We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfectly relaxing and uber-friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ferndene Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ferndene Guest House
Ranked #42 of 177 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level Contributor
445 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Perfectly relaxing and uber-friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2010

A friend and I stayed in The Ferndene Guest house while visiting Keswick for a Christening. And what a find! Christine and Richard were fantastic hosts, who simply couldn't do enough for you. The room we were in was cosy, clean and airy with super comfy beds. Breakfast in the morning was fab - loads of tea and coffee and a fantastic cooked breakfast with locally sourced ingredients. The guest house itself is situated an easy 5 minute walk from the town centre or lake - but on a quieter road so there was no traffic noise and easy parking - we parked out the front, although there are parking places available at thr rear of the house. A truely great place to stay, which I couldn't recommend enough.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SurreyTweety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    16
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
194
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2010

I travelled with a group of friends to Keswick to celebrate my birthday. Parking in Keswick can be a bit difficult so we were really pleased to get free car parking at the hotel. Christine and Richard were welcoming and very friendly throughout our stay. Our group occupied five of the rooms in the hotel, all of which were clean, modern and well furnished. There were also some fantastic views of the surrounding countryside. The hotel is in a very convenient location, a short walk to the centre of town, without the noise of the pubs and restauraunts. Its also only a short walk to Derwentwater. I highly recommend the breakfast - it was fantastic!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank senya76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2010

The Ferndene Guesthouse is the most wonderful place to stay if you're planning a trip Keswick. The rooms a clean,spacious and very tastefully decorated. There are tea and coffe facilities and tioletries in each room. Christine and Richard are the perfect hosts, making you feel incedibly welcome and nothing is too much trouble. The breakfast is fantastic, really sets you up for a day exploring the wonderful scenery. Views from the rooms are breathtaking. We will certainly look no further for our next visit and would highly recommend the Ferndebe to anyone wanting a relaxing, comfortable, quality break in the Lake District.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sheila1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2010

Stayed at Ferndene for 3 nights at the end of January and had the best few days.

What can I say about this place other than excellent.

The room was beautiful, spacious, exceptionally clean and very cosy. The room had a flat screen tv with freeview chanels, a excellent tea and coffee tray, hair dryer, tissues, soap, hand cream and shower gel and a great boot tray for putting your dirty boots on.
The owners Richard and Christeen are so friendly and helpful and gave us plenty of tips and ideas on what to do, where we could go.

The breakfast WOW the best full breakfast we have ever had and set us up for our days walking. The cumberland sausage was in a nice little curl and so tasty. Everything was delicious and the poched eggs were to die for. They have a large selection of cereals, fruit juice, yoghurts and herbal teas to choose from.

They have private parking at the back which is fab in Keswick and it is only a short walk into town.

We have stayed in many places in Keswick and this has been the best by far.

We have already booked to stay again in the spring and can't wait.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thenicholsonlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2009

After reading the reviews given on this guest house, together with my wife, we choice Ferndene Guest house as our stay for a 4night break at Keswick on the 6th Dec 09. We really enjoyed our stay in this faboulas guest house which is run by a wounderful couple. Richard and Christine done a perfect job to make us feel really welcomed and feels as at home. The English Breakfast is simply GREAT. Also have the choice that while Christine cooking your breakfast, one can have fresh yougurt and cereal too. Great views from the Suite room, which was really clean. Only disadvanatage for the Suite are the stairs if one is heavily packed. But once in, You forget everything and get enspired by the wonderful views from 4 different windows. There are even more rooms downstairs. Thanks alot Richard & Christine. Will visit again in the coming future.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rudm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south broomhill
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2009

Stayed at Ferndene for one night for our wedding anniversary. Couldnt have asked for more. The bedroom was cosy yet spacious just like home. The view from our window over the hills was amazing. The breakfast...well what can I say we could hardly move afterwards it was so good and filling. Christine was extremely helpful and friendly. Keswick is an ideal place to stay and with accomodation like this who wouldnt want to go back? Not us thats for sure we're already looking forward to next summer.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rainey1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2009

We both enjoyed our stay at Ferndene, it is a very homely b&b and Christine was very welcoming. It is situated close to restaurants, shops, bus stops and Derwent water. The views from our windows were stunning, which made the trek up the many stairs worthwhile!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DerbyPoppy18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.8 mi away
Burnside B&B
Burnside B&B
#6 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.8 mi away
Laurel Bank B&B
Laurel Bank B&B
#14 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brundholme Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Woodside Bed & Breakfast
Woodside Bed & Breakfast
#27 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarence House
Clarence House
#7 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Strathmore Guest House
Strathmore Guest House
#41 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferndene Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferndene Guest House

Property: Ferndene Guest House
Address: Ambleside Road | Ambleside Road, Keswick CA12 4DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Richard and Christine welcome you to Ferndene B&B Guest House - A contemporary family run guest house offering high standard, comfortable and friendly bed and breakfast accommodation in Keswick. Ferndene Guest House is quietly situated a short stroll from the centre of the beautiful market town of Keswick in the heart of the Lake District National Park We are the perfect base to enjoy the magnificent scenery whether you wish to walk, cycle and explore the huge range of outdoor activities available nearby or simply to relax in comfort and get away from it all for a relaxing or romantic break. Ferndene Guest House is a pleasant ten minute walk from the Derwentwater lakeshore with its stunning views, boating, lake steamers and the famous Theatre by the Lake. Our traditional Victorian guest house has been comprehensively refurbished while still retaining much of its original character and, with our modern Annexe conveniently located next to our car park (providing free off road parking), has been carefully decorated in a modern style throughout. Rooms in the main house offer magnificent views of the mountains, with our exclusive top floor Suite giving panoramic views over Keswick and the fells. After a restful night's sleep in one of our tastefully furnished bedrooms enjoy a relaxing start to the day with breakfast served in our comfortable dining room overlooking the garden and St. John's Church. Indulge yourself with the famous Ferndene Guest House cooked Cumbrian breakfast, selected from the best locally available and Fairtrade sources. A large selection of cereals, yoghurts, dried and fresh fruit, orange and apple juice (lighter options and vegetarian breakfast always available. Special diets catered for on request prior to arrival). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ferndene Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing