We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Balcony House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 42 Kendal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We had a lovely stay here a few weeks ago. Very friendly and welcoming and the room was well presented. It had lovely little touches like roses and sachets of Cadburys hot chocolate. The breakfast was amazing we didnt need to eat again until the evening. I had a vegetarian breakfast, which provided just as much diversity as the meat one.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sazzy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (489)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

448 - 454 of 489 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2011

The Whole Balcony Guest House Experience was Fabulous from our Arrival to our Departure. The Rooms are Immaculate, and Extremely Comfortable. The Hospitality shown by The Host and Hostess, was quite simply Second to none. Absolutely Nothing was too much bother. The quality and Quantity of The Breakfast was Perfect, and The Dining Room and Sitting Room, Quite Lovely to spend Time in. You can see at First glance, by The Beautifully kept Garden and Pretty Hanging Baskets, and The Fantastic Balcony, that You are in for quite a treat, and our actual Stay far Exceeded our high Expectations. We will certainly be staying again, hopefully sometime very soon.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susiwong69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

The room was lovely, decor was very fitting for the area.
The free spa passes is a nice touch.
High standard throughout, nothing is too much trouble for tge owners. Breakfast was a generous portion and the best full English I've had for a long time. Couldn't fault this guest house on anything. We will b going back again within the year.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krystaltemplebrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

fantastic warm friendly welcome. brian and mandy provide a home from home. with the victorian charm from the old building to the modern decor of the bedrooms this is a great place to stay. if in the lake district again i would't stay anywhere else. brians full english breakfast was to die for along with fresh juice, yoghurts, copious amounts of tea/coffee and toast it was more of a feast to set you up for the day than just a b & b breakfast. cannot recommend it highly enough. mandy even shared with us the best places to eat in kendal 100% satisfaction.............

Room Tip: book as soon as you can don't wait.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thedowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Agree with all the positive comments below. We stayed for one night and this is a lovely B&B. An easy 10-15 min walk in to town, comfortable and friendly with on street parking. We stayed in the balcony room which is the smallest room but has its own bathroom across the landing.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smallford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

Spent the weekend in Kendal for my mates wedding and stayed at Balcony House after reading the reviews; which were spot on. I can't praise this place enough, it's brilliant. The interior decor is to a very high standard with lots of quirky 'period' Victoriana features with natural wood and cornices, the rocking horse and dolls house in the lounge are great.. The rooms (3 in all) are decorated to a very high standard and the level of cleanliness is exceptional; the bed is so comfy I overslept! Mandy and Brian are perfect hosts and nothing is too much trouble; he even gave me a lift to the wedding! Would certainly stay here again

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Icepickluck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2011

A cosy little place with only three rooms but they are well appointed and decorated to a high standard. Mandy and Brian are a delightful couple and nothing is too much trouble for them. The breakfast is first class and, unusually in this type of establishment, the coffee is excellent! We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kendal hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
1.1 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
6.3 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kendal
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Lyth Valley Country Inn
0.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,116 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lyndhurst Guest House
Lyndhurst Guest House
#2 of 42 in Kendal
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balcony House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balcony House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 82 Shap Road, Kendal LA9 6DP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Kendal
Price Range: $89 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Balcony House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balcony house guest house offers quality bed and breakfast accommodation in Kendal. Free use of local hotel pool/gym/spa.Full English breakfast or vegetarian options.TV/DVD player, free WIFI. Hospitality tray in all rooms. Complimentary toiletries.Guest lounge. Free parking directly in front of property. Sorry we do not allow pets. No family room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Balcony House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balcony House Bed And Breakfast Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing