We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“parking problem!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ferndene Guest House
Ranked #40 of 175 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“parking problem!”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We booked 3 night suite package for £276 (£92 p.n)

The suite is quite small but you have fabulous views from both sides and its nice to have a separate TV room as there is no designated area in the guest house where you can sit or meet

Full English breakfast is as good as it gets, Everything there, tasty and good sized portions. Downside is that breakfast is only served between 8.30-9am am and you have to fill in your order form by 7pm the previous evening. I would prefer to decide on the morning but it does make for a quick and efficient breakfast service. There is plenty of toast but no fresh bread or pastries and no other hot options apart from porridge

Great location to town. There is plenty of street parking out the front plus guest house parking at the back. We parked out front as it was easier and only used the guest house parking on our last day. Our walk took longer than we thought and we returned at 2pm to pick up our bags and car. We were quite frankly shocked at the frosty reception we received from Richard (in particular) and Christine. We were told in no uncertain terms that as we were no longer staying there we were not welcome to use the parking space. But as we had not blocked anyone in and their check in time is 3pm I dont think any harm was done. We admitted It was our fault, and apologized several times but they were clearly very upset by the incident and choose to make an issue of it
This spoilt an otherwise pleasant stay so cant recommend this guest house or want to stay there again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kesmars, Owner at Ferndene Guest House, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We pride ourselves in running a relaxed and friendly guest house where we do everything we can to accommodate our guests and hopefully our other reviews indicate that this is indeed the case. All that we require from our guests in return is a minimum of common sense and consideration, particularly regarding parking. We have a parking space available for each of our rooms, although the shape of the car park does mean that guest cars need to be parked “nose to tail”. This is common in Keswick: the vast majority of guest houses in the town have no off street parking and require guests to hunt for spaces on the street (which can be very difficult at busy times) and those which do have some form of parking generally have a system in place to manage the cars within it. None of us can change this: Keswick is an old Victorian town in the middle of a National Park and no-one is going to get planning permission for a new car park. As is explained to all our guests, including yourselves, on arrival or during their stay, the system that we run is to check with everyone at breakfast what their plans for the day are, while Christine and I of course know who is checking in and out that day. If necessary we then “shuffle” the cars after breakfast to make sure that everyone who wants their car out can do so. This is a system which, with a bit of common sense and goodwill, works very well, causes surprisingly few problems and means that our guests do not have to trawl the streets looking for parking places, which is the case with most guest houses in the centre of Keswick.
It was not, as you suggest, the “last day of your stay” nor did you go for a walk, leaving the car in our car park to return at 2pm as you imply and in fact, as you well know, you did block someone in. In reality you checked out at about 10:00 AM that morning at the end of your stay, saying that you would be driving somewhere (to my recollection Ashness Bridge) and going for a walk prior to returning home. Please note that your stay at any hotel or guest house extends from when you check in to when you check out, which is the period during which you have paid to use the facilities of the hotel. Once you check out those facilities are, unless you make other arrangements, the “property” of the next guests to check in to your room – we do not unfortunately operate a public car park. You asked to leave two bags with us, as you did not wish to leave them unattended in your car while you walked, to be collected on your way home. You then packed your car, which you had never chosen during your stay to park in our car park, and drove off having settled your bill, checked out and returned your keys. We therefore, quite reasonably, expected you to call back at some point during the day, pick up your bags and depart, having enjoyed your weekend. We then began to prepare to welcome our next set of guests. It was with some surprise, therefore, when just before lunch your car appeared in our car park, blocked in another car and was left there for a number of hours while (presumably) you ambled into town and got some lunch. Did you ask at breakfast or when you checked out “Would it be OK to stick the car in the car park when we come back?”. No you did not. When you parked the car there did you pop your head in the house and ask “Is it OK to park here?”. No, you did not. Did you know whether the car you parked in front of needed to be out? No, you did not. Did you know whether we had guests arriving that needed that space (bearing in mind that early check-in is available on request )? No, you did not. Had you asked, before you checked out in the morning or when you returned, whether there was somewhere you could park we would have been more than happy to help. We are always happy to accommodate our guests in any way we can and we are as conscious as anyone that parking in Keswick can be a challenge. It is very common for guests to ask whether they can leave their cars somewhere so that they can go into town or go for a walk before returning home (as indeed the guests who returned while you were packing your car did the following day), but the crucial point is they have the common sense and simple courtesy to ask first. Indeed, it is quite common, as other guests can testify, for us to give up our own car parking space for guests who wish to go for a walk before they return home. All you needed to do was ask. As it was, we ended up with a car unexpectedly parked in our car park taking up a space we needed for new guests arriving and blocking another car in. I know that you said when you returned that you thought the car that you had blocked in “could get out” but I can assure you it could not, certainly not without the aid of a crane. We then had new guests checking in early, as they had previously arranged, who we had to find a space for on the street on Southey Street a considerable distance away as they couldn’t park in our car park because your car had appeared there. We rang you multiple times and left two messages on the mobile number that you yourselves had given us as contact asking you to return to your car with no response, to then be told on your return that you don’t switch that mobile on. When you did eventually reappear it is not my recollection that you “admitted it was our fault, and apologized several times” rather our impression was that you didn’t see what the fuss was about and couldn’t see why there had been any problem. The fact that you still seem to think that “I don’t think any harm was done” and that we “chose to make an issue of it” reinforces our impression that you are still oblivious as to any reason why anyone could possibly have been upset.
As we say, we do our best to run a relaxed and friendly guest house and the last thing we want to do is to make an issue out of anything. An example of this is the fact that you insisted on leaving the guest house at 6 o’clock in the morning every day of your stay for photography but apparently could not be bothered to take your keys, slamming the front door so hard that the house shook and waking everyone at 6 o’clock in the morning. Do you not consider that this was inconsiderate? Apparently not. We received two separate complaints from other guests about this who had been woken at the crack of dawn but we decided not to make an “issue” of it. When you returned late one night of your stay, after we had gone to bed, having forgotten your keys and our 16 year old daughter let you in, got the pass key and let you in to your room do you not think that a simple “thank you” to her at the time or the next morning would have been simple courtesy? Again, apparently not. She is not simply “staff” and sometimes, as we say, simple courtesy and some consideration for others goes a long way.
Regarding your other comments, whether or not the suite “quite small” is of course subjective, however we would point out that it is an entire floor of the house, has a bedroom with king size bed and has a separate sitting room. The fact that we have no guest lounge, that breakfast is served 8:30-9:00 and our full breakfast menu are all clearly displayed on the website where you booked your stay. As is clear from this we do not, and have never, offered fresh bread or pastries. If this was not to your requirements we would suggest that in future you study more carefully the facilities and features of the hotels and guest house that you stay at, rather than criticizing them for not having features that you knew they didn’t have even before you booked. Although we do ask guests to choose their breakfast selection the night before this is very common in guest houses that do not have commercial kitchens and is a standard practice in Keswick – we cannot speak for elsewhere. The primary motivation is to prevent waste, because otherwise one must assume that everyone is having a cooked breakfast, which is rarely the case, so that breakfasts can start to be prepared before guests come down. We say 7 o’clock for this but this is not in any sense a hard and fast rule and so long as people do it the night before (or even that morning when people forget!) that’s fine. We try to be as flexible as possible and if anyone wants anything that’s not on our little form they have only to ask and we’ll do our best – as you yourself know after we provided you with a bacon and egg sandwich to take away on your first morning, so where you gain the idea that there are “no other hot options apart from porridge” we do not know…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    17
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
201
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
nottingham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This is a lovely B&B with a beautiful aspect over Keswick.

On arrival Christine made sure we were safely parked and explained general bits to us.

We stayed in the suite which was fab as we essentially had our own private apartment throughout our stay. It was quite a climb to the top of the B&B and it was worth it! The view from our bedroom and sitting rooms were absolutely stunning.

The Suite comprises a bedroom, sitting room, bathroom and a sort of lobby area with dressing table. It was unusual and great to have a separate area to chill when arriving back from a day of walking.

When we stayed at Ferndene the weather was really cold and we couldn't get our bedroom warm the first night. We mentioned it at breakfast and Richard went up and bled our radiators straight away, we were very toasty after that. The Suite also has a small fan heater to keep the lobby bit warm too.

Breakfast each morning was delicious and set us up well for a good day exploring Keswick. We didn't need any lunches as breakfast really kept us going until dinner time.

We got handy tips from both Richard and Christine on where to go and what was happening in Keswick so that we made the most of our time there. Other than this we were left to our own devices and came and went as we wanted. Getting about Keswick was easy as we were very close to the town centre, we didn't need to use the car whilst we were there going on walks to Friar's Cragg and Derwent Water.

Room Tip: The stairs up to the suite might be difficult to negotiate if you have mobility issues as some of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knuttykitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Ferndene Guest House for the Easter weekend. Christine and Richard are wonderful hosts. Christine is an excellent cook, breakfast is delicious and the homemade jam is a treat. Richard is fantastic as front of house and always on hand to recommend good places to walk. The B&B is spotlessly clean and comfortable. This is one of the best B&B's we've stayed in, definitely recommend.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 3, which has amazing views over the mountains of Keswick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Wonderfully warm and friendly home from home. Christine and Richard make you feel like family. nothing is too much trouble and they are always kind and helpful.
the rooms were all immaculately maintained and nicely furnished. Comfy beds and luxurious linen.
Breakfast was perfect - you even get a good cup of coffee (or tea). Quality and consistency.
the stay just wasn't long enough - so we have to go back and we will certainly staying at Ferndene next time too.
perfectly situated for excellent range of restaurants and pubs - all of which were equally accommodating.
thank you so much to Christine, RIchard, Caroline and all the clan for making us feel so comfortable and indulged.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dinti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

My partner & I have just returned from an eight might stay at the Ferndene Guest House and what can I say but Fabulous, Christine & Richard are the best they are so warm and friendly I feel like I have made some new friends. They are always there to great you for breakfast every morning and what a breakfast it is, it is fantastic it is definatley one of the best breakfasts we have every had in the Lakes and possibly anywhere it is so tasty and you will not need anything else to eat until about 6pm at night. The rooms are lovely we stayed in The Suit which had was on the top floor of the B&B which was all ours it was like having your own private apartment with fantastic views. Well can't say much else apart from stay here if you ever visit Keswick you will not be dissappointed. Thanks alot Christine & Richard we had a fantastic time and I do hope to see you both again very soon, give Poppy a big kiss from us both x x

Room Tip: The Suit is your own private appartment with fantastic views, but all the rooms are lovely and I wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon85207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunderland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

AS a party of four we stayed at the frendede in march 2013.....Our hosts Richard And Christine are absolutly wonderful people having stayed in a wide and varied range of properties in Keswick I can truly sat that this one it the best.....Nothing is too much trouble for Richard and Christine,the go out of there way to ensure that their guests have the best possible stay.......Be careful when ordering breakfast as you get an enormous ammount and it is supurb as i only have a small appitite i was given too much so i adjusted my order for the next day but still i could not manage to eat it(should of getting a doggy bag)could have possibly fed half of Keswick.......joking aside if you do go here you will NOT be disapointed,please go and try it i an so glad i did...Thankyou to aur hosts and we will be back if you will have us.....Keep up the good work...

Room Tip: All superb,but the suits are a little better and larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geordieland, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend in Dec 2012 for a last minute weekend away. Room very nice, clean and tidy, excellent views from the window too. Breakfast was excellent. Very well located, we didn't use the car at all after we arrived. Always a very warm welcome and very friendly, just really wish we could've stayed longer! Will hopefully be able to return for a longer stay in the future.

One tip if you're visiting Keswick is The George Hotel's Cow Pie - It's really very lovely, but be careful you don't over-eat! A half portion is more than enough for anyone!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whiskey_Drinker_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.0 mi away
Strathmore Guest House
Strathmore Guest House
#48 of 175 in Keswick
145 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brundholme Bed and Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Laurel Bank B&B
Laurel Bank B&B
#14 of 175 in Keswick
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#41 of 175 in Keswick
180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#7 of 175 in Keswick
336 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parkfield Guest House
Parkfield Guest House
#28 of 175 in Keswick
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferndene Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferndene Guest House

Property: Ferndene Guest House
Address: Ambleside Road | Ambleside Road, Keswick CA12 4DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Richard and Christine welcome you to Ferndene B&B Guest House - A contemporary family run guest house offering high standard, comfortable and friendly bed and breakfast accommodation in Keswick. Ferndene Guest House is quietly situated a short stroll from the centre of the beautiful market town of Keswick in the heart of the Lake District National Park We are the perfect base to enjoy the magnificent scenery whether you wish to walk, cycle and explore the huge range of outdoor activities available nearby or simply to relax in comfort and get away from it all for a relaxing or romantic break. Ferndene Guest House is a pleasant ten minute walk from the Derwentwater lakeshore with its stunning views, boating, lake steamers and the famous Theatre by the Lake. Our traditional Victorian guest house has been comprehensively refurbished while still retaining much of its original character and, with our modern Annexe conveniently located next to our car park (providing free off road parking), has been carefully decorated in a modern style throughout. Rooms in the main house offer magnificent views of the mountains, with our exclusive top floor Suite giving panoramic views over Keswick and the fells. After a restful night's sleep in one of our tastefully furnished bedrooms enjoy a relaxing start to the day with breakfast served in our comfortable dining room overlooking the garden and St. John's Church. Indulge yourself with the famous Ferndene Guest House cooked Cumbrian breakfast, selected from the best locally available and Fairtrade sources. A large selection of cereals, yoghurts, dried and fresh fruit, orange and apple juice (lighter options and vegetarian breakfast always available. Special diets catered for on request prior to arrival). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ferndene Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing