We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mason Arms

Mason Arms
Ranked #41 of 146 Restaurants in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
wirral
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Visited the mason arms on a busy saturday evening and had the nicest meal for a long time.
Could not fault the food, service and most importantly the cost which was value for money considering the location of the pub

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stevieWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    26
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great cosy bar food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Seven of us ranging from 19 - 54 in age had a great meal here. If offers a more interesting evening menu than many a bar would. My son said it was the best lamb he had eaten as it fell of the bone. The starters were all warmly received.The atmosphere was very old worldly and cosy. A real must when visiting the Lake District. Almost an institution!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Angela31Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“dinner @ mason”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We had a late dinner at the Mason Arms.......nice setting with a good selection of beers, log fire etc but the food was only OK.........overdone lamb shank......the fish was better though

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yclee77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Delicious Boxing Day Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Impromptu lunch on Boxing Day at The Masons Arms - we hadnt booked, but food was absolutely delicious. I have stayed here in the past - have lovely rooms, as well as delicious food

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Julia75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Welcome meal after long walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

The pub is a little out of the way and I was very hungry and wet on arrival. I was made most welcome and offers a taste of the local brew to help me in my choice. I had an excellent plate of fish and chips and pint of a beer whose name now escapes me. Two old fashioned ranges provided moor than enough heat even on this ery cold evening and added to the very pleasant atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stuarttoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mason Arms also viewed

 
Kendal, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Winster, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to Mason Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing