We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A place to feel like at home.”
The Hyning Estate, Beautiful, Peaceful, a wonderful Retreat and wonderfully warm all year around
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Hyning Estate, Beautiful, Peaceful, a wonderful Retreat and wonderfully warm all year around
The Carriage House - family bedroom and bathroom with optional extra beds Luxurious open plan living - all at ground level
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
The Hyning Estate, Beautiful, Peaceful, a wonderful Retreat and wonderfully warm all year around
The Carriage House - family bedroom and bathroom with optional extra beds
Luxurious open plan living - all at ground level
The Dining area with Bedroom & Bathroom beyond
King size Rattan Sleigh bed
Optional Single bed beyond
Tasteful, large & luxurious bathroom
Discrete accessibility features
The Carriage House at Christmas
The Carriage House is part of a traditional Cumbrian Bank-barn
The Hyning Estate in bloom (Spring)
Hyning Gardens
Lambs on the fellside in Spring
The Hyning Estate is surrounded by a working Dairy Farm
The Bar at Reception
The Patio at Reception
Enjoying a Summer Drink on The Patio at Reception
Spectacular Sunsets
The Bar and Patio at Reception (at dusk)
The Hyning Estate in Winter
Fireworks on New Year's Eve
Fireworks on New Year's Eve
EV Charging
20 Solar panels boost hot water generated by the Ground Source Heat Pump
The Estate is close to The Howgill Fells
Lowgill Viaduct
Lakes and Mountains
Looking towards Haystacks from the shores of Buttermere
The Lake District in the Autumn
One of a number of Accessible Paths
New Year's Day on Latrigg (The Hyning Estate's Walk 27)
Amazing Views
7 miles from Kendal - A Gateway to The English Lakes
The Hyning Estate - Cumbria Tourism's Self-Catering Winners and Sustainable Tourism Finalists 2015
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Kendal, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Anja A
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A place to feel like at home.”
Reviewed July 23, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

In this accommodation we did not miss anythimg. Eqipment is of suüerior standsrd and the housing has style. It is cosy. The hosts Jan and Richard are sympathetic and provide great hospitality.
H E is lovely located at the rim of the lake district. In this respect the guest has to be aware that the next Restaurant is not around the corner. However, this did not matter to us.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zoe r
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful and pure luxury!”
Reviewed March 16, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Me and my partner visited here at the beginning of March which was our first time in the lake district and we couldn't of chosen a better accommodation! It really did make our visit so special, the owners were very welcoming and lovely to talk to when seeing them on site and also the little extras on arrival really made it special. We loved how cosy the cottage was and we just wished we could of stayed for longer! Such a lovely wonderful place to stay when wanting to stay in the Lake district and I would highly recommend, me and my partner are already looking to come back this year, thank you so much for our beautiful weekend break!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The little extras within the cottage on arrival
Liked least: Nothing was unliked by us, everything was to our expectations or higher
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 21, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gail M
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Warm welcome awaits you in luxury surroundings”
Reviewed February 10, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have just spent a fabulous 4 nights at The Hyning Estate. We were welcomed by Richard who showed us around our accommodation very thoroughly.
We were pleasantly surprised to find a selection of local produce including a freshly baked sourdough loaf, locally produced cheese, jam and chutneys.......not to mention a very well received bottle of red. We spent the first evening relaxing with the wood burning stove giving out some welcome heat and not cooking due to the goodies our owners left for us.

Many thanks to Richard and Jan for creating such a brilliant place for us to unwind.
Gail and Neale McGrath

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 7, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 6, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 8, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing