We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Another excellent stay”
other travelers have booked this property
The lounge with TV/DVD and stereo
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The lounge with TV/DVD and stereo
The bedroom with roll top bath and king size bed, with access through French doors to the garden Luxurious roll top bath
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
The lounge with TV/DVD and stereo
The bedroom with roll top bath and king size bed, with access through French doors to the garden
Luxurious roll top bath
Kitchen with built in appliances (fridge/freezer, oven, hob, microwave) and all utensils, crockery
Bathroom with walk in shower, toilet and hand basin
The old vicarage of which the Parsonage is part.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Kendal, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Steve K
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Another excellent stay”
Reviewed October 20, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

3rd time here and always a quiet, comfortable stay. The apartment is well equipped for a couple with a very comfortable bed. Plenty of storage space and a well equipped kitchen and great shower. It is also well placed for a short walk into town. Will be back next year.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 23, 2017
We really love our guests that return time and time again. Thank you so much, you are always so welcome and we look forward to your return visit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location for our family get together”
Reviewed October 18, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Amazing location, perfect for Kendal town centre. Very comfortable and homely apartment. Lovely touches of wine and yummy Kendal mint cake.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 6, 2018
Thank You so much for your review, so pleased you enjoyed your stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valerie P
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful property in a beautiful town”
Reviewed October 2, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The Parsonage is a beautiful old building sectioned off into 4 (I think) homes, there is parking outside of the parsonage, the large lounge room is very homely and comfortable, the kitchen has everything you need - from fridge freezer to microwave, toaster, oven, grill, hob, small table for 2 and all the utensils you would find at home! The bed is comfortable and the roll top bath in the bedroom is an added bonus to the shower room.
Dogs are welcome and our Vinyl found the bay window a great place to sleep and watch the world go by - there is a secure private garden which he could play in without us worrying that he would escape.
The only things we had to buy were oil (for frying bacon and eggs) and tomato sauce!!
There is a lovely traditional pub 5 mins round the corner called The Castle Inn - very friendly, clean and comfortable with basic but very nice food, again dogs welcome!
It was only a ten minute stroll to the town centre and a lovely walk uphill to the castle from just along the road to The Parsonage.
We were unlucky with the weather (it rained every day) but we still put on our waterproof coats and went out exploring!
Boness on Windermere was a 20 minute drive away but we did notice you could get a train to Windermere and buses.
Not much more to say - just a perfect base for two, homely, comfortable well thought out accommodation - we will definitely go back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 23, 2017
Hi Valerie, thankyou very much for writing a lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Parsonage, despite the Lakeland weather! Please do come and visit again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pear13
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed July 6, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The apartment is ideally situated to walk in to Kendal. The kitchen is well provided with crockery, cooking utensils, in fact everything needed was there. We ate out each night but if we'd eaten in, we'd have found the stools and breakfast bar uncomfortable. A pity a small table wasn't available as there was ample room in the lounge. The shower is good although, as we have found in many rental apartments, there is nowhere to put toiletries in the bathroom. Also, the fan is very noisy and stays on for quite a while.
We enjoyed our stay and found it very quiet and relaxing. The French doors onto the small yard are lovely, especially on sunny days( as we had).

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 2, 2017
Thankyou so much for your review of The Parsonage. We have asked guests in the past if they thought a bistro set in the lounge would be be used and the response we have had is not really, a second sofa and clear view out of the bay window was seen as preferable. Most guests do like to eat out anyway but perhaps we may consider this is in the future. The breakfast bar is an added extra in the kitchen area. There is the vanity cupboard in the bathroom for toiletries and yes the fan is a little noisy we are sorry if this was an issue.

We appreciate the time you have taken to write your review.

Thankyou and best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretH...
Margaret River, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful private space”
Reviewed July 2, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Extremely well decorated with all the amenities that you would need. Easy walk into town and nice walk up to the ruins of Kendal Castle. We loved it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 2, 2017
The castle is lovely isn't it! Thankyou for such a lovely review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Parsonage.

Many thanks and best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 21, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 2, 2017
Thankyou for such a lovely review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
lbower
stockport
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location, lovely apartment and great for the dog.”
Reviewed June 21, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Great apartment, plenty of room with lovely details and a nice touch to find wine and chocolates left for us. Couldn't fault it at all and the fact Kendal Castle was 5 mins from the door was doggie heaven for our Cass. Kendal has a good variety of shops only 10 mins away and of course being the gateway to the Lakes makes it an ideal base.

We would definitely stay again and recommend friend of this relaxing place to stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 1, 2017
Thankyou for a lovely review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your time at The Parsonage and enjoyed all that Kendal and The Lakes have to offer.

Best wishes and hopefully see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing