We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mr”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Hen House

Lovely views over the surrounding countryside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lovely views over the surrounding countryside
Fresh eggs daily (hens willing!)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
35 reviews
Lovely views over the surrounding countryside
Fresh eggs daily (hens willing!)
Take a peak inside the nesting boxes and help yourself to eggs
Stunning sunsets
Outdoor space with patio and chairs
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kendal, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Paul B
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Mr”
Reviewed October 16, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

A really lovely cottage in idyllic location. 2 adults and 2 children would be very comfortable staying here. We loved it. Very friendly owner. We will be recommending this cottage to our friends and may stay again ourselves next summer

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 17, 2016
Thanks for such a super review and we look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kevdale19...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Needed break”
Reviewed September 18, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for a short break was absolutely idea great location and very nice clean and everything you need you really couldn't ask for more fresh hen eggs and we even owe for a tub of clover as we forgot to pack only problem I have now is my wife wants chickens as they came to door every day
Thanks for a great relax

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 19, 2016
Thanks for the great review and I'll be sure to let you know when we have some chicks available :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hankypank...
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Lovely little cottage in a beautiful place.”
Reviewed September 7, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Perfect for the two of us and our 3 pugs. Visited Kirkby Lonsdale, Kendal, Windermere and Coniston. Cottage was very clean and well thought out. No complaints from us. Chickens were cute. Lovely pub, station inn nearby too.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 9, 2016
thanks for the great review
lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave W
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great location for lake district (south)”
Reviewed August 22, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Three of us stayed for a week, excellent location for touring the area, comfortable and friendly, if a little compact (suitcases had to be stored in the car) but we managed well, the eggs were a real treat, could not be fresher! Lovely view from front and Woodland Trust site access just a few metres down the road and to the rear, great for families to explore and picnic! Kirkby Lonsdale just 7 miles away beautiful town with lots to do and good walking, cafes are worth a punt too, great holiday! Thanks Lesley, our worthy host.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: access
Liked least: slightly cramped
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 23, 2016
Hi Dave - the eggs are indeed straight from hen to you and you can taste the difference.

Hope to see you again sometime
Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pambaker2...
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage, well equipped and in lovely peaceful location.”
Reviewed August 16, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Lovely, well equipped cottage in a quiet, peaceful location.
Ideally situated for our dog, with good local walks from the door.
Well situated for The Lakes or the beautiful town of Kirkby Lonsdale. A gem of a place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 18, 2016
thanks for such a super review
Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 4, 2016
Thanks for the wonderful review. You were ideal guests and we really wanted to keep your son! :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Karen B
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved our stay in the Hen House”
Reviewed July 24, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Just back from a lovely holiday in your cottage. It was exactly what we were expecting. So cute and everything we needed. So homely and clean and welcoming. Would recommend a stay in your home to anyone. Nice and central for attractions in the Lakes.Loved the chickens also.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Whole experience
Liked least: Would have loved WiFi but was not expecting it
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 25, 2016
Hi Karen - delighted you had a lovely holiday and thank you for leaving the place so clean and tidy. Hope to see you again some time.
Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing