We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Hen House -Old Hutton”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Hen House

Lovely views over the surrounding countryside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lovely views over the surrounding countryside
Fresh eggs daily (hens willing!)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
44 reviews
Lovely views over the surrounding countryside
Fresh eggs daily (hens willing!)
Take a peak inside the nesting boxes and help yourself to eggs
Stunning sunsets
Outdoor space with patio and chairs
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kendal, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
SarahJane...
1 review
“The Hen House -Old Hutton”
Reviewed August 1, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Excellent accommodation tucked away from the crowds. You're made to very welcome by the owner and the hens!! Cosy, warm and welcoming. An ideal place to recharge after a day walking and exploring the Lake District. Idyllic

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 3, 2017
thanks for the lovely review Sarah and we're delighted you enjoyed your stay

Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 16, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 17, 2017
Hi Sue - thanks for the lovely review. We've added 2 rescue hens to the coop and they are settling in nicely.

Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paul C
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great pet-friendly Lakes home from home.”
Reviewed June 15, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

A small apartment type home from home approx 4 miles from Kendal, The Hen House is I believe an actual renovated hen house situated on a small farm, ideal location for those who enjoy the quiet life. A spacious living-room/kitchen-diner, two bedrooms one with double the other two singles and a small but adequate shower-room. Outside there is a small seating area and a good sized paddock for your dog to have a safe run=about. My wife and I with our dog JD managed to pack loads into our three day/night stay. It is an ideal base to travel around the Lake- District. We would return each evening ready to relax with a glass of wine and something to eat and plan for the next day. Mark and Lesley are a great couple who just let us get on with things but were always available to answer any questions and give advice as to the best places to go for take-aways, restaurants and pubs to go to if we preferred to go out for a drink. Thank you both for a great few days and we all hope to visit and stay again in the future.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 15, 2017
Thanks for taking the time to write a review Paul, it's much appreciated and we would love to welcome you all back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHRISTINE...
Addlestone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Home from home, including family pet dog.”
Reviewed June 6, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Wonderful cottage in an ideal situation. Views from the cottage are marvellous and Lesley & Mark are most friendly & helpful. Lovely walks for the dog. Sad news that the hens had been killed the weekend we arrived by an angry fox. The Hen House has everything you could want for a holiday stay and the rooms were very comfortable. Would most definitely stay again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 6, 2017
Thank you for the lovely review and we're delighted you felt so at home. We do have some new chicks that are growing fast, although it will be a few months before we see any eggs!

Hope to see you again
Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 9, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 11, 2017
Hi Katie, thanks for the review, you were great guests.

cheers
Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Barbara96...
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage”
Reviewed January 5, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We found the Hen House to be a lovely little cottage, really cosy and comfortable with lots of homely touches. Everything we needed for a break away with our dogs. We only managed 1 night here as we had a plumbing emergency at home so didn't get to try the local pubs etc. We will come back again as it's in a great location for sightseeing in the Lakes as we felt really at home here.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 5, 2017
Thanks for the lovely review Barbara and hope all was dry when you got home. Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 3, 2017
Thank you for the lovely review and hope to see you again sometime.
Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing