We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful shop and beautiful chocolate!”

1657 Chocolate House
Ranked #1 of 5 Dessert in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Hailsham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful shop and beautiful chocolate!”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We came to Kendal on a day trip and as I'm a huge chocolate lover I just had to come here! The shop is wonderful and quaint down a lovely cobbled street. The inside feels like you have been transported back in time which I loved. The selection of hot chocolate drinks was pretty amazing and at a great price too, especially when you compare it with major highstreet brands! Not only is the chocolate amazing but the names are too, we had the 'Original Aztec Experience' (five spices) and 'Slave Trader' (banana) both of which were delicious, would most definitely return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cotty90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    62
    12
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“mmmmmm”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I have always managed to find something for who ever I've been looking for, and often found my self buying something sweet sticky or both for myself, always busy so it has to be good, its a joy to return.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“lovely hot chocolate!!!!”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

visited the 1657 chocolate house was lovely you could choose loads of hot chocolates i had the strawberry Eminence gorgeous just down the stairs there is a chocolate store i bought a box of 16 chocolates which was presented in a gorgeous butterfly box really nice place friendly staff would definitely visit again!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel200820092011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Choccy paradise”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Great old fashioned tea room with fab selection of chocolate treats. The hot chocolate drink is highly recommended.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank ShirazMerlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitley bay
Level 6 Contributor
57 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Quirky Chocolate Heaven”
Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

We stopped off here after reading the reviews on tripadvisor while looking for somewhere to stop when passing through Kendal.

What a lovely place!! Quirky tea room with a very homely feel about it. We got soup and a roll for £4.99 which was yummy!! Best pea & ham I've ever had. I also had an orange flavored hot chocolate which it highly recommended.

Unfortunately we didn't try any of the delicious looking cakes as we still had a 2 hour drive ahead...but they sounded lush!!

Through the back of the tea room you can access the chocolate shop below - Aladdin's cave of chocolate heaven!! Spent at least 20 minutes going 'ooh' and 'wow'...however at £8.75 for 8 individual chocolates we felt the price too high to try any :(

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurr456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1657 Chocolate House also viewed

 
Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to 1657 Chocolate House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing