We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inspiring place to stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sonata Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sonata Guest House
Ranked #3 of 42 Kendal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Inspiring place to stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

This is a very special guesthouse run by a couple who try very hard to cater for their guests needs.I was very impressed with the choice of breakfast with a good variety including vegetarian.All in all I would recommend this guesthouse to anyone who wants a little home from home on Kendal.@

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank archiepaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inoka P, Owner at Sonata Guest House, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Thank you for your very kind review. The hotel inspector came a few weeks ago and we were given a VisitBritain ‘Breakfast Award’! However the nicest thing is that you felt this was a home from home. Inoka and Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    27
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
106
17
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

We had booked for a one night stay at short notice and we were glad to find a guest house within our price range. On arriving in Kendal, were rescued from the one way system by Inoka (we'd taken a wrong turning) and made to feel very welcome. The room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was very good. We should be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mike d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inoka P, Owner at Sonata Guest House, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
I am so glad you stayed with us. We would be delighted to see you again when you are next in Kendal – otherwise we may perhaps meet if we come to Durham, lovely Cathedral.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

You are told to go and get the parking permit in the booking confirmation, Chris offered to move his car so we could get parked nearer to the guest house. We were welcomed at the door by Inoka & Chris. After a little chat we were taken to our room. It was a twin room, we were there for the Torchlight procession, the room was quite small with the two beds but perfectly adequate and very clean, good size bathroom and a good choice of tea/coffee. Breakfast the next day was delicious - fresh fruit cereals etc to choose from, followed by the best full English breakfast I've ever had in a hotel or B&B not a speck of grease and great flavoured bacon/sausage. If I was going to nit pick - when we were in the bedroom sitting talking rather than in the lounge, there isn't room for a chair, Im happy to sit on the bed, but you couldn't lean back as the picture light was right at head level, but that as I say is a very minor thing, and I would definitely stay again. From chatting with Inoka she said they haven't been in the B&B business for long, so well done you have got it just right. Inoka also let us keep the parking permit whilst we went shopping the next day and we dropped it back in when we returned to the car laden with bags.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank lesley h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inoka P, Owner at Sonata Guest House, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review.
I am pleased you enjoyed your breakfast and last week we received the ‘Breakfast Award’ from VisitBritain, the UK tourist board. I think we may be the only B&B to have this award within 3 miles of Kendal town – so we are really happy.
We are hoping to refurbish the top floor rooms next year and will include a chair for both top floor rooms and move the bedlights – as you say minor points, but valuable feedback for us.
We hope to see you again at the next Torchlight procession.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrecsam, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

On arrival at sonata we were greeted by Inoka who welcomed me by my first name(nice touch).we were shown to our room even though it was not ready to occupy because we were early to make sure it was OK.Inoka then gave us a map of the town and other maps were available. The host was very good providing information on where to go and what to see.room was very clean and very warm just what you need on a very cold November weekend.stayed two nights and I must say the breakfast is probably the best I have ever had(full English) would not hesitate to stay here again,loved it.bowness on Windermere about 15 mins drive Kendal town center 5mins walk

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inoka P, Owner at Sonata Guest House, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Hi John,
Thanks for the review. Hope the weather was OK on your drive home. Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. On your next visit to Kendal perhaps, you can go to Dales as well. Hope to see you again in the future.

Inoka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

My partner, David and I, spent one night here in September and I have to say it was fantastic. Inoka and Chris were so welcoming and the attention to detail was a breath of fresh air. The bedroom was lovely as were the sitting and dining rooms. The breakfast exceeded all expectations (including Inoka's white egg omlette!) and when we ever come to Kendal there is nowhere else we would stay. 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JO R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inoka P, Owner at Sonata Guest House, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thanks David & Jo and I hope you do come back, your both very welcome. I’m so happy David that you liked my egg white omelette – it was the first time I had made this. It’s good to get such positive feedback from an expert  Since then I’ve made this for myself – delish!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We only had one night at the Sonata, but very impressed with the welcome. Inoka's friendly attitude did not go unnoticed and in the morning she was same to all guests. At better breakfast we could not have asked for and we both wished we had booked here for the duration of our visit to the lakes. Exceeded expectations in aspect, especially as it was booked short notice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inoka P, Owner at Sonata Guest House, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Hi Paul & Dawn, thank you very much for taking the time to review The Sonata. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Sonata and hope that I will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the very near future.
Best wishes
Inoka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunkeld, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

From the moment I arrived I knew this would be a greaat place to stay simply by the welcome I received. My room was very comfortable and my one night stay was rounded off by a great breakfast. All of this for a very good value for

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank michaelmellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inoka P, Owner at Sonata Guest House, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Hi Michael,
Thanks a lot for taking the time to review the Sonata. I'm glad that you had a nice time in Kendal at the birthday party and enjoyed our breakfast, although it was a short break. Hope to see you back again in the future.

Best wishes
Inoka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kendal hotels
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 15 in Kendal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
1.3 mi away
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 15 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
1.4 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 15 in Kendal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.4 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#12 of 15 in Kendal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonata Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonata Guest House

Property: Sonata Guest House
Address: 19 Burneside Road, Kendal LA9 4RL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonata Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sonata Guest House offers outstanding 4 Star B&B accommodation in the heart of Kendal in the South Lakes. We're a Visit England Breakfast award-winning B&B just a 5 minutes walk from Kendal's great choice of specialist shops, cafes, restaurants and the famous Brewery Arts Centre. Browse our reviews on TripAdvisor - we're a Certificate of Excellence award-winner. Local bus and rail links are just a short stroll from the B&B and the Lake District National Park border is just a 3 minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Sonata Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonata Guest House Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing