply gorgeous views an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Gill was very helpful and friendly from booking right through to departure after our stay.

The updated en-suite bathroom was extremely modern and contemporary and the level of cleanliness was excellent throughout the b&b.
Breakfast service and provissions were great and the views spectacular.
Ideal location for lake and town.

Only slight drawback was lots of stairs to 3rd floor but someone has to be up there! Was counteracted by the wonderful view from that height though.

We were conscious of the noise our 3 year old made. In accommodation such as this with a small number of rooms it's not hard to look round the breakfast room and tell who is the noisy child! Gill assured us our daughter was not heard though and this is certainly not a drawback of burleigh mead imparticular, it would be the same for any b&b.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nicjesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Stayed here, for the 3rd time, this weekend, we're going back in a few weeks.
Can't fault anything, clean, welcoming and comfortable. Says in an earlier review that they don't take children under 8. There was a child there this weekend, she was around 2 years old, so would check this, if you're thinking of taking a child.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesleanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

We were a family of 10 ranging in age from 9 to 73 and stayed at the Burleigh Mead for three nights in August 2011. The B&B had reasonably nice rooms with a shower, and a breakfast that was pretty standard for a B&B. The stairs up to the rooms were a bit narrow and several of our older relatives had a bit of a challenge climbing the stairs. There is off street parking, but it is difficult to get to. While the parking on the street out front tends to be crowded, we were able to find a space for two cars when we needed it. The B&B's location in Keswick is perfect. It is only a few minutes walk to the center of town with quite a few nice restaurants & pubs. It is also only a few minutes walk to the lake where you can get a boat shuttle to points around the lake where you can hop on a hiking trail (and when you get tired walking around the lake, you find another dock and hop back on the boat shuttle). There is also a theatre on the Lake called, oddly enough, Theatre by the Lake. It is worth a visit and not just for the performances but also for the restaurant and clean restrooms that are close to where the boats dock. I would rate this B&B average for rooms, food, and service. I would rate it excellent for location. There were quite a few other B&Bs within several blocks of this one, so if one is filled up, you probably would not go far wrong just picking another one on the same or neighboring street.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OhioMac54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We stayed for a few nights here, The service was outstanding, and the breakfast spread was lovely with lots to pick from and also a very nice tasting fry up.

The room we stayed in was outstanding the view in the morning was beautiful. I would highly recommend this b&b for a lovely stay in Keswick.

Room Tip: The Burleigh Suite is the best room in the building and with a breath taking view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Etheco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.8 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
797 reviews
5.4 mi away
The White Horse Inn Bunkhouse
2.1 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Lodge in the Vale
The Lodge in the Vale
#1 of 2 in Thirlmere
328 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
2.7 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burleigh Mead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burleigh Mead Hotel

Address: The Heads, Keswick CA12 5ER, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 196 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Hotel Class:4 star — Burleigh Mead Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing