We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must be one of the best...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Balcony House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 42 Kendal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Oxted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Must be one of the best...”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Balcony House. Mandy made us very welcome and the room was superb. The breakfast was excellent and set up for the day. It well situated a short distance from Kendal town centre. Mandy even offered to run us into town for our evening meal! We would highly recommend Balcony House to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    21
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
264
17
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I have just stayed at balcony house for 8 days with my family and we cannot speak highly enough of our stay and the hospitality, breakfasts, cleanliness and overall quality of our break here. Mandy and Brian are perfect hosts and do everything they can to make you feel welcome and as if you are staying home from home. They have paid high attention to every aspect of your stay and basically we cannot fault anything not that we would want to!! They made sandwiches for my nephew who was attending a special music course at sedbergh and Brian offered to drive him there if we wanted a lay in!! It was perfect and we would not hesitate to stay there again or recommend to anyone who wants to visit this part of the Lake District. Well done Mandy and Brian and of course grace the dog,,kevin the rabbit,,the chickens who supplied our wonderful eggs and the ducks. Just great and very many thanks again. Deborah Pearce Bournemouth DOrset

Room Tip: You don't need a tip all are fab!,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip9250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Everything is top notch and Mandy and Brian including grace the dog and the ducks and chickens plus Kevin the rabbit, made you feel completely at home.I give this b&b 5 stars at least.the rooms are completely spotless and the room service is great. Ellen steward from Taunton aged 9 and three quarters!!!! 10 on 20th August xxx

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steward113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy N, Owner at Balcony House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
A huge thank you to our youngest ever reviewer. We really enjoyed having you and your family to stay. Have a very happy birthday and we'll be watching out for your brother on the one show.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We spent a very pleasant night at Balcony House on the latter stages of our Dales Way walk.
Brian Nicholson picked us up from the end point of our walk on the Sunday and took us to our start point the next morning - excellent taxi service.

Mandy's breakfast was excellent, with eggs from her own hens.

Ornate and very comfortable bedrooms. Only drawback was that we had to go down a floor for bathroom facilities.

A very friendly and welcoming couple.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RSRMair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights whilst visiting some family in the Lake District. Upon arrival to Balcony house you are greeted by a very well kept garden at the front which was full of flowers. We were greeted by Mandy and shown around the guest lounge before being taken to our room which was a double ensuite on the rear of the house. The room was furnished to a high quality and had lovely cushions and high quality linens. The bed was very comfortable. My only gripe would be the size of the bathroom, it is well stocked with complimentary toiletries and had a nice decor but is very small. The shower cubicle was a lot smaller than we are used to and it was difficult to move around in there. In hindsight I probably would have booked the other ensuite double which I believe has a larger bathroom. Breakfast was very good, the cooked was tasty and used eggs from the garden. I'm not too keen on the plastic wrapped pastries however, it would be nice to have something fresh. Coffee was served from a cafetiere and the hosts were good at checking on us without being intrusive. We enjoyed our stay and would stay again but only in the larger room.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephenjones1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely fantastic Mandy and Brian made us feel so welcome felt as though we were visiting family !! They bent over backwards to make our romantic weekend PERFECT even went out of their way to get us our fave champagne and chocolates and have it in our room as we arrived!! The room was beautiful and so comfortable ! The breakfast was so yummy huge portions !!! Mandy and Brian are wonderful people and hosts !! Thank you both for making our stay perfect we will defenetly be back !! Thanks guys

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leah_D_2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bollington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We had a two night stay at Balcony house in the balcony room. The welcome was warm, Mandy and Brian were excellent hosts, the decor is way above any expectations. The breakfast will stop you in your tracks - better than the Midland Hotel at Morecambe and that was pretty good too! Will definitely stop here again.

Room Tip: Balcony room was great, we had the windows open as much as possible, and could sit on the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brewcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kendal hotels
0.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 14 in Kendal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
1.0 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 14 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
1.7 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 14 in Kendal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lyndhurst Guest House
Lyndhurst Guest House
#2 of 42 in Kendal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balcony House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balcony House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Balcony House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 82 Shap Road, Kendal LA9 6DP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Balcony House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balcony house guest house offers quality bed and breakfast accommodation in Kendal. Free use of local hotel pool/gym/spa.Full English breakfast or vegetarian options.TV/DVD player, free WIFI. Hospitality tray in all rooms. Complimentary toiletries.Guest lounge. Free parking directly in front of property. Sorry we do not allow pets. No family room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Balcony House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balcony House Bed And Breakfast Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing