We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, lovely staff”
Review of Relish

Relish
Ranked #21 of 150 Restaurants in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $13
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch
Description: Grade 2 listed building in the heart of Kendal, serving locally sourced home made food - famed for our pulled pork & homemade BBQ sauce, slow cooked beef chilli, soups & breads, home roasted meats, and of course Karen's famous cakes.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food, lovely staff”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Have been coming here for ages for take out food as it's the best quality and value for miles around. Brent and his staff are always really friendly and welcoming. Had lunch in the cosy new cafe today for a treat and did not disappoint .. Cheers!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Georgiporgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    32
    8
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch in Kendal”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We saw this small cafe/restaurant and were tempted inside by what looked to be a well thought out menu, offering just what we wanted at the time. All the food was so fresh and appetizing, and we experienced no 'bad hygiene habits' which we were surprised to see mentioned in an earlier review. My salad was a very generous portion, consisted of various separate home-made salads, including hummous, tapenade, pasta, feta, dressed leaves, etc. and was accompanied with my choice from a varied selection of cheeses, meats, quiches, etc. My husband had the hot dish of the day, found it difficult to choose whether to have one of the hot baguettes, but he was very pleased with the generous and delicious portion of cassoulet when it arrived. There are lots of home-made cakes, scones, etc to choose from, but unfortunately we could not manage on that occasion!

We have since returned about 5 times and the standard has remained consistent, very reasonably priced, served by really pleasant staff. This establishment serves good, fresh food and we would heartily recommend. Although not a massive menu the food is the best of its type, not everything and everything with chips!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aram s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kendal
1 review
“real home cooked food”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

not only is the owner (brent) knowledgable himself but so are his staff. add to this the fantastic service, friendly welcoming staff, great atmosphere and top drawer food you have a must try if your in kendal!!!

Helpful?
Thank ldenney
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kendal, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Can't recommend Relish enough! Top drawer service, always a friendly atmosphere, no matter how grim it can be outside! Food is first class and alway satisfies the appetite.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HackJoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food let down by bad hygiene”
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Really lovely produce which is badly let down by girls flicking their hair then serving you with no gloves on and picking the chicken up with hands, come on guys a bit of cleanliness and hygiene please !

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Martha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Relish also viewed

Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to Relish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing