We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Stay in Beautiful Area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Abacourt Guest House
Ranked #100 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We spent two nights in Keswick on our three week trip through the UK in June 2010. John and Heather were wonderful hosts. They answered all of our questions about the area and recommended activities including the theater and the launch on Derwentwater. Their breakfasts were fantastic. The Abacourt was a comfortable, pleasant place to stay. If I ever have the chance to return to the Lakes District I will definitely seek reservations there.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kolekona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 111 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2011

My husband and I had a weekend in Keswick as a birthday treat (for him). Being a big Bond Fan I planned a weekend around a trip to the Bond Museum which is located in Keswick. We stayed at Abacourt on Stanger Street which is literally a two or three minute walk from the centre of Keswick. John & Heather are very welcoming and the place is lovely, very clean, comfortable and we had a lovely breakfast on both days. If you are planning to visit Keswick I would highly recommend this guest house both for its welcome and its location. While you are there check of the chocolate shop and have a boat trip on the lake. Wonderful ! I would also recommend the Royal Pavillion Indian restraunt, lovely food and great value, and look out for the guy in the market place giving out flyers with 30% off !

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv-the-lights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

We just loved Keswick and our 3-night stay at Abacourt House was great. The B & B has a good location and is very comforting. The rooms are lovely, being spotlessly clean with good bathroom and shower facilities. Heather and John were lovely hosts and nothing was too much trouble. They provided a sumptuous breakfast with lots of variety and gave us good dining-out tips for Keswick. Many of our fellow travellers were return guests who stayed at Abacourt House every time they visited the Lake District and we now know why!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jollyoldies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

We chose Abacourt from a variety of Bed & Breakfast venues on Stanger Street for an overnight stay. We were not disappointed! We could not have had a more friendly welcome than the one we received from hosts, Heather and John. The room was spotless, with many nice finishing touches. The Breakfast was equally satisfying, very well cooked and of ample proportions. A lovely find amongst many Keswick lodging offerings!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roblin186394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2010

We booked to stay one night (Saturday) at 1pm the same day!! That in inself is a result for the Lake District. Many BnB's will only do 2 nights at a weekend. John was very helpful on the phone and came out to meet us when we arrived early evening. He directed my OH into the tight parking space and took our bags for us.
We had room 3 at the front/top of the house. We have stayed in Keswick many times and this was the most comfy, roomy, spacious room we have experienced. As previousl mentioned by others, there is no issue with cleanliness and the bathroom was beautifully finished with plenty of room for your own toileteries etc. (Although toileteries are provided).
We are not 'full Englis breakfast' types preferring the tea and toast approach - both in plentiful supply.
John and Heather were perfect hosts and I only wish we had stayed longer,
Abacourt will be our first choice for our next visit to Keswick. Abacourst is ideally placed for all Keswick has to offer.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

Abacourt House in Keswick is the perfect place to base yourself on a short getaway to the Lakes District. John and Heather are great, welcoming hosts, the rooms are spacious and tidy and the breakfast very tasty. We drove up from London on a Friday night and arrived quite late, however John was still ready to greet us when we arrived. Having the private car park is very handy, although note its a very tight squeeze to get your car in. John is an expert at manoeuvring cars into the car park spaces so feel free to give him the keys rather than embarrass yourself.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LilSco24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2010

I loved ,loved Keswick!! Our stay at the Abacourt house was fantastic the rooms are good sized and very clean. Yes, we had parking and the laundry place was not far from Abacourt. We got great trips on some wonderful hikes from John. Our breakfast was very good.
Yes, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njohughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.9 mi away
Woodside Bed & Breakfast
Woodside Bed & Breakfast
#26 of 189 in Keswick
144 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#2 of 189 in Keswick
383 reviews
5.2 mi away
The White Horse Inn Bunkhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
760 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
647 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abacourt Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abacourt Guest House

Address: 26 Stanger Street, Keswick CA12 5JU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: $117 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Abacourt Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are assured a warm, friendly and informal welcome to our, Visit England; 4 Star Silver & Breakfast Award Winning Traditional Lakeland Victorian Guest House. All five of our rooms are double bedded with full en-suite facilities. Free Wi-Fi available for guests. Abacourt is situated very close to the centre of Keswick, just a less than a 2 minute walk from its many shops, cafes, bars, restaurants and numerous other attractions and amenities, yet we are located in a cul-de-sac which makes for quiet evenings. Keswick is a great place to explore from on foot; a walk can start from our doorstep. We have guide books and maps you can borrow, whether your wish a gentle low level walk or something more demanding.Car parking in Keswick is at a great premium. To the rear of the house there is private off street parking. May we take this opportunity to point out that Abacourt is strictly NON-SMOKING. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Abacourt Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing