We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect guesthouse.”

Underhill Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Underhill Guest House
Ranked #152 of 175 Keswick B&B and Inns
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect guesthouse.”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

My friends and I (a group of ten of us) stayed here for a long weekend in February to celebrate my recent remission from Lymphoma, meaning that we had the run of the whole house. The Anchorage was exactly what we wanted, all the rooms were lovely and had plenty of room. There was a good range of room type as well e.g double, triple, single (something that can be hard to find in guest houses!) and this was perfect for us as we weren't all couples.
The kitchen was well equipt and plenty big enough for what we needed. The dining room was perfect for everyone to eat together and the ideal setting for our 1960's murder mystery meal (brilliant fun if anyone is considering it!).
The setting was ideal and everything we needed within Keswick was a very short walk away. Sadly I couldn't manage to many long walks so our time was spent doing things closer to home. We spent an afternoon in "a puzzling place" which was fantastic and well worth a visit. There are plenty of leaflets in the foyer if you're struggling for ideas.
For what you get with the Anchorage, the price is extremely reasonable. Linda's communication was fantastic from the moment I booked.
All in all we were all very pleased with our stay and would certainly, without hesitation, stay at the Anchorage again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank MelanieLisa89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAnchorage14, Owner at Underhill Guest House, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for such an excellent review, we're really pleased you enjoyed it so much, here's hoping next time you'll be able to get out and about a bit more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    7
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
17
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Secret Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We had the whole guest house to ouselves, as there was a group of 10. It was fantastic. A short walk to the town. Plenty of places to see, eat and drink at. The rooms were comfortable and clean. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rigden62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAnchorage14, Owner at Underhill Guest House, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for your good review, Keswick is a great place to stay as you found.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Just back from three days in Keswick staying at the Anchorage. I had the ensuite single room which was perfect while my friend had one of the doubles which he thought was brilliant. Linda couldn't have been more helpful. Breakfast was superb, we had the traditional full english breakfast but there are a range of other choices. Linda also offers a packed lunch service which we used on the last day, next time we will use this service every day. The packed lunch was great and super value. There is off-road parking which is a real bonus. I really can't speak highly enough of The Anchorage and would recommend it to anyone. We will definitely be back early next year.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAnchorage14, Owner at Underhill Guest House, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for your excellent review, pleased you had such an enjoyable stay with us, with the added bonus of great weather! We look forward to seeing you both again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Just got back from a 5 night stay at the anchorage and had a wonderful break! I stayed in a single room...although a tad small it was brilliant! Plenty of storage, very clean and with en-suite shower room and toilet! The location was fantastic...a two minute walk to the shops and 5 mins to the lake. The service was also outstanding, Linda is very friendly and accommodating and made sure my stay was enjoyable and to top it all off there is private parking which makes life so much easier!! Thanks for a wonderful stay...highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Njl_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Underhill Guest House, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you! Really pleased you had such a lovely time, hope the knee is now recovering!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

A lovely guest house in a great location. Close to shops, restaurants, etc, yet still nice & quiet. The room was bright & and airy. It had everything we needed & was comfortable. Breakfast was very nice & best of all, was our very friendly host Linda. Many thanks for an enjoyable stay!
Steve & Tina.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheadle74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAnchorage14, Owner at Underhill Guest House, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review, really pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belper, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Thanks to Linda for making us feel very welcome,the room was immaculately clean and very cosy.The bed was very comfy with lovely bedding. Breakfast was fantastic with a good choice of cereals,fruit,frtuit salad,yoghurts etc.Followed by a very tasty cooked breakfast with again a good choice of things to eat then toast to finish.Linda offered us a plentiful supply of toast,tea coffee etc.Thoroughly recommend The Anchorage and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyEvans33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAnchorage14, Owner at Underhill Guest House, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Thank you for your glowing review, so pleased you had good time at The Anchorage. We'll look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

very friendly, rooms clean and comfortable lovely breakfast choice stayed a few times now and will return just wish there was a lift and the entrance gate was clearer away from the bushes

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank special l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAnchorage14, Owner at Underhill Guest House, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Thank you for your good review - you will be pleased to know those bushes have had a thorough prune!! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.0 mi away
Lynwood Guesthouse B&B
Lynwood Guesthouse B&B
#70 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Strathmore Guest House
Strathmore Guest House
#47 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acorn House Hotel
Acorn House Hotel
#67 of 175 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Damson Lodge
Damson Lodge
#44 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Hunters Way
#131 of 175 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tarn Hows Guest House
Tarn Hows Guest House
#88 of 175 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Underhill Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Underhill Guest House

Property: Underhill Guest House
Address: 14 Ambleside Road | Keswick, Keswick CA12 4DL, England (Formerly The Anchorage Guest House)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #152 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Underhill Guest House is situated less than 5 minutes walk from Moot Hall in Keswick town centre and has off street parking, enough for one space per room when fully booked. Our short term aim is to be excellent value for money with clean comfortable rooms, excellent breakfast and facilities. Long term, we are looking forward to putting our own stamp on the property using local suppliers, craftsmen and our own elbow grease. Keswick is a historic market town on the shores of Derwentwater and is a perfect base for hill walking, cycling, mountain biking, touring the lakes or just relaxing in the pedestrianised town square with tea and a cake. There are plenty of excellent restaurants, tea shops, cafes and pubs in Keswick to keep you topped up whilst you explore. Vanessa is an excellent cook (as my waist line can attest) and is determined to cater to any and all dietary requirements or challenges set. If you have any special requests or preferences please contact us prior to your stay and we’ll do our absolute best to accommodate you. Please have a look at the Breakfast tab to see some of our breakfast suggestions. Facilities/services provided: •Guests have free use of a private car park at the rear of the building, when we are fully booked there are enough for one parking space per room. •Breakfast is served 0700-0900. •Guest snug, a cosy place to sit with books, guide books, maps and magazines. •All rooms are ensuite, except the teeny single which has an adjacent bathroom. •Tea, Coffee and treats in the bedrooms. •Dining room is open for self service tea, coffee and cake all day. •Fridge in dining room for guest use. •Vegan and vegetarian breakfast options. •A good hair dryer and towels in the rooms. •Wifi. •Drying facilities for boots and clothes. •Secure Bike storage. •Bike wash and service equipment inc; hose, bike stand, tools. •Freeview TV (flat screen). •Some rooms have baths and showers, if you’d like one with a bath let us know. •Dressing gowns provided for those staying in the teeny single with adjacent bathroom. •Dogs by prior arrangement. Vanessa and I love Keswick, its our favourite place in the UK and I’m sure you’ll enjoy it as much as we do. If there is anything we can do for you during your stay please don’t hesitate to let us know. Hopefully we’ll see you soon, Neil ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing