We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cannot advise anybody to visit”
Review of Alexander's

Alexander's
Ranked #39 of 156 Restaurants in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Alexander's serves some of the finest pub food in the Lake District, with something to tempt all palates - a combination of hearty traditional pub fayre, locally sourced steakboard and contemporary twists on your favourite dishes. We're passionate about real ales have four local ales on tap at any one time
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Terrible english pub food.Who gave 4 1/2 stars?Must have had too much watery beer.
The glases are not clean.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Hansimann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at Alexander's, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

It is always disappointing to receive such feedback as we work hard to ensure all our guests receive the best possible service and experience. We do sometimes however have to accept that we cannot please everybody. The good news is that the vast majority of feedback we receive is positive and we are passionate about using any constructive feedback to improve how we do things.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

206 - 210 of 218 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

Nice village style pub seperate from the hotel. Friendly staff and delicious home cooked pub food. Real ale lovers will be happy as have a selection of real ales and nice outside eating area.

Thank scrummieman1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Today we went to Alexanders pub for lunch.
Apart from my party (2) there were no other customers, the order was taken quickly and the drinks arrived promptly, however the food took a while to arrive, although I believe it is made from scratch.

When the food did arrive we were both disappointed with the standard of food presented.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 4,344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at Alexander's, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Please accept my apologies regarding your disappointment with your chosen meal. You are correct in stating that we do prepare all meals to order and this can sometimes mean it take a little longer. It is not clear from your review which dishes you ordered and whether you mentioned your disappointment to the person who looked after you. This makes it very difficult for me to comment further.

Should you be willing to give us another chance then please make your table reservation directly with Les our Pub Manager or his assistant Abbie who will take care of your needs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We enjoyed the informal atmosphere and good food. The staff are friendly and helpful. It is next to the hotel and a pleasant stroll through beautiful gardens.

Thank mialanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Great atmosphere and great staff. Choice of real ales and good food. Lots of outside space to enjoy when the weather is nice and ample parking

Thank jbcfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alexander's also viewed

Kendal, Lake District
 
Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to Alexander's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing