We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect weekend in an amazing property.”
other travelers have booked this property
1
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
1
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
43 reviews
1
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Kendal, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
paulaE959...
St Helens, United Kingdom
1 review
“A perfect weekend in an amazing property.”
Reviewed May 17, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The property was stunning. Everyone in the group was delighted by it. The owners were really friendly and helpful. I would certainly visit there again.

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house
Liked least: It was a little difficult to find
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne H
2 reviews
“Wonderful,for a family get together”
Reviewed April 29, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

House very well presented and an ideal place for a large group to stay. Welcoming touches included fresh flowers and fuel for the wood burner. Would consider booking again for family get holidays. We were also able to take my daughter's dog with us.. A fantastic short break had by all of us.

Date of stay: April 2016
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferrys333
County Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“stunning property not sure about pets allowed”
Reviewed October 26, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We rented this property for my mothers 60th, the property definitely had the wow factor nice rustic and comfortable. Owner very pleasant on arrival (fresh milk provided and also fresh flowers which was a nice touch). Facilities spot on everything you needed for a hassle free stay. Property was clean, linen and towels provided, comfortable beds everyone slept well. The only downside was owner had multiple dogs which roamed freely throughout the grounds, which owner explained on arrival and assured all were friendly. Unfortunately this was not the case as on the 3rd day of our stay Ozzy our 3 year old shih tzu who is part of our family, kind loving cute soft and unbelievably friendly was attacked by the owners black labrador whilst on his leader with my father and left in a pretty bad way. even though the owner who witnessed this happen was extremely apologetic it put a downer on our stay. This is the only reason we will not go back to stay again. Would only recommend if not taking pets.

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful property
Liked least: Our dog been attacked
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 4, 2015
We were very sorry about this and have taken the very tough decision to rehome the Labrador, who is ordinarily very friendly. We managed to find her a lovely new home with a family friend. We have also taken steps to ensure that the dogs are kept away from the property when guests are staying. We have never known the dogs to behave badly before and they have always been very friendly to guests and other dogs . We are sorry about what happened and fortunately Ozzy was not hurt, but we understand this was a distressing situation and this is why we took the decision to find the Labrador a new home.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie H
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fabulous property, wonderful stay, will go again”
Reviewed October 15, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Beautifully furnished cottage in pleasant area. Went with 4 others who all enjoyed stay immensely. Would definitely recommend this cottage.

Date of stay: October 2015
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fact L
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Homely Cosy Cottage”
Reviewed September 8, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Great place to stay and excellent value for money. Stayed with a large group for 3 nights and there was plenty of space with 4 bedroom, 1 with en-suite, large reception room, dining room, kitchen and utility room. Owner Julie was very welcoming and helpful with directions. You could see that she was very proud to show us around, which I could instantly see why. The place was lovely. We had everything we needed at the cottage. Was nice of Julie to leave some milk, washing up liquid and toilet rolls were provided. Morrison was just a short drive away so stocked up on essentials. Aga cooker was lovely which we used to cook breakfast with before setting out to visit the lakes. Lake Windermere being about 30 minutes drive.

They own a few dogs which were very friendly and the kids loved to play with. The cottage was better in person which is always good. The cottage was nicely decorated and had a lovely family feel with flowers in most of the rooms.

Would definitely stay here again and recommend the place. SAT NAV postcode does not take you right outside but easy to find with the directions Julie provided. Even found a place on the way who sold a half dozen of eggs for £1, which were yummy for breakfast. It is just off the M6 but did not notice any car noise and slept as I normally would.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Large spacious cottage
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APecularD...
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely Outstanding”
Reviewed August 26, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We knew from the photos of the property that we were in for a treat when we got there but we were all taken aback when we finally arrived. The property was absolutely stunning. Inside and out. It was also huge, a lot bigger than we were expecting and the downstairs living area was brilliant for all 7 of us to be down there as a group at the same time. The family was also very welcoming and helpful. The only confusion occurred when the sat nav took us the wrong way towards the end, so be sure to get and understand the instructions given prior to arrival! Once you got used to where it was or which was the right road to tell your sat nav to go to there was absolutely no problem.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious property, equipped with everything you needed.
Liked least: Initially finding the property.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rups800
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“If I could pick this cottage up and take it home, I would!”
Reviewed August 13, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed here for 3 nights. 4 adults, 2 teenagers and 3 young children. We absolutely loved this cosy cottage! We were given directions to get here and found it with no problem. When we walked in it was much bigger than we expected. It is furnished beautifully. I really recommend that Julie have some professional photos taken of the cottage as I feel the ones up do not do it justice. This was a lovely break for us with friends. Lake Windermere was probably about 30 minutes away and Kendal about 20 minutes. The property is just off the motorway which is convenient if you do need to travel out, we could hear the cars however didn't really bother us. The cottage has absolutely everything, all we needed to bring was food. This was our first visit to the Lakes but I would definitely return here again to just to stay in this property again!

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing