We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ferndene Guest House
Ranked #42 of 173 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Charming place to stay!”
Reviewed July 30, 2010

We want to ferndene guest house for a romantic getaway before a 2days walk to Wasdale. It was perfect! the guesthouse is located between the lake and the main city street. In front of a church. The room was very nice and cosy, with a view on the montains. The bed was very comfortable and the room very clean. The breakfast excellent and the hosts charming. It was a perfect stay!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sabrinouille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    18
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
203
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Knaresborough North Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2010

Stayed on 3rd night of Cumbria Way. After a long hard day's walking received a warm welcome from Christine. Beautifully decorated room, spotlessly clean and every attention to detail. Lovely hot showers and comfy bed were well needed. Packed on our way next morning with excellent breakfast and even took photos for us in the garden! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheels05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
1 review
Reviewed June 21, 2010

We received a very warm welcome from Richard and Christine. Having never visited Keswick before, we were very impressed with the extensive information booklet in our room, which provided all the information you could possibly need on what's available in the town and recommendations for places to eat along with a handy streetmap. Our room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean and breakfast was delicious! We had a lovely, lovely time and hope to return again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beccaroodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensland
1 review
Reviewed June 13, 2010

My wife and I were made welcome by Richard and Christine and this was the first B&B we have stayed in over the last 16 years where the host helped you take your bags to your room.This was a great beginning to an enjoyable stay. The breakfast room is well laid out and the food excellent.Richard organises the guests parking in a way that lets you park and forget it till you need the vehicle again. We enjoyed our stay very much and to anyone planning to visit make sure you go to the Theatre by the Lake. Richard can point you in the right direction.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussie10Queensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
Reviewed June 10, 2010

Richard and Christine are lovely hosts. Can't do enough for you. They even sent my pyjamas back when I left them in the room! Fantastic location - a very short walk into town and it proved a fab place from which to do our mammouth 17 mile walk around Derwent Water (plus extras!).

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephcaracol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
1 review
Reviewed June 9, 2010

Christine and Richard are very helpful. Especially they provide lots of information about where to go and where to eat, etc. It is so important to me as this is my first time to Keswick. I will definitely to go back when I go to Keswick again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexKHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
1 review
Reviewed June 6, 2010

We stayed for the bank hoilday weekend.
Hotels is A1 in cleanliness and the food is cooked to perfection.
Christine and Richard are very friendly and nothing is to much trouble.
Even there daughter was involved in showing us to our room with mummy by unlocking and opening the door.
Supplied extras like bath robes, shower gel, shampoo which were free.
The in room refreshments had a good selection of teas and coffee including herbal varieties

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anndoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.0 mi away
Strathmore Guest House
Strathmore Guest House
#49 of 173 in Keswick
145 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Beeches Guest House
The Beeches Guest House
#31 of 173 in Keswick
285 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parkfield Guest House
Parkfield Guest House
#24 of 173 in Keswick
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stonegarth Guest House
Stonegarth Guest House
#10 of 173 in Keswick
539 reviews
0.2 mi away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#39 of 173 in Keswick
183 reviews
0.8 mi away
Laurel Bank B&B
Laurel Bank B&B
#14 of 173 in Keswick
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferndene Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferndene Guest House

Property: Ferndene Guest House
Address: Ambleside Road | Ambleside Road, Keswick CA12 4DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Richard and Christine welcome you to Ferndene B&B Guest House - A contemporary family run guest house offering high standard, comfortable and friendly bed and breakfast accommodation in Keswick. Ferndene Guest House is quietly situated a short stroll from the centre of the beautiful market town of Keswick in the heart of the Lake District National Park We are the perfect base to enjoy the magnificent scenery whether you wish to walk, cycle and explore the huge range of outdoor activities available nearby or simply to relax in comfort and get away from it all for a relaxing or romantic break. Ferndene Guest House is a pleasant ten minute walk from the Derwentwater lakeshore with its stunning views, boating, lake steamers and the famous Theatre by the Lake. Our traditional Victorian guest house has been comprehensively refurbished while still retaining much of its original character and, with our modern Annexe conveniently located next to our car park (providing free off road parking), has been carefully decorated in a modern style throughout. Rooms in the main house offer magnificent views of the mountains, with our exclusive top floor Suite giving panoramic views over Keswick and the fells. After a restful night's sleep in one of our tastefully furnished bedrooms enjoy a relaxing start to the day with breakfast served in our comfortable dining room overlooking the garden and St. John's Church. Indulge yourself with the famous Ferndene Guest House cooked Cumbrian breakfast, selected from the best locally available and Fairtrade sources. A large selection of cereals, yoghurts, dried and fresh fruit, orange and apple juice (lighter options and vegetarian breakfast always available. Special diets catered for on request prior to arrival). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ferndene Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing