We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unfinished apartment charged at full price!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Romneys Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Romneys Apartments
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Barow-in-furness
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Unfinished apartment charged at full price!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a wedding night do in the Kendal area and were seriously disappointed in the finish of what we were led to believe was a deluxe apartment.

I can't comment on the other variety of apartments only what they class ad the 'snugs'. It looked like they were recently built but to be honest were most certainly not complete. Charging £110 a night for an unfinished apartment is not very good. Outside the patio doors you walk out on to a roof area which could be so nice when it's eventually finished as a lovely balcony area. There are also little bits in the bedroom which lacked that finished look.

Also there was no shower, which we were disappointed with and had to use the bath which is in the bedroom.

Hopefully they will finish these apartments and not increase the price for people!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dicko28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    48
    17
    4
    1
See reviews for
79
65
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

I booked the Stables apartment with a colleague as the hotel where our business meeting was being held was full. We were quite looking forward to getting away from the hotel for a couple of hours. On arriving at the pub we were shown to The Stables but there was no information or intro given, the key was handed over and we were told to contact them if we needed anything. The apartment is very dark with not much natural light due to small windows and the lighting provided was very inadequate. Tea, coffee & sugar were provided but no milk. The blind in the main bedroom was broken, this is directly above your bed so in the summer you are woken very early by bright light steaming down. We did ask for it to be looked at but were told the previous occupants must have broken it. Surely this sort of thing should be checked and rectified after every booking? The shower fell out of its holder as soon as the water was turned on so impossible to use, I ended up having to hold the shower head. The whole apartment had a strange musty smell to it and it looked as if it needed a good clean. All the windows had cobwebs on them and on opening them we noticed lots of dead flies.
We had to leave early in theorising but the pub was closed and there was nowhere to leave our key. Perhaps this could have been mentioned on 'check in' but as mentioned above we didn't get any info.
All in all it was very disappointing and I would hesitate to return. After my stay I wouldn't recommend the Stables.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

We stayed in Snug 2 which was the apartment that I had fallen in love with on their website. It was like a cute little flat with an upstairs loft bedroom with rustic wooden beams and had a sunken bath. Checked in at the bar downstairs and was guided to our room by a very helpful member of staff. With several options for dinner, (eating downstairs, ordering food and bringing it back or buying in our own) we decided to drive 5mins to the local Asda and buying some supplies for dinner and breakfast.

My only small wee problem with the place was that the plastic spatula in the room wasn't very sturdy and wouldn't pick up a lot of the chicken we were stir-frying. It kept bending and dropping it back in the pan. Also, we didn't get a scourer or plastic brush for the dishes, just a j-cloth so we weren't able to clean the dishes as thoroughly as I'd liked (apologies to Romney's for this).

Such a lovely accommodation in a lovely part of the UK and so much more interesting a place than those boring nondescript travel lodges. I would move in permanently if I could!

Room Tip: Snug 2 is perfect for couples!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MishImpossible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

This was a very special trip for us as we were celebrating our first wedding anniversary. Romneys were fantastic from checking us in and showing us round our lodge, to check out, we were in lodge 4. Nothing was too much trouble for them and all staff were very polite and friendly. The pub is also great, we wanted to book a table but was told it wasn't something they do. Great atmosphere, very busy but fast service.
Would definitely book again, apartments are a close enough walk into the town centre with a local supermarket near by to get all your essentials. Can't rate it high enough!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whiteside83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
97 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

We stayed in one of the apartments with an upstairs bathroom and double bedroom - which has a big bunkbed in the living room/kitchen downstairs. This seemed excellent value as a "family" stop off.. in fact the kitchen was rather basic so don't expect to cook much more than breakfast there. The gastro-pub attached is excellent - good beer and food (although only one vegetarian main I think!). We had to drive down the road for breakfast - which would be a bit of a pain on a holiday stop-over (so bring some breakfast with you!)

Decor is pretty amazing - the huge TV on the bedroom wall/ceiling, massive bath etc...

Toddlers/elderly - Watch out with the fairly tight spiral staircase to the upstairs.

in summary highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

Came here for a 3 night stay during the week. Very clean, well equipped, delightful location, right next door to a lovely pub ... Only slight downside was no bedside drawers so no where to unpack underwear etc but certainly not a major issue.... I will be back :-)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl1264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

What an excellent find in Kendal. We stayed for one night but wish we could have stayed longer! The apartments are homely, stylish and well equipped and very clean. James the manager was extremely helpful! accommodating and nothing was too much trouble.

Room Tip: Cosy accommodation, will definitely be back!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Else68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kendal hotels
1.1 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 15 in Kendal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
0.6 mi away
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 15 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 15 in Kendal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lyndhurst Guest House
Lyndhurst Guest House
#2 of 42 in Kendal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romneys Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romneys Apartments

Property: Romneys Apartments
Address: Milnthorpe Road, Kendal LA9 5HG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Romneys Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romneys Apartments Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing