We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wished we'd stayed longer! Perfect in every way!”
other travelers have booked this property
Barn Court Cottage is locates within Simgill Farm where Alpacas roam over it's many acres
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Barn Court Cottage is locates within Simgill Farm where Alpacas roam over it's many acres
Large private garden Living room with french doors opening onto patio, garden area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Barn Court Cottage is locates within Simgill Farm where Alpacas roam over it's many acres
Large private garden
Living room with french doors opening onto patio, garden area
Arched window leading upstairs
First floor main bathroom with seperate shower cubicle
Seating area with beautiful views
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Kendal, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Laura H
UK
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Wished we'd stayed longer! Perfect in every way!”
Reviewed July 19, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Booked with 9 other guests (and a baby) for 2-nights in July after seeing the rave reviews on TripAdvisor and it didn't disappoint.

Set in beautiful surroundings, neither the exterior or interior photos really do this place justice! We were stunned by the space, the homeliness of the place and the finish of each and every room.

Everything you'd need for a weekend away with a large group is here - accommodation is immaculate, there is ample parking, we had a little basket of goodies waiting for us on arrival and there was even a little basket of wood in the lounge should we want to make a fire.

Location-wise, it's a short drive from Kendal and close to the M6, but when you're at the accommodation, you really feel as if you're away from it all.

Our stay was made even more memorable by the visit to feed the Alpaca's. If you're with a group of 8 or more, I don't think you'll ever find a better place to stay in the Lake District than here.

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 20, 2016
Thank you so much for the lovely review, most appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelpep...
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“My second time staying at Simgill and it didn't disappoint!”
Reviewed April 19, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This was actually my second time to stay at Simgill Farm. I thought the hen weekend I organised last year at Gill Side Barn was so good that I recommended it to the organisers this time.

Barn Court didn't disappoint! The accommodation was spacious, comfortable and well furnished, the surroundings are beautiful, especially on a sunny Spring morning. I enjoyed meeting and feeding the alpacas again with the group and listening to Wendy talking about their experience with keeping them.

I would happily visit a third time!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Quantity of toilet paper provided and distance from shops to get more
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 19, 2016
Thank you for the lovely review, we hope to see you a 3rd time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beth s
Newcastle and Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing! ”
Reviewed February 29, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Recently spent the night here to celebrate a friends birthday. Had an amazing time would recommend for friends and families alike. The alpaca experience was the total highlight and an absolute must. Thanks for a great weekend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 15, 2016
Thank you for your review, glad you enjoyed your time here and our alpacas. Hope to see you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Globe T
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Fantastic setting and luxury accommodation”
Reviewed February 17, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Wow, what a fantastic place. Around half an hour's drive from Kendal, the cottage is located on a farm with alpacas. The cottage is beautiful and has been fitted out to an excellent specification. The owners are very friendly and we were able to meet and feed the alpacas! I would definitely recommend staying here!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 18, 2016
Thank you for your lovely review. Glad you enjoyed your stay and meeting our alpacas up close. It was unfortunate you had to take detours to Kendal due to road re-surfacing on the main route in to town it normally only takes 10 minutes to Kendal. Hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sallysig
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family and friends Lake District half term holiday”
Reviewed November 2, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Our large party consisted of my 86 year old dad, aunty and uncle, cousins and my husband and daughter. We stayed at this lovely barn for the half-term hols. We found travelling around the Lakes good from this location easy. We enjoyed returning to Barn Court Cottage each day and enjoying the comfort, warmth, space and peace of this rural location. We felt really relaxed and peaceful in this wonderful valley. The owners were very helpful and friendly. We enjoyed meeting the incredibly beautiful alpacas in the barn one wet and windy day. The cottage was very well equipped with everything we needed. We enjoyed lots of lovely meals in the kitchen and sitting by the log fire in the sitting room in the evenings. I would definitely go back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space and the location.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy S
1 review
“Fab weekend getaway”
Reviewed June 20, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Me and my friends had just graduated from Durham University and we wanted to go away for a few days in the Lakes for a bit of a break. We couldn't believe our luck when we turned up at Barn Court. The house itself was lovely and the fact that it was on an alpaca farm made it even better.
We had travelled by train and we didn't have a car but getting taxis to and from Kendal was very easy and not particularly expensive so we were able to go further afield to go on walks around Lake Windermere,
I would recommend getting a Tesco food order to be delivered when you get there as it made things much easier,
Wendy and John were very hospitable and on the whole we really enjoyed our stay. Would definitely recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of the property was very good
Liked least: The location wasn't as close to as many walks as we would have liked
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire P
Lee on the Solent
1 review
“Perfect setting for a relaxing break”
Reviewed June 10, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Perfect setting for a relaxing break with family or any large group. Property completed to a high standard and well equipped for a large group. Very comfortable. Enjoyed meeting the alpacas. Would love a return visit.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing