We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B&B in the perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ferndene Guest House
Ranked #42 of 173 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Winsford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic B&B in the perfect location”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We have just returned from a lovely 2 night stay at Ferndene Guest House. After reading all of the excellent reviews on here we were looking forward to our short break and from the moment we arrived at the guest house we were not disappointed. Both Christine and Richard were so friendly and nothing was to much trouble for them. We had a room on the top floor which was super clean with a lovely en suite. Within the room there was a list of local restaurants which was very helpful. One of the main highlights of this room was the wonderful views. The breakfasts were enormous and delicious and there was something on offer to suit everyone's taste. The location of the guest house is perfect and only a 2 minute walk into the centre of Keswick. I would highly recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kesmars, Owner at Ferndene Guest House, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you so much for taking the time to post your review, which is so very much appreciated. Richard & Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    18
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
203
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

What a fantastic stay we had at Ferndene!! Firstly, Richard and Christine are so genuinely friendly and helpful it was like being at home with the family. Secondly, they've also made such a fantastic effort with the guest house it has to be THE best place we have ever stayed in. The room not only had beautiful views but it was immaculately clean and fresh and just so comfortable, better than home. Breakfasts were just out of this world, very local very fresh and very generous as per a previous review we too tried to not go over board the next day due to over indulging on the first morning. Location is perfect and the free parking is always a great convenience even if a little snug. Our only complaint is that we didn't ever want to leave so can't wait to return again very soon certainly won't be staying anywhere else but here - total perfection.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claires79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kesmars, Owner at Ferndene Guest House, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you so much for posting such an enthusiastic and favourable review - it is very much appreciated! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for taking the time and trouble to write and post it, kind regards Richard & Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

This B&B was indicated as a first class stay by others and so it proved to be. Breakfast on our first morning was so generous that we moderated our order for the second time around. The locally sourced ingredients were first class.
We stayed in their smallest annexe room which was OK for a couple of nights, and excellent value. Positioned close to the centre of the town, it was the perfect position for our short stay.
Parking was available, if a bit cramped but Richard manages the situation with a smile & great charm.
Christine is equally friendly and we will definitely return for future stays.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiMosey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kesmars, Owner at Ferndene Guest House, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words - we're very pleased you enjoyed yourselves! Christine is justly proud of her breakfasts and it's lovely to see in so many reviews that they are enjoyed and appreciated so much! Parking is of course the bane of Keswick, which is an old Victorian town full of character but not designed for cars - but with a bit of common sense and consideration it seems to work! Take care - it would be lovely to see you again next time you are in Keswick. Richard & Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We have just returned from a weekend at Ferndene and what a real treat it was. We had booked the suite on the top floor which had the most incredible view and the rooms being so so spacious if you have big bags and lots of luggage
We arrived the Friday evening and were given great advice on where to eat out. The weekend was even better when we woke up to the most incredible breakfast (it looks exactly like the photos) and the cumberland sausages were amazing.
We were lucky enough to have the perfect weather and as they are so central we could walk everywhere.
We cannot wait to go back for yet another great weekend.

Room Tip: the Suite is great value for money. It is SO quiet and you get a room, dressing table area, bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tobey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kesmars, Owner at Ferndene Guest House, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review, it was a pleasure to meet you and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We cannot guarantee such wonderful weather next time but it would be great to see you again if you return to Keswick! Kind regards, Richard & Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

An enjoyable 4 days spent with Richard and Christine, nothing was too much trouble, rooms were clean. The breakfasts were first class and they are centrally located to everything. Plenty of tips and advice on what to do where to go. Even though it rained all day everyday there was still plenty to see and do.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelandAlison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blyth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We usually go to Keswick in our touring caravan but because of the recent weather we decided to stay B&B. I wanted something modern but not overpriced, Ferndene did not let us down! We arrived before checking in time and were able to leave our car in the car park for the afternoon and were given our room key ready for our return when our room would be made up. There were two couples in our party and the Annex rooms were lovely, very modern and well furnished, it's the small things that count. The breakfast was fantastic, we highly recommend the cooked breakfast, it sets you up for the day. Richard and Christine were very friendly and made you feel very welcome. We would definately stay at Ferndene again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEANETTE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire England
Level 6 Contributor
335 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We have been to Keswick many times and finally we have found the ideal place to stay - warm and friendly hosts, beautifully appointed rooms, great breakfasts, parking, good value for money and plastic taken for payment. The only thing Richard and Christine couldn't do much about was the weather, but at least they provide a good forecast so you know what you're in for. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear have better views, but if you can see the views you should be out enjoying them no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IPA_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.0 mi away
Strathmore Guest House
Strathmore Guest House
#49 of 173 in Keswick
146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dalkeith Guest House
Dalkeith Guest House
#67 of 173 in Keswick
50 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glendale Guest House
Glendale Guest House
#54 of 173 in Keswick
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stonegarth Guest House
Stonegarth Guest House
#10 of 173 in Keswick
548 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#4 of 173 in Keswick
358 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harvington House
Harvington House
#45 of 173 in Keswick
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferndene Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferndene Guest House

Property: Ferndene Guest House
Address: Ambleside Road | Ambleside Road, Keswick CA12 4DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Richard and Christine welcome you to Ferndene B&B Guest House - A contemporary family run guest house offering high standard, comfortable and friendly bed and breakfast accommodation in Keswick. Ferndene Guest House is quietly situated a short stroll from the centre of the beautiful market town of Keswick in the heart of the Lake District National Park We are the perfect base to enjoy the magnificent scenery whether you wish to walk, cycle and explore the huge range of outdoor activities available nearby or simply to relax in comfort and get away from it all for a relaxing or romantic break. Ferndene Guest House is a pleasant ten minute walk from the Derwentwater lakeshore with its stunning views, boating, lake steamers and the famous Theatre by the Lake. Our traditional Victorian guest house has been comprehensively refurbished while still retaining much of its original character and, with our modern Annexe conveniently located next to our car park (providing free off road parking), has been carefully decorated in a modern style throughout. Rooms in the main house offer magnificent views of the mountains, with our exclusive top floor Suite giving panoramic views over Keswick and the fells. After a restful night's sleep in one of our tastefully furnished bedrooms enjoy a relaxing start to the day with breakfast served in our comfortable dining room overlooking the garden and St. John's Church. Indulge yourself with the famous Ferndene Guest House cooked Cumbrian breakfast, selected from the best locally available and Fairtrade sources. A large selection of cereals, yoghurts, dried and fresh fruit, orange and apple juice (lighter options and vegetarian breakfast always available. Special diets catered for on request prior to arrival). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Ferndene Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing