We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bootleggers best buzzing bar in Kendal”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bootleggers Bar

Bootleggers Bar
Ranked #1 of 10 Nightlife in Kendal
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: With live music every Thursday, Friday and Sunday, interspersed with ticketed gigs throughout the year, there is something to suit everyone. For those who love to dance, we have a DJ every Saturday night. We believe Bootleggers is one of the best music venues in the North of England providing great music, and a great atmosphere. With a capacity of 500, a separate viewing gallery with its own bar, in-house PA System, in-house sound engineer and a great pint, we think we've about covered it all. The upstairs gallery bar and viewing area can be hired for private use; whether for private gigs, birthdays, exhibitions, work parties, hen parties etc. With an in-house PA System and Sound Engineer (if required), we can accommodate most musical requirements. You can also have your gig recorded by our sound engineer. We have vast experience of concerts, DJ nights, comedy nights, celebrations, etc. Please contact us, we'd be happy to discuss your requirements.
Kendal
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Bootleggers best buzzing bar in Kendal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

The music scene here is second to none, all the local bands I've ever seen here have been worth seeing, some are outstanding. Plus they regularly have well known acts on for which they charge a small admission. It's great that there is such a place in a small town like Kendal, other pubs here are so half-hearted about putting bands on and really aren't geared up for it.
I love the little quirky touches in Bootleggers, all sorts of weird and wonderful things around the walls and above the stage. I've always found the staff friendly, they have some great beers and in general the place has a super atmosphere. It's always buzzing at weekends, especially when one of the popular local bands are on.
If you'd like a pint of mild and a quiet chat about Jesus, try the Ring-o-Bells. If you want to go where it's all happening, go to Bootleggers.
Best bar in town.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Lucy-Kendal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    7
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Just another Kendal bar”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Kendal is a small town and when you have lived here all your life you get used to what there is as there isnt many places. I think with Bootleggers your view can change and it all depends on what mood your in and who you are there with. But to me it is just another place to have a few drinks with friends. I dont like the fact that you sometimes have to pay to get in as it is nothing special and is not the main place to be on a Saturday night. Dont get me wrong when some of the bands are in there can be a real buzz, but i feel like they let too many people in so it is overcrowded with people who just want to get drunk so it is difficult to move and have a dance.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank princess-stacy-april
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
229 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Good for music but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

This place attracts lots of good bands - particularly cover bands. You can pretty much always guarantee a good crowd on a Friday night. My only quibble is that the upstairs area is so badly used. Their latest addition is a cage which looks like something you would store a rabid dog in! But still, give it a go - a great late bar on the Kendal pub crawl circuit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kazza9173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Place Great Music”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We were visiting a friend in Kendal and stayed over the weekend, he asked if we like live rock n roll music of course we do. Se he gave us instructions to Bootleggers and met us there. This place is gem, if you like music and you are staying in the area give it a go, loads of free gigs, some paying ones, some solid bands, Wishbone Ash, Blaze Bailey to mention 2. So not just run of the mill pub bands. Brilliant set up.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank KB1N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
644 reviews
301 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
“good place to hang out after all that walking !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Live music on Fridays, there is a DJ playing good variety of rock, pop, soul and chart music on Saturdays, very chilled crowd, casually dressed, friendly, just off the main street in the town centre.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mister J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bootleggers Bar also viewed

Kendal, Lake District
 
Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to Bootleggers Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing