We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (356)
Filter reviews
356 results
Traveler rating
309
38
6
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
309
38
6
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews home made cakes biscuits the river porridge little touches banana cake full english fresh milk on arrival town centre breakfast was delicious home from home enjoyable stay a great stay b bs local produce room was spotless
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 356 reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2017

Spent three nights here.
Had the large room on the second floor that had two chairs. Far better than some places where we get one chair and so one person has to sit on the bed.
En-suite was bijou.
Fresh milk for tea and coffee. Cake and biscuits.
One negative point was that the Wi-Fi was erratic in the room.
Very useful set of information in the room.
Breakfast was very tasty and well-cooked.
Yvonne is unusual and we enjoyed having wild conversations over breakfast and when coming back to the B&B.
Very convenient for walking into the centre of Kendal.
Parking can be tricky, with the other side of the street officially being limited to one hour, with this being applicable 24 hours a day. On the B&B side, there are no restrictions.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Selhurst300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2017

What a fantastic B+B !!

Yvonne, the wicked landlady is one in a million. Warm, friendly and with a fantastic sense of humour she certainly brightens up even the the dullest day. The staff are extremely friendly and attentive and the quantity and quality of the food at breakfast is excellent. I was in the cheapest room and it was excellent value, spotlessly clean, warm and well stocked hospitality tray and good quality toiletries

Room Tip: I was in the most basic room and it far exceeded my expectations.
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ianpalmer2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2017

Food excellent,wicked landlady fantastic personality,,car parking fine, cleanliness spot on and attention to detail could not be faulted.We would stay again and recommend to our friends.Loved the welcome and meeting Scout the dog.We would have liked a larger room ( 8 ) en suite but it was ok.

Room Tip: room 8 is a bit small
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank georgefellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2017

We had a 3 night stay and found it ideal for a base from which we could come and go as we pleased. A short walk into town with lots of interesting things to do. Yvonne and the staff made us feel very welcome. The atmosphere and the little touches like biscuits in the room and the home made cushion covers made it very special. Thanks Yvonne from Pat and Barry. We will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Room 5 let us see the sun rise over the rooftops and chimneys 2 out of the 3 mornings we woke up.
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2017

We stayed at the Lyndhurst on Thursday Night and we were very impressed from the moment we arrived , we were met at the door by the landlady Yvonne after which we sat and chatted for 10 minutes or so giving us ideas of what we could do during our stay. We were shown to our room which was spacious and spotless laid out for us were tea and coffee homemade cake ( of which we took the recipe ) we were asked what time we would like our breakfast (not told when to be there) the breakfast choice was excellent and we were greeted again by Yvonne who does everything herself and very well too. She made sure she was there to see us off the next morning and wish us a safe journey. This is by far the best B&B we have ever stayed in nothing was too much trouble. We will definitely be returning here in the near future for a longer stay, Thank you Wicked Yvonne for being such a wonderful Host and making us feel so welcome. Alec and Sue Walsh

Room Tip: If you want somewhere friendly and cheerful with plenty of laughs this is the place
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alec W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews