We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant stay - would definitely recommend!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Balcony House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 42 Kendal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant stay - would definitely recommend!”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I stayed at Balcony Guest House because of the reviews on tripadvisor and I'm so glad I visited this website first as I was not disappointed. Everything was brilliant from the breakfast to the bed. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauralbw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    21
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
266
17
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This was my first stay at Balcony House but I wasn't disappointed. Everything was as you had advised and it was beautifully decorated with excellent, beyond the call service from Mandy and Brian. Just excellent, I will be returning!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChelseaWalters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Balcony House is a gorgeous boutique B&B with fabulous hosts Brian and Mandy. Warm and welcoming with luxurious touches. Our room (3) and particularly its en suite were rather cramped but this was off set by the linen and the finishes. Breakfast is sensational but probably too much for most - best to select which elements you think you can manage. Kendal is close to Windermere so a great base to explore Lakeland from while not being in the heart of the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jojorowrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancing
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Well appointed ,beautiful room, friendly service going beyond the call of duty. I have no problem in recommending this b and b to anyone wishing to visit for a relaxing, luxurious and very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 748Michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy N, Owner at Balcony House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. It was a pleasure.
All our rooms are now finished and updated for 2013 and we look forward to welcoming previous and new guests to balcony house.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We decided to stay at Balcony House as we had previously stayed at a hotel in Kendal and been disappointed. We have never stayed in a B&B - and this was the perfect introduction (though I suspect it will prove hard to beat). Mandy and Brian are lovely: they made sure that we had a space to park our car for our arrival - I hate struggling to find a space after a long and tiring journey or trying to squeeze into a tiny hotel car park - and we were surprised to find that everything had been provided for us (unlike a lot of cheaper hotels). The room itself was not huge, but if we went back we would ask for Room 1, which I think is bigger, but the beds were very comfortable (including lovely pillows), the towels new and fluffy and everything immaculately clean and welcoming. Fresh eggs from Mandy's hens for breakfast - what more could you want? We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patti2101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy N, Owner at Balcony House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
We'd like to thank everyone who has written us a recent review. We appreciate it very much. I do try to reply to everyone personally via email. We've nearly completed our re- furb. Room 1 is closed this week for a complete change and that will be all our rooms newly decorated and carfinished in 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puisserguier, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

A very welcoming B&B. Beautifully furnished main bedroom, comfortable and very clean. Couldn't think of a single facility that wasn't provided. Lounge available for guests to use. Pubs and restaurants within walking distrance. Ideal stop for touring the area and walkers. Great breakfast.

Room Tip: The main bedroom of the house is the best, but others were comfortable if a little smaller
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anidav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We were looking for a short break in the Lakes at fairly short notice. I read all the reviews on here about Balcony House and was very impressed so booked it for the last night of our stay. Wish we could have stayed all weekend but unfortunately left it too late when booking! What a way to finish off our weekend! Mandy and Brian were perfect hosts - extremely helpful, very attentive and helpful but didn't intrude. The room was stunning and as others have said with lots of little extras and fabulous personal touches.
Breakfasts were amazing and this is coming from someone who can't normally manage much more than toast but I made an exception this time :-) . We would highly recommend it if you are looking for a base in South Lakes and we look forward to coming back. No wonder it is rated as No 1 - well deserved.

Room Tip: We had a choice of 2 rooms - the small balcony room with the 4 poster or the room on the top floor w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debs26052013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
1.0 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kendal
1,004 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Kendal
Travelodge Kendal
#4 of 14 in Kendal
407 reviews
24.9 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
490 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lyndhurst Guest House
Lyndhurst Guest House
#2 of 42 in Kendal
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balcony House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balcony House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Balcony House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 82 Shap Road, Kendal LA9 6DP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Balcony House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balcony house guest house offers quality bed and breakfast accommodation in Kendal. Free use of local hotel pool/gym/spa.Full English breakfast or vegetarian options.TV/DVD player, free WIFI. Hospitality tray in all rooms. Complimentary toiletries.Guest lounge. Free parking directly in front of property. Sorry we do not allow pets. No family room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Balcony House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balcony House Bed And Breakfast Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing