We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect home from home”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
79 reviews
Market Place Hideaway
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kendal, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 79 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mimzy707
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect home from home”
Reviewed March 3, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I travel a great deal for work and so absolutely hate hotels. I like to find somewhere nice and comfortable where I can feel at home and relax after a hard day's work. This delightful, quirky little cottage is perfect. It's filled with little homely touches that make you feel comfortable and at home, just how I like it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwkitchen...
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect place”
Reviewed February 25, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
2
people found this review helpful

This perfect wee cottage right in the heart of kendal is brilliant.
From the hidden location a few paces under the archway and wow your in the bustling shopping streets of kendal.
The cottage was prepared immaculately for our arrival and the quality of fitments very high. Lots of books and videos ,and even stuff for my 6yr old daughter to enjoy.
The owner is very quick to reply to messages, helpful & really friendly.
Warm cosy compact and clean with great location -the perfect holiday cottage.
Definitely 100% will stay there again. Many thanks Lyne for sharing your lovely cottage and giving my Irish family a memorable holiday.
Loved the rain !!
Jeff & the girls

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 26, 2017
Many thanks Jeff much appreciated look forward to welcoming you back in the future Lynn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald W
1 review
“The name 'Hideaway' says it all!”
Reviewed February 9, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We stayed for four nights in this wonderful little cottage just off the Market Place in Kendal town centre. We couldn't believe how quiet it was considering the Wednesday market was in full swing when we stepped through the gate in the morning. The cottage was warm, inviting and spotlessly clean when we arrived and there was a nice 'welcome' pack left for us of milk, coffee, tea and biscuits.
The bed linen in this cottage has to have a mention because it was the best we have ever seen in a self-catering establishment. Plenty of fluffy white towels too.
Will definitely book again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helengran...
Lagos, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent. Cosy, comfortable and welcoming with many personal touches.”
Reviewed January 2, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
2
people found this review helpful

This property could not be more central, it is close to everything... shops,bars, restaurants, pubs, cafes and museums. Kendal is a vibrant town. However there is no noise at all even when the weekly market is on. Modern, clean and comfortable. Warm with central heating and a fire. Satellite TV. Well equipped kitchen. But it is the personal touches which make this property special. Games, books, maps, dvd's and as we were staying during the Christmas period the owners had very tastefully decorated with Christmas decorations. Plus the milk!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ldn792016
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a little gem!”
Reviewed December 16, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

I cannot rate this wonderful little cottage highly enough. Just off the market place, it is in the centre of all Kendal's attractions, and yet when you close the door it's so quiet. I needed to contact the owner on arrival and she was available at the end of the phone instantly. Everything asked for (feather duvet and pillows etc) was provided.
I spent three weeks there and it was the ideal place at the end of a day's work, and yet when I had "me" time was close to the centre of Kendal (and it's market on Wednesday and Saturday) and all the surrounding countryside. Will definitely book it when I come up to Kendal again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoveTrave...
1 review
“Mr”
Reviewed November 14, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Great location in the heart of Kendal town centre. Cosy interior and reasonably priced. Great base for being able to just pop out and about around Kendal.
Really helpful in answering questions before we arrived including could we bring our 8 month old baby. Would have been a struggle with toddler but worked fine for a baby as well equiped and thought through interior design.
Only advice would be do your research on how to get from suggested parking spot to the apartment as it is literally hidden away the first time you try to find it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dreamer64...
1 review
“Ms”
Reviewed November 9, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We know Kendal fairly well but had no idea that this little secluded nook exsisted! We spent a week there with my two daughters and had a really lovely, relaxing and extremely comfortable holiday for a very reasonable price too. The cottage is small as you'd expect but really well designed with lots of attention to detail. We had everything we needed, beautifully presented and felt very much at home. Great touches were the milk in the fridge, tea, coffee and a nice selection of biscuits! We also liked the little sensor night lights, a comforting touch for the kids.
Despite being right next to the market square you can barely hear any noise, even sat in the beautiful little garden. We had good weather and were amazed walking out literally a few feet from the back door at the hustle and bustle in the square, straight from the tranquility of the cottage.
The location is fab being on the doorstep of the whole of the Lakes but if you decide to keep things simple and low key Kendal itself has loads on offer, all within walking distance.
All in all a perfect holiday for our needs, will be going again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing