We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Owners and a Superb Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ferndene Guest House
Ranked #40 of 175 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ashford, Kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly Owners and a Superb Location”
Reviewed November 5, 2009

A lovely friendly bed & breakfast which we would recommend to anyone who wants to stay in Keswick. The establishment is located five minutes from the town centre and is therefore a perfect place from which to explore the many sides of this lake land town. With the friendliest of hosts, Ferndene is a place which we would not hesitate to return to in the future.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monkey_Peas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    17
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
199
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, UK
1 review
Reviewed October 28, 2009

Having never been to the Lakes before we chose Ferndene on the recommendation of a friend. It didn't disappoint! We stayed on the top floor suite for our anniversary with our 15 month old son, it was perfect as we were able to put him to bed and still have our own living room to chill out in and watch dvd's. The ensuite shower room was also a real bonus. The whole suite was really tastefully decorated, no chintz in sight! The breakfasts were amazing, all cooked fresh to order and the breakfast room was very boutique hotel in ambience! The hosts Christine and Richard couldn't have been more helpful, giving us family friendly restaurant tips, activity ideas and were great with our little boy. I can't recommend this guesthouse enough! We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thelumleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
Reviewed October 28, 2009

On arrival you immediately noticed the friendly atmosphere and we were made to feel very welcome, nothing was too much trouble.
Our stay was for 2 nights in the suite, the suite is a loft conversion which is the entire top floor of the house and has the most amazing views. The suite has its own private living space, a separate bedroom with a king-size bed and again a separate newly fitted bathroom with double shower. The style of the suite was contemporary and modern with all mod cons, a flat screen TV with freeview and dvd player etc.
The suite was very clean as was the whole of the guest house.
Breakfast was fabulous, with something for everybody. The cooked breakfast: quality local ingredients, cooked to perfection. The continental breakfast: good choice of cereals, with fresh fruit, yoghurts and fresh fruit juices. All served with as much tea, coffee and toast as you could manage.
We will definitely be returning to the Ferndene this is the only place now that we will stay when visiting Keswick.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parky3976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2009

Enjoyed our stay at the Ferndene is Keswick. Great Location, Friendly and good service. Highly recommended B & B and I'm sure we will definately be staying again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2009

We stayed in this B & B for 2 nights over a busy October Weekend. The owners are very friendly and accommodating. The rooms have everything you need and are decorated and furnished to a high standard. There is free off road parking to the rear of the guesthouse which is a major plus on a holiday weekend on market day in Keswick. The Guesthouse was fully booked but not once did it seem too busy or over crowded.

The highlight for me was the breakfast. There was so much to choose from and the english breakfast was cooked amazingly. It set us up for a full day of walking.

We will definitely be staying here again in the near future.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
1 review
Reviewed October 19, 2009

I've stayed in a number of B+Bs in Keswick over the past few years, and this was the best. Really friendly people, very clean and nicely done rooms, great food. It's pretty good value for a single traveller as well as the supplements are low.

Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank james6848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2009

We stayed for two nights in the top floor suite and the view was breath taking. We had stayed at the Ferndene last year for the Beer Festival in one of the other double bedrooms, but didn't get chance to go to the festival again this year so decided to treat ourselves to a romantic weekend away for our anniversary. The guest house is perfectly located whether you are the more adventerous type and want to go on any of the lovely walks, or a gentle stroll round the shops, cafes, pubs and brilliant market. We did both!
The breakfast is an absolute must, it is served fairly early but meant we were up and about early to explore and it really set us up for the day. We didn't eat again til 4!
Our room was gorgeous, immaculate and very quiet, even though the guest house was fully booked. The lounge room in our suite gave the most amazing views of the hills, as did the bathroom! we couldn't have asked for more and the hosts were very friendly and helpful, making time for us even though they were fully booked an dtheir little girl was poorly.
There is a really handy section in the guest book in the room recommending local eateries and we ate really well both nights, and the local pubs have both local ales and a good selection of wines for all tastes.
We are already planning another getaway to Ferndene and i honestly cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrestonTallulah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.8 mi away
Laurel Bank B&B
Laurel Bank B&B
#13 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.8 mi away
Burnside B&B
Burnside B&B
#6 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brundholme Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Brookfield B&B
Brookfield B&B
#18 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
0.0 mi away
Strathmore Guest House
Strathmore Guest House
#47 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarence House
Clarence House
#11 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferndene Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferndene Guest House

Property: Ferndene Guest House
Address: Ambleside Road | Ambleside Road, Keswick CA12 4DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Richard and Christine welcome you to Ferndene B&B Guest House - A contemporary family run guest house offering high standard, comfortable and friendly bed and breakfast accommodation in Keswick. Ferndene Guest House is quietly situated a short stroll from the centre of the beautiful market town of Keswick in the heart of the Lake District National Park We are the perfect base to enjoy the magnificent scenery whether you wish to walk, cycle and explore the huge range of outdoor activities available nearby or simply to relax in comfort and get away from it all for a relaxing or romantic break. Ferndene Guest House is a pleasant ten minute walk from the Derwentwater lakeshore with its stunning views, boating, lake steamers and the famous Theatre by the Lake. Our traditional Victorian guest house has been comprehensively refurbished while still retaining much of its original character and, with our modern Annexe conveniently located next to our car park (providing free off road parking), has been carefully decorated in a modern style throughout. Rooms in the main house offer magnificent views of the mountains, with our exclusive top floor Suite giving panoramic views over Keswick and the fells. After a restful night's sleep in one of our tastefully furnished bedrooms enjoy a relaxing start to the day with breakfast served in our comfortable dining room overlooking the garden and St. John's Church. Indulge yourself with the famous Ferndene Guest House cooked Cumbrian breakfast, selected from the best locally available and Fairtrade sources. A large selection of cereals, yoghurts, dried and fresh fruit, orange and apple juice (lighter options and vegetarian breakfast always available. Special diets catered for on request prior to arrival). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms and Priceline so you can book your Ferndene Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing