We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed!”
Review of Little Thai Chef - CLOSED

Little Thai Chef
Price range: $3 - $12
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Takeout
Description: Celebrated Chef Tanaporn Galloway cooks authentic Street Food from North East and Central Thailand. Tana has sold Little Thai Chef on Branthwaite Brow Kendal but still cooks on a bespoke basis for up to 8 guests at her apartment in central Kendal. She also selects local products and ingredients to create great Thai/British fusion dishes. Little Thai Chef is Coeliac, Gluten Free and Vegetarian/Vegan and specific allergy friendly. We offer speciality Thai cookery lessons for groups of 2-6 people. Please mention your requirements prior to placing your order.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Me and my husband had a takeaway from little chef already once and it wasn't very good ,but decided to give it a second chance. Unfortunately the second time wasn't better. Fish cakes were very greasy and tasted rubbery, the pork with mixed vegetables had only vegetables- no sign of a pork, pad thai with prawns had only 4 large prawns- the rest were little shrimps. It was disappointing and we will never go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 6, 2013

I am so sorry to have read your review. I was in Thailand when you placed your order which was cooked by our locum chef. As a result of this review this Chef will not be working for us again. Firstly I must apologise for the Fish Cakes and Phad Thai which were not up to our usual high standard. I have spoken to Mathew who took your order and there must have been some confusion as he remembers you asking for Crispy Pork Belly stir fry without the pork. Confused, he double checked with you and accordingly charged you for stir fried mixed vegetables which is what the dish is with pork removed. As such you were not overcharged. Please can you contact me at your convenience and I will personally re cook your order free of charge. Tana.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (164)
There are newer reviews for Little Thai Chef
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 151 of 164 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2013

I stopped by the other day in this beautiful restaurant the food was amazing the service was first class I have eaten in Thailand many times and this is as close as it get to being authentic. Well done and keep up the hard work. Will be back again soon and will be eating here again

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Simon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 6, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. Tana. X

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

I've had lunch at little Thai chef a few times. The food is fresh to order so you can make requests on how hot you like it. Delicately but beautifully flavoured food with a reasonable selection of choice and a decent portion size. The lady who owns little Thai. Chef is warm, friendly and very ethusiastic and often so are the other staff.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SBladex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 6, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. Tana X

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

There is no real choice for vegetarians which is very disappointing and its quite pricey for what you get. :-(

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
6  Thank ann r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded May 16, 2013

Thank you for giving your feedback. I am sorry that you were not offered a wider coice of vegetarian options as we use fresh tofu as an alternative to meat on request. This gives vegetarians a choice of 3 starters and 8 main dishes. I am currently in thailand finalising the new Summer menu and we do have a much wider selection for vegetarians including a banquet option from early June. Regarding price and portion size, we do ensure we are the same price or cheaper than the local competition and aim for higher quality. This policy will continue. Without constructive feedback we cannot improve so please try the new menu and let me know what you think. Tana. X

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Great for a lunch break at work, really friendly staff and get service everytime.
They even delivery when busy at work and having to grab something in between customers. Such good value for money.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 6, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. Tana. X

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Thai Chef also viewed

 
Kendal, Lake District
 
Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing