We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous bank holiday weekend stay”
other travelers have booked this property
1
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
1
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
41 reviews
1
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Kendal, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gill R
County Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous bank holiday weekend stay”
Reviewed June 1, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I booked this cottage as a base for myself and 8 close relatives (including a 1 year old!) I couldn't be happier with our stay. We were made to feel very welcome and loved the layout of the house. It was large and having 2 sitting rooms meant we could spread out when we chose to or gather around the wood fire when we wanted. Loved the aga...Want one now! The M6 is very near but not a problem at all to us. It was an excellent base for my daughter's wedding (in Windermere and Kendal) Loved being able to see horses in their stables from the sitting room window! Thank you so much for our stay. Hope to come again at some point. :-) x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Loved it all :-)
Liked least: dishwasher not working properly
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judescott...
Battle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Excellent, large accommodation with bags of character”
Reviewed January 10, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We stayed here over Christmas 2014. The house was tastefully decorated with Christmas decorations, adding a little more wow. We have 3 young boys and the house was a fantastic space for us to celebrate. Our family joined us for Christmas dinner in the cottage and we were all equally impressed. The cottage is on a farm so come prepared with wellies!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_H142014
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Gorgeous hosue, full of character”
Reviewed January 5, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed over the New Year period with a group of 10 friends. The house is absolutely beautiful and full of character. House is bigger than expected and accommodated us all. Julie and family were helpful and I would definitely recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanPage
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pre christmas visit”
Reviewed December 27, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Probably the best place we have stayed. Eight adults and a dog. Horrible weather but didn't worry us as the accommodation was just perfect. It is right next to the M6 but you just don't hear it and the views are amazing. Will definitely come again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space and the separation of space.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DrewBerty
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic place - loved our stay”
Reviewed December 3, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Stayed here for a long weekend with the extended family (7 Adults and 3 small children), the property easily accommodated us all. It is a fabulous place, full of character and absolutely huge! The whole family really loved our stay, and just to echo other reviews, the motorway is close but not a problem whatsoever. The stables next door were an unexpected added bonus as the children loved meeting all the animals especially the friendly dogs.

So overall this is a great base for exploring the lakes, the property is excellent and Rebecca and family were helpful and extremely accommodating. My only reservation on writing a positive review is that I'd love to keep this place a secret but I have a feeling it's about to become very popular!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Property character and size
Liked least: Little dusty in places (though expected in an old property)
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anonymeec...
Cheshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful character property with a friendly welcome”
Reviewed November 19, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We went for a family weekend to celebrate two birthdays in November and really enjoyed our stay. The house is amazing, really beautiful and enormous! There were fresh flowers everywhere and little soaps in the bathroom and we really felt spoilt. For such a big property we were pleased to be able to stay warm with controllable heating plus a wonderful open fire as well as a delicious heated blanket on the massive master bed! The owners live on site and were very helpful and friendly. If you like horses you will be pleased to know that they have a yard for 15 horses right next door, although if you don't you can access the building from the other side so you don't have to go near them! The motorway is visible from the house but there is double glazing and it didn't bother us at all. All in all, highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEB68
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Warm, friendly welcome in rural farmhouse between the Lakes and the Dales”
Reviewed November 3, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We spent a lovely half term - four children, four adults - in this farmhouse and explored the local area, using the farmhouse as a base. Owner Julie and her family were friendly and welcoming and made the stay very personal by making sure we had everything we needed. The house is tastefully decorated, with woodburning stove, wooden floors, comfortable furnishings. Outside there is plenty of space for children to play, and if you like horses you are in for a treat as they run a stables from their farm.
The farm is approximately five miles from Kendal and five miles from Sedbergh. You can walk to both towns if you so wish, or take the car to explore. We also visited Windermere, Ulswater and Elterwater and did some great walks with our family. I would highly recommend this property - it is excellent value. My only reservation is that some people may not like to be so near to the M6 although this did not bother us.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing