We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, and very friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ferndene Guest House
Ranked #48 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2010

Richard and Christine are lovely hosts. Can't do enough for you. They even sent my pyjamas back when I left them in the room! Fantastic location - a very short walk into town and it proved a fab place from which to do our mammouth 17 mile walk around Derwent Water (plus extras!).

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephcaracol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (279)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 279 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2010

Christine and Richard are very helpful. Especially they provide lots of information about where to go and where to eat, etc. It is so important to me as this is my first time to Keswick. I will definitely to go back when I go to Keswick again in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexKHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2010

We stayed for the bank hoilday weekend.
Hotels is A1 in cleanliness and the food is cooked to perfection.
Christine and Richard are very friendly and nothing is to much trouble.
Even there daughter was involved in showing us to our room with mummy by unlocking and opening the door.
Supplied extras like bath robes, shower gel, shampoo which were free.
The in room refreshments had a good selection of teas and coffee including herbal varieties

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anndoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2010

Reading the reviews on this site we booked the flexibal room at Ferndern ( was the only one left and got it by chance as there was a cancellation). This was everything we expected. A lovely clean room, very friendly owners and a great breakfast.

In addition the town and Derwant Water is only a few min's walk away and there is parking on site. I could not have asked for more and had a lovely weekend. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelhungryLondoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2010

We had a very friendly welcome on arrival and this continued throughout the stay. The owners moved their car to allow for us and offered to help with our bags etc. The accomodation was very clean, we stayed in the suite and it was just lovely. Breakfast was within a 30 minute time slot (which im sure could have been flexible) but it was lovely to sit in the dining area with the other residents and everyone was really friendly. Lots of choice for breakfast and cooked well. We also had a packed lunch for walking which was quick and easy to order. The location was ideal for town and the owners recommended some fantastic places to eat. I recommend you check out the French Bistro Seventeen - it was amazing, just looks like a little trinket shop. All in all, we had a great stay with no complaints and the owners went above and beyond to make sure we enjoyed our stay. It was a very nice experience.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skelly520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2010

This was our first trip to the Lake District for a self-guided walking holiday with Knobbly Stick and we couldn't have picked a better B&B or nicer hosts! Christine & Richard were warm and delightful hosts and provided loads of tips regarding our day hikes, the best restaurants and shops for a great bargain, and how to get around.

The breakfasts were hearty and the suite was spacious, but warm and cosy. The views from the B&B are unbelievable!

We enjoyed our stay so much, that we're planning another trip this summer!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sugarhiccup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2010

Had a fantastic time in Keswick this spring made all the better by our stay with Christine & Richard and their family at Ferndene Guest House in Keswick. An ideal location to explore the Lake District or to potter around Keswick and the wonderful Derwent Water.

Rooms were very clean and comfortable with all that you could need for a short break. Breakfasts were hearty, and our hosts more than helpful with any queries we had or info we were looking for.

Will definitely be going back in the Autumn, a great find and thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidRNorthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.2 mi away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#42 of 189 in Keswick
191 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Beeches Guest House
The Beeches Guest House
#35 of 189 in Keswick
297 reviews
5.2 mi away
The White Horse Inn Bunkhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
760 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
647 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferndene Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferndene Guest House

Address: Ambleside Road | 6 St. John's Terrace, Keswick CA12 4DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: $87 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Richard and Christine welcome you to Ferndene B&B Guest House - A contemporary family run guest house offering high standard, comfortable and friendly bed and breakfast accommodation in Keswick. Ferndene Guest House is quietly situated a short stroll from the centre of the beautiful market town of Keswick in the heart of the Lake District National Park We are the perfect base to enjoy the magnificent scenery whether you wish to walk, cycle and explore the huge range of outdoor activities available nearby or simply to relax in comfort and get away from it all for a relaxing or romantic break. Ferndene Guest House is a pleasant ten minute walk from the Derwentwater lakeshore with its stunning views, boating, lake steamers and the famous Theatre by the Lake. Our traditional Victorian guest house has been comprehensively refurbished while still retaining much of its original character and, with our modern Annexe conveniently located next to our car park (providing free off road parking), has been carefully decorated in a modern style throughout. Rooms in the main house offer magnificent views of the mountains, with our exclusive top floor Suite giving panoramic views over Keswick and the fells. After a restful night's sleep in one of our tastefully furnished bedrooms enjoy a relaxing start to the day with breakfast served in our comfortable dining room overlooking the garden and St. John's Church. Indulge yourself with the famous Ferndene Guest House cooked Cumbrian breakfast, selected from the best locally available and Fairtrade sources. A large selection of cereals, yoghurts, dried and fresh fruit, orange and apple juice (lighter options and vegetarian breakfast always available. Special diets catered for on request prior to arrival). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ferndene Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing