We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SIMPLY THE BEST”
Review of Spooney Green B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Spooney Green B&B
Ranked #164 of 196 Keswick B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 18, 2009

We could not have been made more welcome, Ian and Sandra are the perfect hosts.The double en suite room had wonderful views not only of their beautiful garden but the mountains beyond ie-Cat Bells.Breakfast was a delight just what you need to set you up for a days trecking those fells.We stayed 5 nights and plan to go back in September we are counting the days!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EastSussexWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 50 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2009

We've been to Spooney Green twice, mostly recently in August 2008. Sandra & Ian the owners are very friendly and welcoming. The rooms were spacious, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The breakfasts were exceptional with a great deal of choice and locally produced products, topped off by front seat views of the red squirrels who visit the garden. Not to mention the stunning Lakeland views... highly recommended, I'm sure we will visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northlondonbirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2008

We had the most amazing weekend as guests at Spooney Green. The owners do everything to a very high standard - from the bedlinen to the homemade preserves at breakfast. Perfect location and very easy to find. The evenings were chilly even in September - but the heating was on low in our room which we appreciated. Weedy Southerners!! We were delighted to be offered a glass of sherry on arrival. Top Tip - take some binoculars and a guide to British birds to watch all the beautiful birds attracted by all the bird feeders the owners keep full. . And the red squirrels too of course. This is by a country mile the best B&B we have stayed in the Lakes.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank butmir1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2008

We spent 2 nights at Spooney Green to celebrate my 30th birthday. The B & B was extremely easy to find and we received a warm welcome upon our arrival. We stayed in one of the house's double rooms which was well furnished and very clean. It is situated within easy walking distance of the town (15 mins walk) and just a few metres away from a footpath that takes you onto Latrigg.

The homemade breakfast is served in the dining room where red squirrels can be seen and other wildlife. The breakfast includes homemade bread, eggs from their own free range chickens, tomatoes from their greenhouse and preserves made from home grown fruit & honey generously donated by the resident bees.

We would recommend eating out at Sweeney's for a light meal in a quiet environment (away from the hustle and bustle of the walkers/climbers) and also Morrell's for a more intimate and elegant meal.

It is advisable to take a jumper as the weather can be changeable.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam-n-Nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2008

Great welcome and care from wonderful hosts who clearly love the Lakes.
Stayed 4 nights.
Breakfasts - fantastic.
Our twin-bedded room was simply perfect/ lovely shower room- views of fells outstanding.
Fascinating garden including wild flower meadow.
Set in a glorious country setting but close enough to town to walk in.
Pub with great food within walking distance
Close to busy road but glazing so good this could not be heard.

We have stayed many times in Lakeland - this was the best experience ever. GO!
We are already planning our next visit.

Stayed: June 2008
1  Thank LakesloverHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2008

We stayed in Spooney Green B & B right by the Cumbrian Way
It was perfect. The views are wonderful, rooms large, clean and everything that you needed. The breakfast was again perfect with home made bread, preserves and eggs from the chickens. The owners are so welcoming I can fully recommend it. Keswick is lovely with wonderful places very near. The northern Lakes are very worth visiting, but you have to be reasonably fit.
We saw red squirrells every day in their garden

Thank Lynn03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
1.1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
795 reviews
4.9 mi away
The White Horse Inn Bunkhouse
1.8 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Lodge in the Vale
The Lodge in the Vale
#1 of 2 in Thirlmere
328 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
3.3 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spooney Green B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spooney Green B&B

Address: Spooney Green Spooney GREEN, Keswick CA12 4PJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #164 of 196 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: $101 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the peace and quiet of our lake district retreat. Only 15 mins walk to the centre of Keswick, 5 mins to the nearest pub for dinner. Wonderful views over the western Lake District fells. Relax in our wildlife garden, and watch red squirrels at the feeding stations. Ideal for a walking holiday, the main track up Skiddaw goes past the door. Home made bread, eggs from our own chickens and honey from the hives in the garden.New for 2012 Spooney Green cottage can be hired on a self catering basis. Cosy lake district cottage sleeps 8 log fire and wonderful views ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Spooney Green Bed And Breakfast
Spooney Green Hotel Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing