We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, comfortable B&B, Brian and Mandy looked after us extremely well”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Balcony House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 44 Kendal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed December 3, 2009

Mandy and Brian are very welcoming. They have created a beautiful house. Spotlessly clean and very comfortable. A lovely place to stay

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cosmicScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (489)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

468 - 474 of 489 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2009

we went to kendal to do some family history and to meet up with friends, we stayed at balcony house for 3 nights, how pleased we were to have chosen this lovely house but it isnt just a house its a real home and it shows. brian and mandy have made their place so welcoming, the food good , the cleanliness was second to none and that bed was to die for, although the room is small the bed more than made up for it for sure, thank you for making our few days so much better and hopefully, god willing ,will be back.we definately reccommend it to anyone going that way, but dont forget to mention the parking to them and they will sort it for you.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sandra_almond2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2009

just returned from a great weekend in balconey house kendal . loved it house is beautiful rooms are nice ,breakfast is fantastic .mandy and brian make you so welcome ,nothing is to much trouble . would recommend the balconey house to everyone cant wait for my next trip stayin here again

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tonydigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2009

We stayed one night at balcony house and were made so welcome, the balcony room which we stayed in, is quite small but it has everything you need for a short stay. It has a four poster and is beautifully decorated as is the whole house - so tasteful. We got loads of ideas for our house and I was totally ready to rip mine apart when i got home !
its spotlessly clean and the white bathrobes in the victorian bathroom were a lovely touch. Breakfast couldn't have been any better - perfectly cooked and good quality. We also took advantage of using the pool and spa at the nearby hotel, which made our stay 5 star. Brian and Mandy are clearly very proud of their beautiful house and they should be.
lovely place and lovely people.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LBWManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2009

I have stayed at Balcony House on numerous occassions whilst in Kendal on Business. Mandy and Brian are always welcoming and do everything they can to ensure my stay is a comfortable and enjoyable one each and every time.
The rooms are always clean and comfortable with ample space, whether you are staying for business or pleasure.
The house is always warm and inviting and I find it a pleasure to socialise with other guests over a very tasty breakfast.
Thank you Mandy and Brian for your continued hospitality.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alou97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2009

The owners were friendly and helpful. Our room was rather small and there wasn't much space to store our clothes. The bed was a good size and comfortable. As we were only stopping one night, we didn't bother to unpack all our luggage. The bathroom was very cramped. The house was very old but very clean. All the guests had to sit at one long breakfast table. Fortunately the guests next to us were very friendly and we got on well with them. Breakfast was fine. We were able to park on the road outside the guest house, but I would imagine that at times this might not always be possible. The town centre is only and short distance away. We felt the 4 star rating was rather generous. A 3 star rating would seem more appropriate.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RANDM64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2008

Brian and Mandy could not do enough to look after us. They really went out of their way to be helpful. They are a wonderful couple.
Breakfast was top class. Bedroom was spotless and very comfortable. Made our short break for our wedding anniversary far better than we could have hoped for.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kendal hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
1.1 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
4.9 mi away
Lyth Valley Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,137 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lyndhurst Guest House
Lyndhurst Guest House
#2 of 44 in Kendal
298 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sonata Guest House
Sonata Guest House
#4 of 44 in Kendal
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balcony House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balcony House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 82 Shap Road, Kendal LA9 6DP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Kendal
Price Range: $93 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Balcony House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balcony house guest house offers quality bed and breakfast accommodation in Kendal. Free use of local hotel pool/gym/spa.Full English breakfast or vegetarian options.TV/DVD player, free WIFI. Hospitality tray in all rooms. Complimentary toiletries.Guest lounge. Free parking directly in front of property. Sorry we do not allow pets. No family room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Balcony House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balcony House Bed And Breakfast Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing