We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab & Fun”
Review of Pedros Kendal

Pedros Kendal
Ranked #26 of 150 Restaurants in Kendal
Price range: $20 - $33
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: A fun, casual, dinning experience, providing 'food for sharing' with a Spanish influence, a great atmosphere and exciting cocktails.
Staveley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Fab & Fun”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Four of us went for dinner on a packed Saturday night and really enjoyed it. As others have said it's probably not the place to go for a romantic meal for two, but it IS the place to go if you want a relaxed meal, a bit of fun and cocktails :) Considering how busy it was the service was great, the menu was explained to us and the fact that the dishes come out as and when they're ready (which is great).

Having been to Mexico the food is not quite the authentic Mexican food I've experienced but it is good tapas with more of a Spanish feel. The chorizo chaser and paella were very good plus the gambas were delish.

The portions were a good size and all dishes were reasonably priced. The menu is extensive, covering tapas as well as pizza's and gourmet burgers so you'd be hard pushed to not find something you liked! There are also plenty of veggie options and fish options.

It's great to have something different in Kendal and I wish them all the very best. We WILL be back :)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    73
    23
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Needs new waitress”
Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Lovely restaraunt great food service rubbish ,miserable girl , food came in strange way side orders before meal all served different times there was six of us, we ate and left as we weren't made to feel welcome,she was fine with couples in the restraunt but not with us , poor customer service.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank michelle v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous dining experience”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

After driving past the place daily I noticed it packed out most evenings, my curiosity got the better of me. Greeted pleasantly and seated in a very timely manner considering how vibrant the restaurant was. The Mexican hats, moustaches and somewhat interesting décor create a relaxed environment for even the most austere of characters. Vast beverages menu including cocktails. Portion sizes were bigger than your average Tapas, although there was no compromise on taste. I can personally recommend the kebab platter, jalapeño bites and quesadillas.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Faz579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wouldn't let us in”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

They were empty.
It was 630pm on a Monday.
Nothing available until 8pm they said.
We ate next door ( excellent ) and checked them out an hour later and they still had space.
Disappointing.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lancashire_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedroskendal, Owner at Pedros Kendal, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thanks for your review, reviewing the fact you didn't eat with us?? We may have tables spare at 6.30 when you walked in without booking, however these where all booked in advance within the next half hour to an hour, therefore we would not let the people that have taken the time and effort to book down to squeeze you in, Even the bar table was booked!
We are not in the business of rushing guests through, we give at least 1.5hours to smaller groups and 2 hours to all other groups. why would we turn you away if we wasn't fully booked? It makes no sense. We also offered you the next available slot(an hour and half later), however if you stated that you just wanted to throw food down your neck within an hour then maybe we could of squeezed you in turfed you out, however we would much rather have guests in that want a good time and contribute to the fun atmosphere.
If you are wanting to dine with us in the future its advisable to book, maybe you might now understand that it wasn't a 'mistake on our part' it was purely having no tables available exactly when you walked in, and then to write a poor 'review' based on that fact is just silly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“WOW...”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

What a find....Popped in for lunch on Friday, loved it so much we booked again for dinner on Sunday. Food served and portion sizes were A1 and all the staff were really friendly. Sombreros are on hand for those who wish to wear them...Arriba Arriba!!!!!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 24lunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pedros Kendal also viewed

Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 
Kendal, Lake District
 
Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to Pedros Kendal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing