We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect first trip to lakes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ferndene Guest House
Ranked #49 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We have just got back from long weekend. We stayed in the annex, what a lovely clean modern room with ensuite. Good selection of beverages and biscuits too. Excellent location 2 mins walk from centre of keswick and a short walk to beautiful Derwent lake. Breakfast was fantastic didnt eat till teatime. Owners extremely helpful always interested in where we were going and full of helpful suggestions and guidence making our first trip to the area a really full and varied one. Thanks

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (275)
There are newer reviews for Ferndene Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 275 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2012

Just stayed in the suite on the top floor for 5 nights. The room has amazing views and is clean with modern decor; bathrobes, tv and dvd player, a selection of toiletries, tea, coffee and biscuits were provided.

The owners were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was also very good - beware the huge portions though! Ferndene is also in an excellent location - about 2 minutes walk from the town and 5-10minutes to the Lake.

Ferndene offers a much higher standard of decoration (no chintz!), cleanliness and breakfast than many of the other guest houses that I've Keswick in the past.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRV2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We recently stayed at Ferndene as we were coming up country to get married at Gretna Green! We had a wonderful stay here. Christine, Richard, Olivia and Jessica were just lovely - very friendly and welcoming. We stayed in room 5 which was absolutely beautiful and the breakfasts were amazing! We even had a bottle of champagne and a cake baked for us to celebrate our wedding - how very kind and what a wonderful touch to make our already perfect stay that extra bit special. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Just had a 4 day break walking in the lakes and the Ferndean proved to be the perfect basecamp.
Clean and tidy within walking distance of the town and all its attractions.Breakfast was excellent and set us up for the days walking.Very friendly and welcoming would recomend anyone to try this lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrmudd_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

First time @ the Ferndene & we wasn't dissapointed! We stayed here with a group of friends whilst celebrating my 40th birthday & couldn't fault our stay in any way. Great location, great rooms & great breakfast, also Richard & family couldn't do enough to make us feel welcome. Would recommend the Ferndene to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Till2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Just had a three night stay at Ferndene with five friends and its been a wonderful break. We were lucky with the great weather and it was topped off with the accommodation which we found spot on. Clean and welcoming. Breakfast was amazing and we were well set up for a days walking. Richard and Christine are lovely friendly people, very helpful.Would I stay here again, definately. Would I recomend itwithout a doubt

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Audrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

This was our 6th time staying at Ferndene. We try to come up once a year. We have stayed here with 3 different sets of friends and family. We always stay in the Annex with en-suite. The rooms are always clean tidy and ready for us. I love the egyptian cotton sheets on the bed.
The breakfasts are always freshly cooked with local ingredients. I especially liked the birthday candle in one of my mushrooms!!
Location is great for the lake and the town. Easy enough to go out for tea then walk it off a bit by the lake and back round.
Thank you Christine and Richard for always making us feel welcome.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tigergengis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.0 mi away
Strathmore Guest House
Strathmore Guest House
#61 of 189 in Keswick
146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glendale Guest House
Glendale Guest House
#54 of 189 in Keswick
413 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stonegarth Guest House
Stonegarth Guest House
#11 of 189 in Keswick
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Harvington House
Harvington House
#45 of 189 in Keswick
149 reviews
0.2 mi away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#42 of 189 in Keswick
188 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dalkeith Guest House
Dalkeith Guest House
#67 of 189 in Keswick
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferndene Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferndene Guest House

Address: Ambleside Road | 6 St. John's Terrace, Keswick CA12 4DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: $91 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Richard and Christine welcome you to Ferndene B&B Guest House - A contemporary family run guest house offering high standard, comfortable and friendly bed and breakfast accommodation in Keswick. Ferndene Guest House is quietly situated a short stroll from the centre of the beautiful market town of Keswick in the heart of the Lake District National Park We are the perfect base to enjoy the magnificent scenery whether you wish to walk, cycle and explore the huge range of outdoor activities available nearby or simply to relax in comfort and get away from it all for a relaxing or romantic break. Ferndene Guest House is a pleasant ten minute walk from the Derwentwater lakeshore with its stunning views, boating, lake steamers and the famous Theatre by the Lake. Our traditional Victorian guest house has been comprehensively refurbished while still retaining much of its original character and, with our modern Annexe conveniently located next to our car park (providing free off road parking), has been carefully decorated in a modern style throughout. Rooms in the main house offer magnificent views of the mountains, with our exclusive top floor Suite giving panoramic views over Keswick and the fells. After a restful night's sleep in one of our tastefully furnished bedrooms enjoy a relaxing start to the day with breakfast served in our comfortable dining room overlooking the garden and St. John's Church. Indulge yourself with the famous Ferndene Guest House cooked Cumbrian breakfast, selected from the best locally available and Fairtrade sources. A large selection of cereals, yoghurts, dried and fresh fruit, orange and apple juice (lighter options and vegetarian breakfast always available. Special diets catered for on request prior to arrival). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ferndene Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing