We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very reaxing, beautiful location, owned and run by a lovely and helpful couple”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ferndene Guest House
Ranked #40 of 175 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Eccleshall, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very reaxing, beautiful location, owned and run by a lovely and helpful couple”
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Christine and Richard, the owners, were lovely and really helpful. We stayed in the Deluxe Suite which was fab - it has a separate lounge area, bathroom with large shower cubicle with a good power shower. The choice for breakfast was great. We opted for the f.e.b both days which were cooked to perfection! We'd definitely recommend Ferndene to anyone who wants a B&B in Keswick. It is very tastefully decorated, very clean, in a quiet location but only a short walk into the town and we were made to feel very welcome.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzypoole043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    17
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
201
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2011

My partner and i spent 3 nights at the Ferndene in march, it's ideally located in Keswick just a minute from the centre and a stone throw from the lake derwent.
On arriving Richard greeted us and showed us around, a very polite fella who would do anything for you. We stayed in the suit on the top floor, very cozy with seperate bedroom and living room area with the whole floor to yourself, its not huge but very cozy.
The suite offers great views on both sides. On showing us to the suite Richard then produced a bottle of sparkling wine which my girlfriend ordered.

In the morning breakfast is great, Christine and richard do a great job, you make your order the night before from a full range of fresh local produce, very nice.

Our stay here was very nice and i would recommend to anyone wanting a quite break to the lakes.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicky F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 3, 2011

From the day we arrived, Richard and Christine were so welcoming and friendly. We were on our honeymoon and we arrived to a bottle of champagne and fruit basket. Ferndene is in the perfect location - a quiet area but just a short walk into town or down to the lake.

As for the rooms, we stayed in the Suite on the top floor (with seperate sitting room) which really was a home from home. It was so clean and comfortable and we had incredible views from every room. Breakfast was 1st class as well. Real luxury at a great price...

Room Tip: Go for the Suite if available, it is just superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgreaves81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 2, 2011

We've stayed at Ferndene Guest House twice now and we're planning on going back in the near future. We couldn't have wished for a better place to stay. It's a family run guest house with a friendly atmosphere, very conveniently located in the heart of Keswick (without being amongst shops, pubs or noisy traffic). We've stayed in the suite and in one of the double bedrooms that shares 2 bathrooms, both were tastefully decorated and I couldn't fault the cleanliness. The beds are of fantastic quality and you're guaranteed a decent night's sleep. Breakfast in the morning is amazing - there's pleanty of choice with cereals, fruit, yoghurts, a variety of teas & coffees, and toast while Christine prepares a home cooked breakfast of your choice.

Richard and Chrisine who run Ferndene are two very warm hearted, friendly people. They have a brilliant knowledge of the local areas for recommending days out and they will do anything to make your stay absolutley perfect.

We've recommended Ferndene to family who really enjoyed their stay and are also planning on revisiting it. We would recommend Ferndene to absolutely anyone wishing to visit the area. It's fantastic value for money - well worth every penny and we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abi89_7241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2011

We have just returned from a two night stay with Christine and Richard at Ferndene Guesthouse in Keswick, and what a thoroughly enjoyable stay it was. We stayed in the suite at the top of the house, 47 stairs (yes we counted) to reach it, but well worth it. The room was like a home from home, having a separate bathroom and lounge area, all self contained from the rest of the guest house.

On arrival we were greeted with a warm and friendly welcome and shown to our room. Information about our stay was offered and knowledge of the local area and walks from our hosts was superb. Breakfast was fantastic on both mornings, really setting you up for the day whether it be walking down by the lake, in the mountains or simply a good wonder around Keswick and all it has to offer. We could not have asked for anything more from our stay, except maybes one or two more nights, to truly appreciate all that Keswick has to offer. Looking forward to our next visit!!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbieandSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire, england
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2011

christine and richard are the most helpful, friendliest and most welcoming we have many in the many places we have stayed, the room was outstanding, and the food was second to none, we are looking forward to our next stay at the ferndene, thankyou christine and richard for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arnella63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2011

My husband and I stayed here on our first trp to Keswick on a walking weekend and have just returned. I chose this guest house based on previous reviews and wasnt disappointed. It is a home from home as you feel really comfortable. We normally stay in large hotels so this was a change for us, not to mention a risk but it paid off. The owners are lovely and nothing is a hassle. The rooms are really modern but cosy, something you would want at home. Location is perfect, only about 1-2 minutes walk into the centre which has great pubs and restaurants but you dont get any traffic noise so a win win situation.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirstyelizabethcar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.0 mi away
Strathmore Guest House
Strathmore Guest House
#48 of 175 in Keswick
145 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brundholme Bed and Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Laurel Bank B&B
Laurel Bank B&B
#14 of 175 in Keswick
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#41 of 175 in Keswick
181 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#7 of 175 in Keswick
336 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parkfield Guest House
Parkfield Guest House
#28 of 175 in Keswick
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferndene Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferndene Guest House

Property: Ferndene Guest House
Address: Ambleside Road | Ambleside Road, Keswick CA12 4DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Richard and Christine welcome you to Ferndene B&B Guest House - A contemporary family run guest house offering high standard, comfortable and friendly bed and breakfast accommodation in Keswick. Ferndene Guest House is quietly situated a short stroll from the centre of the beautiful market town of Keswick in the heart of the Lake District National Park We are the perfect base to enjoy the magnificent scenery whether you wish to walk, cycle and explore the huge range of outdoor activities available nearby or simply to relax in comfort and get away from it all for a relaxing or romantic break. Ferndene Guest House is a pleasant ten minute walk from the Derwentwater lakeshore with its stunning views, boating, lake steamers and the famous Theatre by the Lake. Our traditional Victorian guest house has been comprehensively refurbished while still retaining much of its original character and, with our modern Annexe conveniently located next to our car park (providing free off road parking), has been carefully decorated in a modern style throughout. Rooms in the main house offer magnificent views of the mountains, with our exclusive top floor Suite giving panoramic views over Keswick and the fells. After a restful night's sleep in one of our tastefully furnished bedrooms enjoy a relaxing start to the day with breakfast served in our comfortable dining room overlooking the garden and St. John's Church. Indulge yourself with the famous Ferndene Guest House cooked Cumbrian breakfast, selected from the best locally available and Fairtrade sources. A large selection of cereals, yoghurts, dried and fresh fruit, orange and apple juice (lighter options and vegetarian breakfast always available. Special diets catered for on request prior to arrival). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ferndene Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing