We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic weekend break - would return in a...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
Living room with wood burning stove
Meadow View Barn is located within Simgill Farm where Alpacas roam over its many acres
Main bathroom with separate shower cubicle
Oak dining table seating 12
One of the en suites
Views from the kitchen door
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Kendal, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
321grace
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic weekend break - would return in a heartbeat!”
Reviewed November 5, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

As part a large group for my sister's hen party, I stayed at Meadow View and Gill Side Barn at SimGill Farm. From initial enquiry to the conclusion of our stay, the owners were accommodating and efficient. The accommodation itself was sublime... finished to the highest standards and impeccably clean; it was worth it's 5* luxury rating. Everyone had a fantastic weekend and couldn't believe how lovely it was. Thank you!

Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gtibabe
1 review
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed August 24, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We were a family of 7 adults and 3 children and have had an excellent stay at the property. The owners are lovely people and nothing was too much trouble. The children loved feeding the Alpacas and playing with the owners two dogs. The accommodation was excellent well equipped with plenty of space for us all. Furnished to a high standard and clean. It's location is good and is easy to reach other visiting places/attractions. Would deffinately recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJBaines1...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A wonderland”
Reviewed August 4, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Myself and a group of friends stayed at Meadow View Farm in July.



The cottage is located just North of Kendal at around a 5 minute drive away, convenient for grocery shopping. The cottage is surrounded by breathtaking views making it hard to believe how close you are to Kendal.


The cottage adopts a modern and homely interior and has been kept in perfect condition. 

The kitchen offers a wide array of utensils with an excellent set of modern kitchen appliances making it comfortable to cook for a large group.



The outside of the cottage features long picnic benches and an easily accessible BBQ that also allows cooking for a large group.

Finally, the owners are extremely welcoming and accommodating.

Regular communication and constant smiles finished off the making of an unforgettable experience. I'm excited to re-visit in the future.

I can't recommend this accommodation enough - don't miss out!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location was unbelievable
Liked least: Leaving...
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola G
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
1 review
“A beautiful house in a gorgeous location perfect for our family holiday.”
Reviewed July 18, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We have just spent an amazing week at the gorgeous Meadow View Barn on Simgill Farm. The house/cottage was fantastic, very well equipped, in a beautiful location and perfect for our extended family holiday. We were a party of 8 adults, 3 children and 3 babies and the house was ideal. The owners are right on site and nothing is too much trouble for them. They even arranged for us to meet the alpacas which the children absolutely loved. A gorgeous house which we would highly recommend to others.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bones_and...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Come for the cottages, stay for the alpacas!”
Reviewed April 13, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Wonderful weekend at Meadow View Barn! 13 of us stayed in the house for my best friend's hen weekend. The house was spacious, beautiful and well equipped. The starter welcome basket was a lovely touch! The owners were very friendly and extremely accomodating (and enthusiastic) when it came to letting the bride-to-be have a pop at alpaca herding. Overall a wonderful visit - we were reliant on taxis for much of the weekend, which was pricy given the remote location, but we had anticipated this.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beatrice...
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful accomodation in a lovely location with Alpacas!”
Reviewed March 31, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We stayed for a weekend hendo with a group of 17 in Gill Side Barn. The accommodation looks lovely on the website, but the photos really doesn't do it justice! The house is gorgeous! It has a really communal feel - there is a lovely big cosy living room with big squishy sofas, a big hearth with a log burner and a beautiful brand new shiny kitchen! There's also a dining room which is perfect for dinner for big groups. The beds were really comfy and the whole place is beautifully furnished. It's really easy to get to from the M6, but in a beautiful quiet location and only 5 miles from Kendal. Joe and Wendy are lovely and we had so much fun feeding and petting their herd of alpacas! They are such cute friendly gentle animals, it was a real highlight of the weekend! I couldn't recommend this place highly enough! Thanks for a brilliant weekend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel J
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful house in fantastic countryside!”
Reviewed March 24, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We stayed at Meadow View for a hen weekend and had a fantastic weekend. Wendy and Joe were incredibly helpful and accommodating, taking in a supermarket shop for us before our arrival and letting us have a late check out as well as being on hand for any questions we might have and to show us around the property. The house and surroundings were beautiful and well looked after and we saw the Alpacas being fed both mornings, the hen was even allowed to heard the animals! I would fully recommend hiring this house and would definitely stay here again.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing