We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful clean food! ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Relish

Relish
Ranked #26 of 146 Restaurants in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $12
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Cash Only, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Grade 2 listed building in the heart of Kendal, serving locally sourced home made food - famed for our pulled pork & homemade BBQ sauce, slow cooked beef chilli, soups & breads, home roasted meats, and of course Karen's famous cakes.
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful clean food! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Found this cafe whilst wandering through Kendal, had beautiful simple lunch with great service. They food was fresh and home-made, you couldn't ask for more!

Helpful?
Thank Facefoodfiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    28
    7
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Annes-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A good little sandwich shop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

As I am not a resident of Kendal, this sandwich shop was recommended to me by work colleagues.
It's situated up on of the side streets in Kendal, near the Square.
The outside looks inviting and having stepped inside I was not disappointed.
The sandwich counter has lots of fresh ingredients to make the sandwiches with, it also has a sit down area if you have the time to let the world go by.
My standard for any 'new' sandwich shop is basic - can they make a good chees and pickle sandwich?
This was order on a brown barm (bap) with cumbrian pickle and delicious grated cheese.
Thumbs up all round and not expensive. I will definitely visit again - keep up the good work

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TasteBudD186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Quick and delicious lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

When looking for somewhere to have a quick bite of lunch when visiting Kendal and stumbled across this little gem. Delicious food with friendly and prompt service and a nice chat with the proprietor about our dietery requirements. One of us had a baked potato (large choice of fillings) and the other a sandwich, as we were booked in for dinner at our hotel later and didn't want too large a lunch - though we could have quite happily eaten anything of the menu. The roast pork baguettes looked amazing and the salad bar had a delicious choice of dishes. Highly recommended, would definitely call again when in Kendal. Only fault?? - a little on the small size, not many tables - but this does make it very cosy.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JAMMF_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
“Roast pork sandwich to die for!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

We were looking for a quiet and quick lunch in a rainy Kendal and happened upon this lovely little cafe. Service was with a smile, prompt and the food was nourishing. I had a hot roast pork sandwich (see pics) which was thoroughly enjoyed. Certainly one to visit in the opinion of our group of five.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holywell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“What a great little find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

Was looking for something to eat with 2 adults and 3 hungry children. What a fab place to go, lovely food, lovely staff who couldn't do enough for us, well worth a visit

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dav9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Relish also viewed

Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 
Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to Relish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing