We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Miss”
other travelers have booked this property
Holmescales Cottage, from the lane - one of a pair of traditional farm cottages.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Holmescales Cottage, from the lane - one of a pair of traditional farm cottages.
Sitting room - woodburning stove, dining table, sofa, books and games. Sitting room - woodburning stove - lovely and cosy, whatever the weather.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Holmescales Cottage, from the lane - one of a pair of traditional farm cottages.
Sitting room - woodburning stove, dining table, sofa, books and games.
Sitting room - woodburning stove - lovely and cosy, whatever the weather.
Sitting room - dining table for 4, TV, sofa, and views across lane to fields.
Sitting room - showing sofa and bookcase with board games, and stairs.
Downstairs hallway - newly painted. Useful cloakroom/WC on ground floor
Hallway leading through to kitchen, rear porch and utility room with all facilities.
Brand new kitchen - double oven, gas hob, dishwasher, microwave, fridge, freezer, rear laundry room.
Kitchen, with views onto garden.
Main bedroom with double bed and antique furniture. Rural  views to fields across the lane.
Main bedroom - antique furniture (wardrobe, chest of drawers, Arts and Crafts bed) TV, books.
Main bedroom -showing window
Lovely rural view from the main bedroom. Shetland ponies graze in the field across the lane
March 2015 - view from main bedroom window, Holmescales Cottage
Main bedroom, looking across hallway to second bedroom.
Twin bedroom, overlooking garden and fields.
Twin bedroom - two 3-foot single beds, with TV/DVD player and lovely views to garden and hot tub.
Very pretty half-panelled bathroom with Victorian freestanding bath (shower over) WC and basin
March 2015 - garden showing hot tub on right.
March 2015 - view of cottage from hot tub
Lower part of garden, showing cottage - dining furniture, BBQ and chiminea for outdoor fires.
Front door facing lane.  Enter through the gate on the right.
March 2015 - view across the lane, from the cottage gateway.
August 2015 - breakfast in the cottage garden (next to the hot tub) with horses in field.
1st April 2017 - lovely way to start the day x
April 2017 - view of garden from the bathroom.
View from kitchen window. April 2017.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kendal, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Elena E
1 review
“Miss”
Reviewed February 20, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Lovely beautiful cottage. Great location, kind of in the middle of nowhere but with easy quick access to the lakes and nature.
Cottage has all the essentials for your sleep, relax, play, cook and unwind.
We went for a romantic week over the New Years and had the most relaxing time

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 21, 2018
Thank you for the lovely review. I am pleased you enjoyed your visit and hope we may welcome you back again one day. Best wishes from Catherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christoph...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect getaway”
Reviewed October 18, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Homescales cottage was the perfect location for our first wedding anniversary break. Close enough to the lakes, with everything easily reachable from a few miles drive away in Kendal, and yet in its own quiet location away from very busy areas. The cottage was cosy and somehow felt spacious at the same time, the fully enclosed garden was beautiful and perfect for our boxer dog to be left to explore...and the hot tub was such a welcome treat after long walks in the day (come rain or shine!) We can't wait to plan our next visit to this idyllic cottage and I cannot recommend it enough.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 21, 2017
Many thanks Chris. I am very pleased you enjoyed your visit. Hope to welcome you back one day. X
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Footprint...
1 review
“Lovely house”
Reviewed August 30, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Fantastic location , lovely views and gardens , hot tub a welcome extra , would definitely 're visit

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 9, 2017
Many thanks for your lovely review. X
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorandlee
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect relaxation”
Reviewed August 24, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

A fantastic little cottage with the most amazing views . Bath time was like taking a spa retreat . I am due my 3rd baby in a couple of months and it was the perfect place to relax.

Kendal is 10 min drive ( a car is a must to make the most of the area ) we used the large Asda and also visited a local pizza shop one evening that was lovely !

We decided to cook every evening bar one and this was because of the beautiful setting of the cottage . We enjoyed cooking together and sitting around the table to eat . The cottage has absolutely everything you could need to prepare and serve food!

On a night we lit the beautiful fire and watched movies .

I have 2 children aged 7 and 8. During the week we spent the money saved on eating on exploring the lakes !

The children went horse riding down the lane - Holmescales riding centre - which they LOVED £50 for both of them for a private treck out

They did the tree top ropes at brockenhow - Fantastic ! £80 for my husband and children.

We visited south lakes zoo ! £10 entry ( £14 for feeding and £20 for dinner )

They paddle boarded at white cross bay water sports centre £50 for my husband and son for 2 hours !

They spent endless hours swimming and having fun in the lake at white cross ! ( take wetsuits )

We visited the black Labrador pub - a 15 min drive one night and had a drink by their fire !

It was the perfect break and we can't wait to return !

Thank you Catherine x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 24, 2017
Thank you for your lovely review. I would love to try the paddle boarding ! So pleased you enjoyed your stay. Many thanks xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer...
Switzerland
1 review
“Quiet holiday in a lovely cottage with the hot tub as a bonus”
Reviewed August 9, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We really enjoyed our stay in the cottage. Catherine was very helpful with everything from booking to directions to answering all questions. The are are some gentle walks around the cottage with splendid views. The drive to Kendal town only takes about 10mins and there is ample opportunity to dine and shop. We went to Windermere, Ambleside, and Arnside from Holmescales cottage. They are all just 30-40mins drive away with stunning scenery all around.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2017
Many thanks for your lovely comments. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay at Holmescales Cottage. Best wishes from Catherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charles82...
Siena, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Delightful cottage with peaceful surroundings.”
Reviewed July 9, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed our ten day stay in this cottage. Catherine has made the home very welcoming with all you need:a well equipped kitchen,utility room, WiFi, books and games galore plus leaflets of local places to visit and not forgetting the hot tub which is great fun. The front room has an attractive wood burning fire with stone surround and the beds were comfortable with views of ponies in the fields in front. So peaceful yet the Lakes, Dales and M6 are all within easy reach. Highly recommended! and Catherine was most helpful answering all our queries. We would certainly return again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 5, 2017
Many thanks for your lovely review. We hope to welcome you back one day. x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel Di...
1 review
“Stay at Holmescales Cottage”
Reviewed June 4, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed this romantic cottage break. Fabulous cottage, surroundings, log fire, hot tub, games, kitchen, master bedroom, master bathroom... The owner was fabulous, responding quickly before and during our stay. She has thought of everything to make the stay so special. Would thoroughly recommend. Many thanks. Sam and Sarah xx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 16, 2017
Dear Sam and Sarah - I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your kind comments. Best wishes from Catherine x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing