We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful, comfortable, surrounded by beautiful...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Ashstead Farmhouse

Ashstead Farmhouse, Semi detached, rustic, tradtional,  exposed stone walls, wooden beams.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ashstead Farmhouse, Semi detached, rustic, tradtional,  exposed stone walls, wooden beams.
Piano room, dvd& lamp, WIFI, books, wooden train track, games, and toddler toys in the cupboards.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
81 reviews
Ashstead Farmhouse, Semi detached, rustic, tradtional,  exposed stone walls, wooden beams.
Piano room, dvd& lamp, WIFI, books, wooden train track, games, and toddler toys in the cupboards.
Dinning room, seating for eight and a High chair if required.
Dinning room
The Kitchen, accessed down one step from the dinning room, there is also a door leading outside.
Downstairs toilet and sink
Stairs from the sitting room
Landing
Pink double bedroom
Pink double bedroom
Bathroom, electric shower above the bath.
The view from the cairn on Ashstead Fell
Borrowdale between Shap and Tebay.
Walk from Ashstead to High Barrow Bridge
Leicester ewe with her quads
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Kendal, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 81 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
rachyburt
Santa Cruz, Bolivia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful, comfortable, surrounded by beautiful countryside, great for a family”
Reviewed February 20, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Walks in the hills from the doorstep, away from roads and traffic. Very well equipped kitchen and lovely large dining room table. Cosy open fire (which was needed to help keep us warm!). Spotlessly clean on arrival. Personal touch of balloons which had been put up, on request, as we were celebrating a birthday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chanterei...
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Large home, conveniently located BUT . . . .”
Reviewed February 16, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This home is well located with easy access to good shopping and restaurants and the beautiful Lakes District. It is very clean and comfortable. However, our stay was significantly marred when we saw dogs in concrete cages on the property who were barking, running back and forth and clearly distressed. Even more upsetting was seeing cows fenced into a very small pen standing in rain, mud and faeces. Whilst the home is advertised as a farmhouse, we were unprepared for this scene.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Authentic rural setting - perfect family get-away location”
Reviewed February 14, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The location is spectacular - views of Lakeland fells all around, and situated on a proper working farm. We walked from the house in both directions - stunning views from the doorstep.

The house was plenty big enough for us all - 7 adults and 2 young children. Tastefully furnished with big comfy sofas, good mattresses, and the kitchen well-equipped for all our culinary needs - including a Burns' Supper! An open fire is always a treat, and being January it was always lit - only problem the house was quite cold downstairs. Bedrooms toasty warm though!

Helen and family are lovely hosts.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanaManch...
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing weekend with family”
Reviewed February 8, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We visited Ashstead Farmhouse for a weekend to celebrate my birthday. We had an amazing time. The house is lovely, there is a real fireplace as well as heating. Helen made the house very cosy! She also decorated the dining room with balloons for my birthday.

We had everything we could ask for! From milk in the fridge, wood for the fireplace ready on a doorstep to an amazing visit to the farm where we saw two day old cow, tiny lamb and fabulous horses.

We were also able to buy some delicious free range eggs from Helen's son.

I would recommend this to everyone who is looking for a well-deserved break with family or friends.

We will definitely visit Ashstead Farmhouse again!

Hana

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing getaway”
Reviewed February 8, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Nicely cleaned and well looked after property to start from, stayed two amazing days, very nice place to be in, very nice, clean and spacious rooms, perfect getaway and amazing place to be,
Very polite and helpful house owner,
Highly recommended,

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 20, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
skyrocket...
Leeds
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved this place! We will be back!”
Reviewed September 22, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Helen and family couldn't have been more accomodating and we loved our stay at Ashtead Farmhouse.
We went for my dads 70th birthday and he was thrilled by the thoughtful balloons and card that Helen left for him. It's such a peaceful spot and we were totally at home in this gorgeous house.
We had a real fire every night and it was so cosy and relaxing to chill out in our countryside retreat.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place and we will definitely be back.
Thank you Helen! X

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The real fire! I learned a new skill
Liked least: Nothing we liked it all.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing