We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Avondale Guest House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lyzzick Hall Hotel(Castlerigg)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (402)
Filter reviews
402 results
Traveler rating
395
6
0
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
395
6
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblack puddingguest houseb bfresh milk deliveredlake districtlittle touchesquiet streetmuesliplace is spotlessmoment you arriveperfect hostslovely couplewarm welcomea great stayrooms were very cleanlovely guesthousewide choice
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
263 - 268 of 402 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Stayed while on a walking trip through the lakes with my partner. The place was immaculate. Bedrooms very modern and shower was great! Very comfy bed too. Breakfast was superb.....a choice of cereal and fruits followed by a choice of cooked breakfast. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to anyone visiting Keswick.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cathypud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catbells50, Owner at Avondale Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to write such a glowing review. The quality of our beds are often commented on and we're glad that you had such a comfortable nights sleep. You certainly deserved it from all your walking! We're also happy to see that our award winning breakfasts continue to delight our guests. When you're in the area again, we look forward to seeing you on a return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Having just spent 2 nights here, I cannot fault it. The proprietress are so welcoming, attentive and friendly. Its like being at home. Clean, comfortable and very relaxed atmosphere. Wonderful breakfasts. Will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catbells50, Owner at Avondale Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Thank you for taking time to review our guest house. It's great to know that our guests feel comfortable and relaxed while here. we feel it's very important that they do. Glad you enjoyed the breakfasts! Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

I have stayed at Avondale on several occasions and each one has been better the last. The dining room has had a lovely makeover, the breakfast is still superb, and the lovely Linda is still the most welcoming hostess I have ever met.

A fantastic night sleep in luxurious sheets.

Room Tip: I have not slept in 3 different rooms and i could not really say one was better than the other, they have all be really comfortable.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yogawalk54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catbells50, Owner at Avondale Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to give such a nice review on our guesthouse. It's really appreciated. We're so pleased that you always enjoy your stays here. The newly refurbished dining room is getting a lot of compliments. Always good to hear that our guests have a lovely sleep. Hope to see you sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

You can't beat this guest house! Stephen and Linda are so welcoming. We stayed for the New Year, bottle of bubbly chilling on arrival and the chocolates in the room the following day were a lovely touch (both went down very well!). Newly refurbished dining room looks great, love the fireplace.Theres plenty of choice for breakfast and everything is presented very well and tastes absolutely delicious. We always enjoy staying here, Stephen and Linda can't do enough for you. Came in a couple of days clothes dripping wet and there they were waiting to dry them for us. We've stayed here quite a few times over the past two and a half years and wouldn't dream of going to Keswick and staying anywhere else. Its central for everything, town, lake,and walks. Rooms are very comfortable and immaculately clean. We've even stayed while Stephen has been refurbishing some of the rooms and its still been spotless. Can't fault anything (except Stephens dart playing! keep practices for when we come again Stephen. Such a lovely couple. Look forward to seeing you both again soon. x

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catbells50, Owner at Avondale Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

We just can't keep you away! Not that we'd want to of course, as it's always such fun to see you both. We put a lot of work into the refurbishment of the dining room, so it's heart-warming to hear that guests like yourselves love it so much. That's just about the whole guest house that's been made over. Will we take a rest now? The boss says no! See you soon hopefully and thanks for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

If you want a B&B in Keswick in Keswick, you cannot do better than stay at Avondale, run by Linda and Stephen. The breakfast is outstanding, both in style and content: whisky-soaked porridge, a lavish choice of fruits, nuts and seeds and any combination of the full English or Scottish. The bedrooms are immaculate, a warm and cosy retreat after a day on the fells.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmilyRose1595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catbells50, Owner at Avondale Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

How nice of you to take the time to write a review. Thank you! It's great to hear that you enjoyed your visit so much. Lets hope you manage to stay with us again and we have the chance to make you feel warm and cosy once more :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews