We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (356)
Filter reviews
356 results
Traveler rating
309
38
6
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
309
38
6
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshome made cakesbiscuitsthe riverporridgelittle touchesbanana cakefull englishfresh milkon arrivaltown centrebreakfast was delicioushome from homeenjoyable staya great stayb bslocal produceroom was spotless
Filter
Updating list...
330 - 335 of 356 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2009

We stayed for three nights at the guesthouse, with our older boys. Yvonne and Stuart were very friendly, we were supplied with a map of Kendal and advice on the best places to eat locally, when we weren't eating our delicious breakfasts at the guesthouse. The full english was fantastic, with our vegetarian son well catered for. The alternative breakfast, Yvonnes' own recipe porridge was equally delicious. She also provided us with some delicious sandwiches, when we ordered them.
The rooms were lovely and clean and ensuite, and tea and coffee making facilities were provided.
The guesthouse overlooks the river, is in a quiet location, a little out of the town, which is well within walking distance. We had a wonderful stay, Yvonne and Stuart were great, we would have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending Lyndhurst Guesthouse to everyone.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginge62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2009

Helpful welcoming hosts, comfy beds, yummy breakfasts and lovely homemade jams and breads. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RiverHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2009

The Lyndhurst Guest House is located in a quiet area south of Kendal town centre and faces the River Kent. There is plenty of parking available close at hand.

We received a warm welcome and were provided with plenty of information about local eateries and hostelries, including a note of those to avoid! Its always useful to have the benefit of this sort of local knowledge.

The guesthouse is situated within easy walking distance of the town centre.

The rooms are not large but are clean and comfortable and have all the facilities you need.

The breakfasts were excellent and enlivened by some friendly banter with Stuart and Yvonne. The “porridge expert” in our party pronounced the Lyndhurst version was probably the best she had tasted and prompty demolished a large bowl on each of the mornings we were there.

If you’re looking for reasonably priced B&B accomodation in or around Kendal, give the Lyndhurst a try.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeteCYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2009

Selected the Lyndhurst from the web mainly through availability, price and location and have to say what a great selection. Hosts Yvonne and Stuart make you so welcome from the outset and nothing is too much trouble. Room was spotless and functional and the breakfast was simply superb. The location is just about perfect with the town and ameneties just 3 or 4 minutes walk away and the lakes within easy reach. All in all a very enjoyable stay will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TR_Frimley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2009

The B&B was great, comfy, very friendly and with great local knowlege that can point you in the right direction. I am a Vegan, and they managed to catered for me excellently. Would definietly recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterDawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews