We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place”

Low Sizergh Barn Tea Room
Ranked #2 of 8 Coffee & Tea in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $14
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Denmead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
323 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for somewhere to goblin the pouring rain, it is in the Lake District after all. There is a large but nice tearoom upstairs and a farm shop downstairs. Tea room was great. Even though it was busy there was plenty of staff and we got a table with no problem and very prompt and friendly table service. Our coffee and cake were lovely. There is a viewing gallery in the tearoom and apparently at 15:45 you can watch the cows being milked so we will be back later in the week to see this.

One word of advice. The turn off the A591 comes as a bit of a surprise so take it easy once you start seeing the signs on the left hand side

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Superships1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    149
    56
    26
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“lovely lucnch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Fresh homemade food nice surrounding and balcony view of the cows being milked. Ideal for families and adults. There is no lift and the café is upstairs so if disabled may cause a problem

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pollo1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Family friendly fantastic setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Lovely food selection of sandwiches and cooked lunches and fantastic cakes, family friendly can watch the cows being milked from your table. Farm walks, interesting farm shop and gift shop ,a bit pricey but good quality

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deniseq32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Cakes and Cows”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We took our grandson to Tea Rooms so watch the cows being milked whilst enjoying some delicious cake and cup of tea. You can also get light meals and snacks.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Edith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolton
Level Contributor
135 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Had a fab lunch, bacon and cheese on ciabatta with salad, and ham sandwich with salad and potatoe wedges, then a piece of Victoria sponge, all the food was excellent especially the wedges and the cake was the best sponge I have had in a long time, would definatlely recommend and will be going agian

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank bevgerrard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Low Sizergh Barn Tea Room also viewed

 
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to Low Sizergh Barn Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing