We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central Keswick”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Abacourt Guest House
Ranked #85 of 175 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
mancheter
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Central Keswick”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Picked the Abacourt mostly by chance, to be honest, as it is Easter weekend, it was difficult to find available accommodation. The location was what grabbed us; literally down a side street halfway off Main Street, couldn't ask for a better location.
The hotel was immaculate and the owners were lovely.
We arrived around lunchtime, parked in the off road space available and dropped our things in the room. The room was two flights up and was decorated classically. It was clean, tidy and everything looked extremely well looked after. The view was stunning, and there wasn't a single noise to be heard. The bathroom was spotless, clean fluffy towels were available. We were provided with tea/coffee making facilities and bottled water.
We didn't spend much time in the room, not with how beautiful the weather was yesterday! Breakfast was served between 8.30-9.00am and we had a choice, rather than the standard cooked breakfast which you usually get. We had this as an option, of course, but also smoked salmon and eggs, egg on toast, vegetarian breakfast, along with fresh fruit, yoghurts and cereals and toast!
Nothing to complain about, lovely little B&B, perfect location for everywhere.
Couldn't ask for more! Well done, John & Heather, you keep the place beautifully.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank devillishious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    15
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
87
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We chose this B&B after reading previous reviews and could not fault it. John and Heather, the owners, were so friendly and helpful, always ready with advice for which walks to take, hills to climb etc. The room was spotless, breakfast delicious and, overall, we could not have wished for a better place to lay our heads after a good strenous walk. I would definitely return, given the opportunity.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front, if available, for the better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Third time visit means the first 2 visits we're fantastic. And there will be a fourth. Food is good and the people we're great too. Strongly recommend it. I only use another B and B when The Abacourt isn't available.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank brianwawatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Been looking to find time for a break and to use The Abacourt as we are old friends of the owners, John & Heather. This weekend we were lucky to book room #1 with the bay window. All the rooms are clean, well decorated and excellent B&B standard.
Our room had the chairs in the window to enable a quiet cuppa and watch the world go by or watch the weather over the distant hills.
Breakfast was excellent too which one would expect from an experienced top chef which I know John is! His photography adorning the walls is eye catching too.
We've already booked two more weekends.
Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JSR007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

I would highly recommend this B&B to friends and family. During our stay, we found this house to be superbly comfortable and well-maintained. Our room and bathroom were spacious and perfectly clean. The room had nice cabinet space and comfortable chairs. The bed was comfortable and the sleep was excellent in this quiet neighborhood.

The breakfast room was bright and pleasant. The breakfast was tasty and filling, with an additional buffet of cereals, yogurts, and fresh fruits.

The owners are both quite pleasant and engaging, and they gave good information about the area, including walks in the surroundings and the theater. Furthermore, when we made the reservation they provided excellent information about train and bus connections, including sending the web site for the regional bus.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ruppbenn_traveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumbarton
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

This was our third stay and unfortunately was only for one night. However, we were treated as warmly as if it had been longer. Great room with views to Skiddaw and Cat bells when the weather allowed! Keswick is excellent to visit at any time of year and the Abacourt being only 2 minutes walk from the centre of town is an ideal base with the off street parking being a real advantage. We will be staying there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We had a lovely stay at the Abacourt guest house. The rooms are cosy and comfortable and the breakfast was superb!Great central location as close to town centre but off main street so quiet and peaceful at night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.2 mi away
Highfield Hotel
Highfield Hotel
#6 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brundholme Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Dolly Waggon Guest House
Dolly Waggon Guest House
#95 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Clarence House
Clarence House
#11 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eden Green Guest House
Eden Green Guest House
#101 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dunsford Guest House
Dunsford Guest House
#29 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abacourt Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abacourt Guest House

Property: Abacourt Guest House
Address: 26 Stanger Street, Keswick CA12 5JU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Abacourt Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are assured a warm, friendly and informal welcome to our, Visit England; 4 Star Silver & Breakfast Award Winning Traditional Lakeland Victorian Guest House. All five of our rooms are double bedded with full en-suite facilities. Free Wi-Fi available for guests. Abacourt is situated very close to the centre of Keswick, just a less than a 2 minute walk from its many shops, cafes, bars, restaurants and numerous other attractions and amenities, yet we are located in a cul-de-sac which makes for quiet evenings. Keswick is a great place to explore from on foot; a walk can start from our doorstep. We have guide books and maps you can borrow, whether your wish a gentle low level walk or something more demanding.Car parking in Keswick is at a great premium. To the rear of the house there is private off street parking. May we take this opportunity to point out that Abacourt is strictly NON-SMOKING. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Abacourt Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing