We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fully justifies the excellent rating” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avondale Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Avondale Guest House
Ranked #9 of 177 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fully justifies the excellent rating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

Very welcoming and friendly hosts. Spotless room. Lovely shower. Breakfast to die for. You must try the stornaway black pudding. Really friendly breakfast room. Met another couple and had a great time walking and drinking. Don't believe the owner if he says his granny could do the catbells walk :-) we made it but legs are sore! Thank you Steve and Linda for a lovely time. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catbells50, Owner at Avondale Guest House, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you for your very kind review. Your right - the haggis is good but the Stornoway black pudding is stunning. You packed a lot into the short time you stayed with us and really enjoyed yourselves. Now that you've had some practise on the nursery slopes, :-) , we can set you a proper challenge when you visit us again. Looking forward to seeing you both in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
34
178
28
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Troon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

My wife and I have no hesitation in recommending this guest house far above several others we have used in Keswick over the years. Stephen and Linda could not have done more to make our stay more comfortable. The room and breakfast were as described and better, so we have already booked to stay there in July next year.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catbells50, Owner at Avondale Guest House, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thank you for posting your review. It really cheers us up when we see that somebody has enjoyed their stay with us. Not that we need cheering up when we have such fantastic guests as yourselves visiting! It's especially nice when the review comes from somebody who has stayed at many guest houses here and decides to book again before their stay is even over. Looking forward to seeing you both again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

We were welcomed and shown to a lovely room, clean, well presented, modern. Breakfasts were excellent, catering for gluten free, warm hospitality always, keen to tell us where to go to maximize our stay in the Lake District. The only negative is the car parking can be a little challenging in the street but not impossible.

We would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Any room would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaguar1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Avondale Guest House, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our guest house. Nice to hear that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed our award winning breakfasts. We do try to cater for specialised diets as far as we can. It helps that Linda is both vegetarian and gluten intolerant, so we always have a good selection in the cupboard. Sorry about the parking. It's the old Victorian streets built for horses and carts but they are lovely all the same. Hope you enjoyed Fort William.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

We have just returned from a 4 day stay in Keswick. Stephen and Linda have been excellent hosts, extremely welcoming and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble.
Our room was immaculate and comfortable. Location excellent - just a very short walk from the town centre but in a nice peaceful street, with very easy access to beautiful walks from the door step.
Breakfast - well what can i say - so much to choose from and perfectly cooked, a real treat and certainly set us up for a hard days walking!
The weather was very wet but we were always looked after when we returned with hot drinks and our wet clothes and boots dried ready for the next day.
Stephen and Linda - thank you very much for making our stay so enjoyable and i'm sure we will be returning to your excellent guest house in the beautiful Lake District.
Sharon and Dawn

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon07072012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Avondale Guest House, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thanks Sharon and Dawn for taking time out to write a review. It's very much appreciated. We're happy that you both enjoyed your stay and didn't let the weather dampen your spirits. Well done for conquering Scafell Pike. Onwards and upwards girls! Look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

Having just returned on 1st July 2012 from a 2 night stay for the second time, I have to say this place just gets better. Linda and Stephen gave us an exceptionally warm welcome and remembered us well - even though they must get hundreds of guests passing through their door. Their friendliness as hosts is superb. The room (No. 4) has been re-vamped and the en-suite has a new bathroom suite and decor - it looks fantastic - very contemporary. We had a very good sleep on both nights stay. The breakfasts are wonderful - lots of choice, freshly cooked and plentiful. This couple really do go the extra mile to make each guest feel welcome and comfortable. Without hesitation, this is our first choice on our next visit to Keswick. Thank you very much Linda and Stephen.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IndecisiveYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Avondale Guest House, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Many thanks for reviewing us once more. It was so nice to see you both again and great to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. The upgraded en-suites certainly are hitting the mark with our guests. With a bit of luck they should al be finished by Spring next year. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

I stayed here whilst completing the Cumbria Way and was very much welcomed by Linda and Stephen, eventhough I was quite wet and exhausted after walking all day. Linda made me a hot drink and came to sit and chat with me on arrival which was a lovely touch. The hosts could not have been more welcoming and the room/house any cleaner! The breakfast was superb...I had a Full Scottish which was delicious and the best quality ingredients used. It set me up for the day. I would recommend staying here to anyone and the rooms are so well equipped...nothing more could be done to make your stay more comfortable. Thank you x

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lmcclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Avondale Guest House, responded to this review, June 24, 2012
Congratulations on completing The Cumbrian Way and thank you for your fantastic review. It certainly was a very wet weekend. We were more than happy to dry you out and make you as comfortable as possible. Hope you manage to visit us again for a relaxing break!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

The guest was nicely located for the town centre. The rooms were immaculate and our bathroom newly fitted, good shower. Breakfast was great. Service was also superb, after a very wet bike ride the lady of the house took all our muddy clothes and dried them ready for the next day. I will visit again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SMofWorcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Avondale Guest House, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. You may like to know that thanks to guests like yourself writing such nice reviews, we have just been presented with a highly prized Certificate of Excellence from Tripadvisor. We try our best to look after our wet guests; we get quite a few of them but we're not often asked to hose them down while fully clothed ! The lady of the house thanks you for remarking on how clean the rooms were and looks forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
0.2 mi away
LakeSide House
LakeSide House
#12 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Thornleigh Guest House
Thornleigh Guest House
#3 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.1 mi away
Honister House
Honister House
#8 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarence House
Clarence House
#7 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avondale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avondale Guest House

Property: Avondale Guest House
Address: 20 Southey Street, Keswick CA12 4EF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Avondale Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avondale Guest House is a traditional Victorian townhouse located less than 2 minutes walk from Keswick town centre. We have 4 Doubles, 1 Twin and 1 Single room. All rooms are fully refurbished with en-suite facilities. Visit England Breakfast Award since 2012 and Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence Award since 2012. Variety of breakfast options available including Full English and Vegetarian options and is included in quoted rates. Special diets catered for. Free Wi-Fi available. We provide free bottled water in your room along with fresh milk delivered daily. Rooms are currently being equipped with USB sockets for charging purposes. We offer direct booking discounts as well as seasonal special offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Avondale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing