We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Thai in Kendal.”
Review of Little Thai Chef - CLOSED

Little Thai Chef
Price range: $3 - $12
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Takeout
Description: Celebrated Chef Tanaporn Galloway cooks authentic Street Food from North East and Central Thailand. Tana has sold Little Thai Chef on Branthwaite Brow Kendal but still cooks on a bespoke basis for up to 8 guests at her apartment in central Kendal. She also selects local products and ingredients to create great Thai/British fusion dishes. Little Thai Chef is Coeliac, Gluten Free and Vegetarian/Vegan and specific allergy friendly. We offer speciality Thai cookery lessons for groups of 2-6 people. Please mention your requirements prior to placing your order.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best Thai in Kendal.”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

Authentic Thai cuisine, lovingly and individually prepared. Everything is cooked fresh, using only the best local ingredients where possible. The food is sensational and excellent value for money. I've had three meals from the Little Thai Chef this week alone, each time introducing family or friends to Tana's cooking (having raved about it to them in the past) and they've all been seriously impressed! Consistently great food and excellent service.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank FionsTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanaporn G, Owner at Little Thai Chef, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. Always happy to cook food for you. Tana. X
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    13
    9
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The tastiest Thai I've ever had!”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

Finally tried the little Thai chef after hearing such wonderful things about it and I wasn't disappointed. A lovely menu selection including some very cheap lunch specials! Generous portions, beautiful food and lovely staff! The food is super tasty and fresh. Tana cooks everything to order and you can taste the difference! Can't wait to go back, couldn't recommend this place more!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sunsandandcocktails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanaporn G, Owner at Little Thai Chef, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. Always happy to cook food for you. Tana. X
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Constantly brilliant”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Tana cooks brilliant food everytime, sampled a good majority of the menu now and every dish is tasty and fresh. Big fan of the green chicken curry, especially with egg fried rice which is completely different to the oily type served in Chinese takeaways.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank AndyRobison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanaporn G, Owner at Little Thai Chef, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. Always happy to cook food for you. Tana. X
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent value in a touristy town”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

On the last day of a family holiday in the Lake District, inevitably broke, we came by chance to Kendal for an extended stay over lunch. There is a huge array of places to choose from here and it was purely by chance we blundered across the Little Thai Chef.

After a week of haute cuisine cum upmarket pub food, we were glad to find somewhere with a bit of spice and low prices. The lunchtime deal is much as in any Thai, with a selection of four curries with rice, pad thai and tom yam, all at £4.50 or less. Excellent value for decent quality Thai, no frills and you can sit in the window and eat if no-one else is doing so already, otherwise it is take-away. It is also dog-friendly.

The owner lady is very friendly and chatty too - though I'm glad I did not know her name was Tanaporn Galloway, or I would never have kept a straight face...

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Warmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanaporn G, Owner at Little Thai Chef, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. Always happy to cook food for you. Tana. X
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Freshly and tasty Thai foods ”
Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

The foods are always looking beautiful and tasting very lovely . The staffs are friendly and kindly serving the foods well when me and my family eat in the shop; or take away home which we always have the same delicious foods. One of my fav dishes is "the hot and spicy Tomyum noodles soup with seafood". Can't tell how many times I have been to the shop for foods ... just because it's so yummy!

Helpful?
2 Thank KimTran77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanaporn G, Owner at Little Thai Chef, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. Always happy to cook food for you. Tana. X
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Thai Chef also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing