We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rude service, average food”
Review of Salsa Mexican Bistro - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Salsa Mexican Bistro
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“rude service, average food”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

I am absolutely appalled by the hospitality of this restaurant. While attending a Birthday dinner with some friends, we were looking for a light bite to eat. A couple of friends had decided to order from a 'party menu' and as arriving slightly later than the others we were pressurized into ordering from this £15 a head meal (drinks not included.) When asking if we could share between 2 we were sternly told no.

Would not recommend eating here, adequate food and rude service.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank f00dlover2456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    42
    19
    19
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Surprising find”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Tucked away, with only 1 table occupied on an otherwise crowded night in Keswick - we were not hopeful.... The food was honest and flavoursome. No child meals, but range of tapas soon fixed that. Prices ok and drinks range good. Now we know you can get a table easily, we will frequent regularly I suspect. That's assuming it can survive the low visitor numbers this winter. Would recommend.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank juliet h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A taste of something different in Keswick”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Me and my wife had dinner at the Salsa Mexican Bistro as we fancied something different from the norm in Keswick. We had not eaten here before and on arrival the restaurant is small and quaint with separate areas for reception and dining.

We had the combination platter for a starter which was a mix of the tapas available on the menu. I have to admit most items on the platter were deep fried and possibly out of a packet, but the ribs were excellent (if I was to visit again I’d opt for the ribs without hesitation). We followed this with the Shredded Chilli Chicken Burrito which was excellent. It was exactly how I imaged it, the burrito was packed full of filling and was nicely toasted to give some crunch. The portion size was generous and the price paid fair.

The service was polite and unobtrusive and I found it quite quirky that you sat downstairs with your drinks and when your food was ready you were taken upstairs. I would imagine if it were busier this system would change but I found it a nice touch.

I would definitely visit again in the future as the food was good and it is something different from the normal pub grub in Keswick.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AWSL1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Service Without a Smile”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We were a group of 10 out for a 60th. We got to the restaurant and it was still locked up. When we got in and seated we ordered from the party menu. The starters were OK but the chicken on the main course was awful. It was tasteless and thought it was reheated. The waitresses were miserable and the food was awful. On a positive note we only had to pay for half the food bill.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kategib83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“No suprise its up for sale”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Came here and had a meal with some work colleagues, odd lay-out & organisation. Food expensive & not good quality for a Mexican - not surprised to see its up for sale. Hopefully someone can inspire an improvements, Keswick could do with a decent & authentic Mexican. Unlikely to return under current ownership.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DerwentwaterGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salsa Mexican Bistro also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Penrith, Eden District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing