We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (356)
Filter reviews
356 results
Traveler rating
309
38
6
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
309
38
6
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshome made cakesbiscuitsthe riverporridgelittle touchesbanana cakefull englishfresh milkon arrivaltown centrebreakfast was delicioushome from homeenjoyable staya great stayb bslocal produceroom was spotless
Filter
Updating list...
335 - 340 of 356 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2009

If you're after a boutique hotel then don't stay here. If you're after a welcoming stay with excellent hosts and a perfect "off centre" location within 5 mins walk of the town then look no further. Our room was quite small and a little old fashioned but was well appointed with a very good shower, LCD TV with digital chanels and Tea / coffee making. Very comfy bed and scrupulously clean linnen. Good breakfast (we are both veggie but the meaty breakfasts looked great too....). In short, a good old fashioned B&B with a warm welcome.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catboyollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2009

Enjoyed a five night stay at Lyndhurst Guest House in mid-August. The guest house faces the River Kent and is situated within easy walking distance of the town centre. Our four family members occupied two cosy top-floor bedrooms, which were clean and comfortable.
Yvonne and Stuart were friendly, helpful hosts who presented us with a map and details of Kendal restaurants on our arrival. A tasty full English breakfast was enjoyed each morning in the company of other guests.
We would certainly consider another stay at Lyndhurst and wouldn’t hesitate to recommend the guest house to others.
Many thanks Yvonne and Stuart for a great stay.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mickeytLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2009

I stayed at the Lyndhurst with my mum and her sister for two nights. The moment we walked in we were welcomed by Yvonne and Stuart and immediately felt at home. When booking, Yvonne had asked the reason for our visit and had information and maps ready and waiting for us.

The guesthouse is within minutes of the town centre and yet in a quiet riverside location.
The accommodation and food were excellent but this was topped by the friendliness of both Yvonne and Stuart who made us feel so genuinely welcome.

I would highly recommend the Lyndhurst to anyone visiting Kendal and will be visiting again. Thank you for a lovely stay!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissHNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2009

From moment I got out of the taxi Yvonne & Stuart went out of their way to make me welcome. Given a whirlwind tour of Kendal, information about local eateries and directions was useful. Comfortable & clean.Would recommend this establishment as one of the best..

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Millie040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2009

I stayed here for just one night while working up in the lakes. It was an ideal spot - nice and quiet and a few minutes walk in to the town centre. Really comfy room - excellent internet connection and nice en suite. Stuart and Yvonne were very warm and friendly people and took time to reccommend places to visit and eat - always nice when you are travelling alone and have only a short time to explore. Would reccommend!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Orchards_are_ace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews