We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, friendly guest house!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Underhill Guest House
Ranked #24 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 20, 2012

A lovely guest house in a great location. Close to shops, restaurants, etc, yet still nice & quiet. The room was bright & and airy. It had everything we needed & was comfortable. Breakfast was very nice & best of all, was our very friendly host Linda. Many thanks for an enjoyable stay!
Steve & Tina.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheadle74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAnchorage14, Owner at Underhill Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2012

Thank you for your lovely review, really pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 103 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2012

Thanks to Linda for making us feel very welcome,the room was immaculately clean and very cosy.The bed was very comfy with lovely bedding. Breakfast was fantastic with a good choice of cereals,fruit,frtuit salad,yoghurts etc.Followed by a very tasty cooked breakfast with again a good choice of things to eat then toast to finish.Linda offered us a plentiful supply of toast,tea coffee etc.Thoroughly recommend The Anchorage and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyEvans33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAnchorage14, Owner at Underhill Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2012

Thank you for your glowing review, so pleased you had good time at The Anchorage. We'll look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

very friendly, rooms clean and comfortable lovely breakfast choice stayed a few times now and will return just wish there was a lift and the entrance gate was clearer away from the bushes

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank special l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAnchorage14, Owner at Underhill Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2012

Thank you for your good review - you will be pleased to know those bushes have had a thorough prune!! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We stayed at the anchorage for a long weekend in mid March and dispite the typical Lakes weather enjoyed our stay. Linda was very welcoming and helpful.
Both room number 2(double) and 4(Triple) were clean and satisfactory with views of the surrounding mountains. The only down side to the Anchorage is the slightly narrow car park if you have a large car(SUV).

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lealealeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

A lovely find! We had a very pleasant stay; our room was clean, tidy and comfortable; Linda and Andrew were very welcoming; breakfast was excellent.
Would definately stay here again!

Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

The anchorage is a lovely b&b with a car park round the back. Very useful especially with all the cars parked on the street!
Linda and andrew are very nice, friendly and were very helpful.
The room was very big with a stylish en-suite. Tv with DVD player and brilliant comfy beds! A nice touch was the bookshelf on the landing and also a small DVD library as well.
The dining room was also beautifully decorated and the breakfasts were marvelous. Full English for me and salmon for my girlfriend. A very good selection for breakfasts.
The location is good too. A 2 minute walk into town and close to some very nice walks.

All in all a very enjoyable stay. Would definitely recommend everyone to stay there.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dodododojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Our eagerly anticipated stay did not meet expectations. The loft room was small, the floor sloped, items rolling down the bedside table, wardrobe was a grotty cupboard, with a previous guests discarded belongings. The 'ensuite' shower was a fight to get in each morning and evening. The television was, as a previous reviewer claimed, the smallest you couldn't see and DID NOT have a dvd player, which was a claim made by the proprieters. The landing was a noisy thoroughfare, which didnt help for an undisturbed sleep. The radiator was broken so the heat was pumping out, making it too warm.
Breakfast was ok although on one ocassion I found a rather large bone and a strand of hair.
We dont do BnB as a rule and if this is the norm then we'd rather stay at home.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.2 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#2 of 189 in Keswick
386 reviews
0 mi away
Lynwood Guesthouse B&B
Lynwood Guesthouse B&B
#67 of 189 in Keswick
268 reviews
0 mi away
Tarn Hows Guest House
Tarn Hows Guest House
#78 of 189 in Keswick
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Woodside Bed & Breakfast
Woodside Bed & Breakfast
#25 of 189 in Keswick
145 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brundholme Bed and Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Riverside Escape
Riverside Escape
#23 of 189 in Keswick
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Underhill Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Underhill Guest House

Address: 14 Ambleside Road | Keswick, Keswick CA12 4DL, England (Formerly The Anchorage Guest House)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: $95 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Underhill Guest House is situated less than 5 minutes walk from Moot Hall in Keswick town centre and has off street parking, enough for one space per room when fully booked. Our short term aim is to be excellent value for money with clean comfortable rooms, excellent breakfast and facilities. Long term, we are looking forward to putting our own stamp on the property using local suppliers, craftsmen and our own elbow grease. Keswick is a historic market town on the shores of Derwentwater and is a perfect base for hill walking, cycling, mountain biking, touring the lakes or just relaxing in the pedestrianised town square with tea and a cake. There are plenty of excellent restaurants, tea shops, cafes and pubs in Keswick to keep you topped up whilst you explore. Vanessa is an excellent cook (as my waist line can attest) and is determined to cater to any and all dietary requirements or challenges set. If you have any special requests or preferences please contact us prior to your stay and we’ll do our absolute best to accommodate you. Please have a look at the Breakfast tab to see some of our breakfast suggestions. Facilities/services provided: •Guests have free use of a private car park at the rear of the building, when we are fully booked there are enough for one parking space per room. •Breakfast is served 0700-0900. •Guest snug, a cosy place to sit with books, guide books, maps and magazines. •All rooms are ensuite, except the teeny single which has an adjacent bathroom. •Tea, Coffee and treats in the bedrooms. •Dining room is open for self service tea, coffee and cake all day. •Fridge in dining room for guest use. •Vegan and vegetarian breakfast options. •A good hair dryer and towels in the rooms. •Wifi. •Drying facilities for boots and clothes. •Secure Bike storage. •Bike wash and service equipment inc; hose, bike stand, tools. •Freeview TV (flat screen). •Some rooms have baths and showers, if you’d like one with a bath let us know. •Dressing gowns provided for those staying in the teeny single with adjacent bathroom. •Dogs by prior arrangement. Vanessa and I love Keswick, its our favourite place in the UK and I’m sure you’ll enjoy it as much as we do. If there is anything we can do for you during your stay please don’t hesitate to let us know. Hopefully we’ll see you soon, Neil ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Underhill Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing