We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Balcony House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 42 Kendal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Harrow
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Had a great weekend at this lovely B&B. Mandy and Brian are wonderful hosts making you feel instantly at home. Our room was excellent very tastefully decorated and furnished. The breakfast was fantastic and definitely set you up for the day. All I can say we would definitely return again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank LesleyHarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy N, Owner at Balcony House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
A happy new year to all our guests past and in the future. Thank you for all your kind reviews and I hope this next year brings good luck to all. I can't believe another year of welcoming guests has passed. It's a very rewarding job with reviews like this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    21
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
262
17
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

All I can say is wow, a late decision to go away for the weekend however, couldn't have been better Mandy and Brian are the best hosts I have ever met nothing is too much for them. The rooms are immaculate and very spacious with all your needs well taken care of. Then there's the breakfast well that in itself makes the stay, it is amazing, and huge we didn't need to eat for the rest of the day. I cannot speak highly enough for this guest house it is the best I have ever stayed in and will definitely be going again.

Room Tip: no need to choose all rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrowford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

Mandy and Brian are the perfect hosts and nothing is too much trouble. The accommodation is superb-beautiful interior design, regularly refreshed and updated, yet with a comfortable, homely feel. Breakfasts are wonderfully generous and varied, with special requests readily catered for and we've enjoyed many stimulating conversations, both with guests and with our hosts. We look forward to yet another stay next year!

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Val J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyland, Lancashire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

Kendal has lots of historical features and is a great little shopping town especially at Christmas when the town's streets and squares are decorated with lights. There is a very enjoyable walk along the river bank. We went at the end of 2012 which was the first time we stayed with Mandy and Brian at Balcony House. Mandy's Christmas decorations are something to behold only exceeded by the comfort of the rooms and the quality of the breakfasts. Both Mandy and Brian are very welcoming and the house has many interesting features apart from the Christmas decorations. We have been lucky enough to be able to book again this year and we are so looking forward to it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

We have recently stayed for 3 nights and cannot rate the care given by Mandy and Brian highly enough. They offered lifts into Kendal if we should want a lift and recommended places to eat and were most helpful in giving us information. The bedroom was extremely clean, the bathroom extras exceptional for a B&B (dressing gowns supplied),and lovely fluffy towels, Breakfasts were very filling and well cooked. A very comfortable residents lounge too. Complimentary access to a nearby hotel spa. We would not hesitate to stay again and will recommend it to our friends.

Room Tip: If you don't like any noise but need a window open then you should ask for room 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Yet again, we have had a lovely stay here, where nothing is too much trouble for Mandy and Brian. This is a beautiful house, well equipped (with stunning chandeliers!) and very comfortable. Breakfasts are massive and tasty and the conversations are always interesting.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CumbriaHazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

Just stayed at the balcony for 3 nights wish it could have been for longer,the deco is fantastic the bedrooms are amazing such excellent taste.The breakfast was gorgeous.Mandy & Brian made us so welcome can not wait to visit again and we also loved grace,Kevin & the ducks.would recommend the balcony 100% to anybody visiting Kendal can not rate it enough fabulous!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kittiebb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kendal hotels
0.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 15 in Kendal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
1.0 mi away
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 15 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
1.7 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 15 in Kendal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lyndhurst Guest House
Lyndhurst Guest House
#2 of 42 in Kendal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balcony House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balcony House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Balcony House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 82 Shap Road, Kendal LA9 6DP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Balcony House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balcony house guest house offers quality bed and breakfast accommodation in Kendal. Free use of local hotel pool/gym/spa.Full English breakfast or vegetarian options.TV/DVD player, free WIFI. Hospitality tray in all rooms. Complimentary toiletries.Guest lounge. Free parking directly in front of property. Sorry we do not allow pets. No family room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Balcony House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balcony House Bed And Breakfast Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing