We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideally located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ferndene Guest House
Ranked #40 of 175 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Ideally located”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Nice couple running Ferndene, very knowledgeable of local area. Excellent room, facing church, with comfortable bed and equipped with everything we needed, although third floor...so ...many stairs! Fantastic breakfast.

Room Tip: If not good with stairs, there is an annexe available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scorpionsholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    17
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
199
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We recently stayed 2 nights and I can highly recommend the Ferndene. The room we stayed in was room 5 and it was a beautiful room. The breakfast was excellent and I can say it was the nicest breakfast I have had in any hotel/guest house.
The owners were lovely and Richard gave us some very good advice on the walks we wanted to do.
An excellent place to stay and will definitely be returning back this year!

Many thanks, Terence & Carolinex

An

Room Tip: Room was large with a sitting area
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Devon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

What a clean comfortable and friendly place to stay, Richard and Christine were so accommodating and made us feel so welcome. The breakfast was amazing and the room spotless. An ideal place to stay in Keswick and we would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shadow1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scunthorpe
Level Contributor
83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

The welcome from mine hosts on arrival set the scene for the week.We enjoyed a most friendly and lovely atmosphere for all our stay.The quality of the breakfast and its presentation was a credit to them both and menu requests outside the norm attended too without fuss.
The room and en-suite was spotless with a great shower and we have never had so many changes of fluffy towels in one week! The view from room 3 was a great start to every morning even when the weather was a bit grey.
If we return to the Lakes again, a vacancy at Ferndene will be our first option.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MXX85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Ferndene Guest House is a great B&B in close proximity to Keswick town centre - a couple of minutes walk. Room was modern and very clean and stocked with provisions for hot drinks etc which were refilled every day. Breakfasts were delicious and gave plenty of choice. A couple of reviewers mention parking: Richard made sure everyone could park and get out whenever they needed to, for us it was not an issue! The hosts are friendly, welcoming and very helpful. No complaints at all, thank you Richard and Christine!

Room Tip: Although we viewed photos before booking we would pay slightly more for a larger room next time. Roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Nothing to add to the superlatives on these reviews, except to say how the hosts must go to a lot of trouble to keep their standards as high as this. Stunning views in the suite (like a penthouse!) provided you're mobile enough to get up to the top floor, breakfasts superb, lovely welcoming hosts who give you the benefit of their wealth of local knowledge of walks etc. Convenient situation for the town centre without being in the busy or noisy part - very peaceful opposite the church and easy to get down to the lake. I'm someone who likes to ring the changes but I would find it hard to go anywhere else in the Keswick area and miss out on something like this!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisMC29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Returned home yesterday after a fantastic few days in Keswick, staying at Ferndene Guest House. We stayed in room 5 which was spotlessly clean, a lovely room with good views. Excellent location, close to the town but very quiet. Breakfast was delicious, perfect to set you up for a day of walking. Richard and Christine were very friendly and I would highly recommend this guest house. We will definitely choose to stay here again on our next break away to Keswick.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nichola_H27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.8 mi away
Laurel Bank B&B
Laurel Bank B&B
#14 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.8 mi away
Burnside B&B
Burnside B&B
#6 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brundholme Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Brookfield B&B
Brookfield B&B
#16 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
0.0 mi away
Strathmore Guest House
Strathmore Guest House
#46 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarence House
Clarence House
#12 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferndene Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferndene Guest House

Property: Ferndene Guest House
Address: Ambleside Road | Ambleside Road, Keswick CA12 4DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Richard and Christine welcome you to Ferndene B&B Guest House - A contemporary family run guest house offering high standard, comfortable and friendly bed and breakfast accommodation in Keswick. Ferndene Guest House is quietly situated a short stroll from the centre of the beautiful market town of Keswick in the heart of the Lake District National Park We are the perfect base to enjoy the magnificent scenery whether you wish to walk, cycle and explore the huge range of outdoor activities available nearby or simply to relax in comfort and get away from it all for a relaxing or romantic break. Ferndene Guest House is a pleasant ten minute walk from the Derwentwater lakeshore with its stunning views, boating, lake steamers and the famous Theatre by the Lake. Our traditional Victorian guest house has been comprehensively refurbished while still retaining much of its original character and, with our modern Annexe conveniently located next to our car park (providing free off road parking), has been carefully decorated in a modern style throughout. Rooms in the main house offer magnificent views of the mountains, with our exclusive top floor Suite giving panoramic views over Keswick and the fells. After a restful night's sleep in one of our tastefully furnished bedrooms enjoy a relaxing start to the day with breakfast served in our comfortable dining room overlooking the garden and St. John's Church. Indulge yourself with the famous Ferndene Guest House cooked Cumbrian breakfast, selected from the best locally available and Fairtrade sources. A large selection of cereals, yoghurts, dried and fresh fruit, orange and apple juice (lighter options and vegetarian breakfast always available. Special diets catered for on request prior to arrival). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms and Priceline so you can book your Ferndene Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing