We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (297)
Filter reviews
297 results
Traveler rating
270
20
7
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
270
20
7
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guest house top floor town centre the main house sitting area fantastic views breakfast was excellent off road lovely guesthouse an excellent place to stay lovely room private parking fabulous stay biscuits warm welcome first class couldn't fault
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 297 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2019

Richard & Christine are amazing hosts. We always receive a very warm, friendly and helpful welcome and nothing is too much to ask for. The guesthouse is immaculate and our room (#5) was excellent, very comfortable bed and spacious. Tea & coffee facilities are provided in the room with snack biscuits and a hairdryer. The delicious, wholesome full breakfast is locally sourced and there is a variety of cereals, yoghurts, fruit, jam/marmalade/syrup etc to suit everyone's taste. Packed lunches are available on request and they will fill your hot flasks too. Off road private parking is a bonus too. We cannot highly recommend Ferndene enough. Thank you for yet another fantastic few days. Elaine & Bill F. 19 - 21 August 2019

Room tip: Excellent views in the rooms to the rear
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank newtongrannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2019 via mobile

We stayed here along with another couple on bank holiday weekend. Nothing was too much trouble. The service and food at breakfast was incredible, so friendly and genuine. I would definitely return here and 100% recommend to family and friends. Lovely views of the mountains from our room too! Thank you!

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank sb90may
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2018

We had a fabulous trip to Keswick in November 2018. The guest house let us get into our room early which was great, though we decided not to park in the guest house car park as the cars were parked infront of each other, which would have made it difficult to get your car out if you were first in and the people behind you had gone out for the day.
The suite was lovely and had fantastic views across the town. The suite had a lovely bathroom, living room and bedroom area, though there are a couple of things which we would have preferred. The two tub seats in the living room are a bit uncomfortable to sit in after a long day walking. A sofa, would be much better and more comfortable for watching tv. Also we would have preferred more time for breakfast, the breakfast itself was lovely but the 8am-9am breakfast allocation meant that it was too early for a lie in but to late to get a good day out on the fells as it gets dark about 4pm.
The hosts were friendly and we were very pleased with the overall experience. We would come again and would recommend the suite for the view.

Room tip: Choose the suite for great views!
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 998laurab998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2018

So i have been staying in Keswick for 10 years now and i cant believe i have never come across this place before.

The owners Richard and Christine were both so lovely, so welcoming and really helpful. The room itself was amazing, so clean, well laid out and the decor was nice. i don't want to say pretty being a bloke haha but... the room was really pretty :)

This B&B has 5 rating from trip advisor every year since 2010, that tells you the quality of the place.

The bathroom was spotless and modern and couldn't fault it at all. the breakfast was amazing, so well presented and good quality. I was slightly annoyed that i had to leave a parking space at the B&B car park to park on the road so other guests were allowed a space but parking was tricky with in comings and outgoings.

This place is wonderful and i would love to come back.

Guys and Girls seriously, if you're going to Keswick this place should be top of your list.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Pete F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2018

Richard and Christine were friendly and helpful. Richard's knowledge of the local area is fantastic and he always has an idea to share to fill in half a day or expand your trip to include a less well known corner of the National Park.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank grahamsW2390AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews